We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very good Indian restaurant good variety good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Veil

The Red Veil
Ranked #116 of 255 Restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is a very good Indian restaurant good variety good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

There is a wide variety of different dishes at this restaurant some not seen in other places worth an experiment on those we've been coming for around 4 years now mostly on a Gourmet or Tastecard so get that discount as well this restaurant is well worth going to we've never had cold food served so not sure what happened to the unfortunate reviewer in that case. When busy it can get a bit full as it is popular but try it mid week and it is quite nice for a couple wanting to have a quiet night out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanveen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    38
    6
    5
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

First time and Won't be my last
The restaurant is situated near the train station and with off road parking
The restaurant itself is nice and clean
The staff very friendly and attentive
The food we had was beautifully presented and came in good time and deliciously prepared in fresh ingredients and pipping hot.
The manager recommended dishes upon our taste and was very good choice.
I have already reserved to go back,
Very impressed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sorry to put a dampener on this venue.
Nine of us attended a belated party for my wife and we were enticed to travel to Loughborough following stunning reviews from my daughter adn son in law who had been twice before and were raving about the place.
Quite clearly the place is v popular and situated slightly off the beated track and was quite plesantly decorated. The interior decor was good and we were anticipating an excellent evening.
Things didn't get off too well when we were situated nearest the door and nine of us put around a table for 8 with one at the end. I guess someone has to be last to book but it was a little dreafey as other folk came in.
THere was some confusion over the deal that we had and althought this was sorted if got us off to a bad start. The starters whilst nicly presented were nothing special and then sadly and to the dismay of us all the resturant commited the ultimate sin - the food was cold!
One meal meal in particular (my wife's) was stone cold.
Needless to say, we shall not be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really very good, beautifully presented food well cooked. A pleasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came here with a colleague based on reading Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Good service throughout, the restaurant itself was clean, well lit and very comfortable. There was a party in another part of the restaurant that night but we were hardly aware of them.The food was beautifully presented when it came - it was really well prepared, good ingredients and very delicious indeed.

We both really enjoyed what we had and my only observation was that it seemed to take a while for the food to come - other than the party & us it was quite quiet that night. Still it was worth waiting for when it did come and I was so impressed that I have already booked my next meal there!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mid week meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food was excellent, drinks a little pricey (£3.50 a pint) but the main reason for not giving 5 stars was that the service, although polite, was a bit slow. It took over 2 hours for a three course meal for six people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Veil also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Red Veil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing