We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for family birthday”

The Old Bull's Head
Ranked #14 of 255 Restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled in Woodhouse Eaves, a pretty English village on the side of Beacon Hill, we are the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished making it the ideal place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good choice for family birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Most enjoyable, good meal, good choice,, 8 in the party and good service but not rushed to leave at the end of the evening. Very friendly staff. All in all a good choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greentbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

It was a delight to read that you and your party enjoyed such a great time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again for the next celebration.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    216
    89
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Saved the day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having had a poor experience at the Quorndon Fox we drove out of our way to the Old Bull's Head. We've eaten here before and it doesn't disappoint. Immediately they said that they could adjust or adapt dishes to suit a gluten free diet and even had a list of what is suitable - practically everything except for the bread and pizza.

The Marlborough Sauvignon is to die for! Accompanied by excellently cooked sea bass, steak and pizza - we were all happy. Service is swish but not rushed and the setting is lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank instantaneous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments.

It was a delight to read such positive words; and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit as much as previous ones.

We always aim to ensure everyone can enjoy a wide variety of dishes on our menu, and I was glad to read we did not disappoint.

The Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc is also a personal favourite of mine, so it was brilliant to see you enjoyed it as much as I (and many others) do.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Four of us had a meal following, and to celebrate, our son's graduation from Loughborough University. Why didn't we discover this place 3 years ago when he started his course! It was a baking hot afternoon but the interior was cool, the service was friendly and efficient and the food was excellent - a wide range of tasty, well presented dishes.

A great experience overall and thoroughly recommended. It's just a shame we will not be in or near Loughborough as much - but its almost worth making the trip from Kent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichG439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review.

We are so glad that you discovered us; and that your experience was so thoroughly enjoyed.

I hope you and your family enjoyed your celebrations, and hope you visit us again if ever in the area.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Graduation meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal after my graduation. The staff are always excellent and welcoming. We were able to change our booking time to an earlier time easily when we arrived early. Our waitress Jade was excellent and very nice to talk too. We wanted to give her a personal tip but she informed us that the staff tips are shared out and split and that she would not be able to accept any money directly. Service was superb, The meal was fantastic and we are very much looking forward to coming back again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curdled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.

I was delighted to read that your recent visit was a great one; and I am sure Jade will be thrilled to read the comments you have left.

Myself and the team sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We came across this gem quite by accident and had one of the nicest dining experiences we have had for years.
The interior is beautiful with different colour themes throughout the building...and lovely clean toilets.
The masterpiece really is the food which was exemplary and the service was excellent . Nothing really was to much trouble.
Would definitely recommend this to anybody without hesitation.
Thanks you for coming above our expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestYorksFollyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

I am so pleased that you stumbled across us!

It was fantastic to read that the food was enjoyed so thoroughly, and that the service was so well received.

We always aim to exceed expectation, and it is clear on this occasion we did.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bull's Head also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Old Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing