We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great pub!”

The Old Bull's Head
Ranked #13 of 256 Restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in Woodhouse Eaves, a pretty English village on the side of Beacon Hill, we are the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished making it the ideal place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great pub!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Four of us had a meal following, and to celebrate, our son's graduation from Loughborough University. Why didn't we discover this place 3 years ago when he started his course! It was a baking hot afternoon but the interior was cool, the service was friendly and efficient and the food was excellent - a wide range of tasty, well presented dishes.

A great experience overall and thoroughly recommended. It's just a shame we will not be in or near Loughborough as much - but its almost worth making the trip from Kent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichG439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review.

We are so glad that you discovered us; and that your experience was so thoroughly enjoyed.

I hope you and your family enjoyed your celebrations, and hope you visit us again if ever in the area.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    219
    95
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Graduation meal”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal after my graduation. The staff are always excellent and welcoming. We were able to change our booking time to an earlier time easily when we arrived early. Our waitress Jade was excellent and very nice to talk too. We wanted to give her a personal tip but she informed us that the staff tips are shared out and split and that she would not be able to accept any money directly. Service was superb, The meal was fantastic and we are very much looking forward to coming back again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curdled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.

I was delighted to read that your recent visit was a great one; and I am sure Jade will be thrilled to read the comments you have left.

Myself and the team sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We came across this gem quite by accident and had one of the nicest dining experiences we have had for years.
The interior is beautiful with different colour themes throughout the building...and lovely clean toilets.
The masterpiece really is the food which was exemplary and the service was excellent . Nothing really was to much trouble.
Would definitely recommend this to anybody without hesitation.
Thanks you for coming above our expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestYorksFollyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

I am so pleased that you stumbled across us!

It was fantastic to read that the food was enjoyed so thoroughly, and that the service was so well received.

We always aim to exceed expectation, and it is clear on this occasion we did.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent service, attention to detail and good food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited this restaurant as a group of five at a busy time. The staff were obliging and attentive from start to finish, and all of us had an excellent meal. Good range in the menus including vegetarian options, a reasonably priced and good quality wine list. The dining area is spacious and there is no crowding within. It was excellent value for money, and there was virtually nothing that was not attended to. We were all very impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sawmillbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this brilliant review.

It was a delight to read your comments, and so pleasing that you enjoyed the whole experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent pub for eating”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great food and great service. This is a pub albeit a food pub, and it is among the nicest food pubs I have been to. If you want to judge it as a restaurant it still stacks up well, if you want to judge it as a local spit and saw dust pub it just isn't. I was there last night (a Tuesday), and lots of ladies were in smart dresses and many men in suits. It's a smart pub in a smart neighbourhood, service was very friendly and respectful, food was very good and came quickly. Beer was good too, Doom Bar.
As a smart pub to eat at, it is deserving of top marks, or nearly top marks. I wasn't being critical, I was just enjoying myself and nothing came to my attention that was less than "spot on".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KramGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for this great 5 star review.

It was fantastic to read that your time with us was enjoyed so thoroughly, and that you enjoyed all aspects of what we have on offer.

Myself and the team can't wait for your next visit, and to welcome you once more.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bull's Head also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Old Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing