We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great, service slightly lacking”

The Old Bull's Head
Ranked #13 of 257 Restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in Woodhouse Eaves, a pretty English village on the side of Beacon Hill, we are the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished making it the ideal place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food great, service slightly lacking”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had booked our reservation online for a Sunday evening at 6.30pm, but arrived early at 5.30pm. We booked in and sat in the bar waiting to be called. Had not been called at 6.40pm so checked with another member of staff who confirmed our reservation and waited to be called. At 7pm went to see another member of staff who realised we had been overlooked and showed us to a table that was neither clean or prepared. Although quickly prepared we had to ask for it to be cleaned. We were also then informed that due to a busy lunch period there was no Sunday Roast available.
When supplied with menus, no specials menu was provided.
On the plus side once we had ordered the service was fine. The food was very good and well presented. Would visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    219
    95
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fab most of the time - but Inconsistent”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Four of us out on a Sunday evening- friendly welcome, great hospitality, pleasant decor and ambiance - fab bar service with good choices available - tasty starters - scallops were supeb - however main courses were a let down! Three of us ordered RARE fillet steaks which were served WELL DONE!!! :( When asked "how is your meal" the lovely waitress could see our point but the offer to start again was pretty unrealistic!! Think the head chef needs to give his brigade some refresher training with the basics!! We love the bulls head and eat here often - but on occasion we put up with mediocrity!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veritas59915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Decent meal but better places close by”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited the Old Bulls Head recently for my wife's birthday.

To be honest it was one of the only places open on the Sunday before New Years Eve and so we thought we'd give it a whirl.

All in all it was nice without being amazing and if I am honest it is over priced for what you receive. It is a well decorated restaurant pub with friendly and efficient waiting staff but I would have to say that for the prices charged there are better restaurants close by in Quorn and Loughborough with comparable prices.

My wife had the grilled prawns to start which were excellent and very tasty but then at £8 I would expect them to be. Next up she had a steak which was ok but not worth the £18 price tag especially as the amount of chips given would be about the same as you get with a McDonalds Happy Meal. I know when 'fine dining' less is often more but when you have steak and chips you expect there to be more chips than steak. I had the pizza which was nice but again at around £12 bordering on the expensive considering it was no better than one from pizza express.

Deserts were nice but again not worth the price.

All in all a pleasant experience in a pleasant pub with pleasant staff.....but that's all it was 'pleasant' and doubt we will return for a good while if at all as there are better places for the same money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillowBee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Would I go again?...... NOT FOR A WHILE!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited here in November, although we didn't have a table booked as we had just stopped unintentionally, the lovely barman found my partner and I, a table. He said we would be well look after and left, to attend to the bar, once again. How wrong could he be?

The waiter who served us, was not attentive at all. With poor descriptions of the menu and the ability to leave the table completely and stand outside for around 7 minutes before he came to see if we had " done a runner"..... When we got back to the table, he then cleared our plates, this was then when I had to ask the first time, for the dessert menus as he clearly wasnt going to ask. Up selling?!?

15 minutes later I had to ask a girl walking by for the menu's as the lad had wandered around for 15 minutes staying away from our table and not bringing the menus.

Once we had them, we had a long wait again, til I went and interuppted a girl who was more interested in resetting her tables than keeping the customers happy. I should of known to leave then.

The lad came out and unceremoniously plonked the plates down and wandered off.

Eventually, after we had finished the deserts we had to find someone after a long wait again to be able to pay the bill. This was the fastest I'd seen him move, he literally ran over with the card machine.

As we were leaving, the young (Australian?) bartender, wished us a lovely evening and a lovely goodbye. Thankfully this added a lovely end and spin onto what had been an awful experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Revealer-of-all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food but expect to pay for it”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We very much liked the place, nice setting and staff were friendly. Glass of wine and a bit of lager shandy £10.20 ( London prices ) starter was lovey and the main was also very tasty although arrived 25 mins after the starter which was a bit to long a wait. The place was very busy so obviously a popular pub. Overall the food was good but a bit too pricey ( £70 ) for an afternoon lunch with a drink.

Helpful?
Thank monkeyfacekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bull's Head also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Old Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing