We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a B&B”
Review of Charnwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charnwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Loughborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a B&B”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Found by chance internet browsing for an overnight stay in Loughborough, this wonderful B&B came as a added bonus to a celebratory trip to the midlands.
Friendly staff, high quality accommodation with super en suites and I was kindly given a complimentary upgrade in order that I stayed near to accompanying friends.
Fantastic full English breakfast.
Could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Joy W, It was a pleasure to read your review and also to welcome you and you friends to the Charnwood Lodge guest house. We always endevour to ensure all guests are happy and satisfied with their rooms and if we know that there is a group of you staying we try to put you all near each other. As we were not aware, I managed to shuffle the book around so as to accomodate you. Receiving your kind review makes the "shuffling" all worthwhile. All of our staff are trained to a high standard and it is always an ongoing training process. My parents trained me and to that high standard is how we now train staff. My parents knowledge of the hotel industry in extensive and for that reason we have a successful, friendly and tight running "ship". Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge again should you be in the area. :) Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    74
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
47
109
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Chosen completely at random, this guest house was a nice find for 2 nights while working in the area. Easiest check in ever (wasnt asked for car reg, address, email, colour of underpants, etc). Simply gave them my name and they gave me my keys.

Stopped in room 12 which was spacious, very clean and comfortable. It had a nice en suite bathroom and plenty of piping hot water night and day. The room also had a large flat screen TV and thankfully a remote control that worked and was not held together with sticky tape.

Meals are served in the dining room and mine were all cooked fresh and very moderately priced (most main courses are under £10). There is a small a la carte menu and a daily special to choose from. Breakfast is served from 7am, and whilst I only had poached egg on toast (yep . . . on a diet), the full English looked and smelt delicious.

There is a small bar and lounge area too if you want a drink or simply check your emails or have a chat.

Ample car parking to front and rear of the hotel and shops within walking distance too.

A couple of very minor niggles. The free wi-fi had a lousy signal in my room (fine in the corridor or lounge area though), the toiletries were not replenished after my first night, and the instant coffee in the room was a bit . . . . odd (maybe just my taste buds though).

That said, the overall standard of room, food and service is well above average compared to other hotels in the same price bracket.

Would I return? . . . . Most definitely

PS. This is one of the very few hotels I have stayed in that actually encourage you to leave a review on Trip Advisor

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Sowie, Many thanks for your lengthy and detailed review. It is nice to know that people appreciate the Lodge and take the time to give us feedback. Once a guest is checking in, we aim to get you settled as soon as possible as we know from experience there is nothing worse that a long journey followed by forms and a timely check in. We found your review to be very amusing and the staff are now asking whether we should put underpant colour on the booking forms...hee hee. :) So, we are grateful for your kind comments on our dining experience, rooms and bar area. The parking facilities have over the last year doubled in size to accomodate our guests as there is nothing like peace of mind knowing your car is secure. Also the fact that it is free helps :). Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge should you be in the Loughborough/Leicestershire area again. :) Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Charnwood Lodge is charming, spotless, well located, with effortless service/hospitality. If you are looking for good quality accomodation, in the Heart of Loughborough, look no further. My room was huge, with four poster bed, en-suite of a very high standard, pleasant outlook, and a very enjoyable stay. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Room 8 is good, large sofa, well furnished, but I am confident they are all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Jim W. It always makes my day to read such a fantastic review. It makes all the hard work, dedication and love that myself and staff put into the Charnwood Lodge Guest House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed room 8 - i must admit it is one of my favourite rooms, but with all of the rooms at the Lodge being decortated and furnished differently they all have their own quirkiness and likeability. Many thanks once and again and we would love to welcome you back to the Lodge should you ever be in the area again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend booked Charnwood Lodge for a 1 night stay as I had a supercar and rally driving day at Prestwold. The location was great with only a short drive to the track. The parking at the hotel was great and we were quickly shown to our room. We booked a family room as we took our 3 year old son with us. Was a little surprised to find 3 single beds instead of a single and a double but it was not really an issue. We were pretty hungry after the journey and my son was getting agitated so I was a bit taken aback when told that the chef did not work on Fridays and therefore the restaurant would not be open, I don't remember seeing anything on the website about this so was a little angry. We then headed off out with our son to find somewhere to eat. We got back to the room and settled for the evening. The room was spacious and comfortable. We were at the front of the building and there was a bit of noise from the busy road but not too bad. The room was clean although there was strange pair of old grey trousers hanging on the towel rail in the bathroom, not quite sure what that was about but surprised the cleaner missed it !! After a fairly good nights sleep we had breakfast in the restaurant which was very good, staff were friendly and attentive and great with my son (he is not a morning person). All in all for a 1 night stay it was pleasant enough. If I have another race day I would probably use them again although I might have dinner before I get there B-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Silky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Silky74, Many thanks for taking the time to review the Charnwood Lodge Guest House. We always enjoying welcoming guests that visit the Prestwold Track Days as it is such an amazing experience and we are happy to be part of it. We apologise that you were not aware that you were unable to have an evening meal. We are happy to reserve table on a pre book system at the weekend. Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge should you be in the area once again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here to attend a wedding, it was good to be able to check in early, around 11.30 so we could get our things dropped before going off to the wedding.

There was an issue with our room that there was no power to it at all but this was quickly rectified without issue. They room itself was small but very clean and comfortable.

The bathroom was separate and across the landing but still private and was one of the best bathrooms I have had in a b&b. It was huge and extremely clean which is lovely.

When we got back from the wedding the bar was available and we were under no pressure to move along which was great and a really nice place to sit and wind down.

Breakfast was really early but good, efficient and hot none the less.

Plenty of car parking safe and on site

Great stay, I would use this hotel again

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah031109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sarah, Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and appreciated the free and secure parking we have to offer. Apologies for the fuse tripping - but armed with a long pointy thing, we were able to rectify it immediatley. We offer some rooms which have a private bathroom, but the majority are full en-suite. We find that this caters for all pockets as the private bathroom is reflected in the price. Many thanks once again for taking the time to review the Lodge and it was a pleasure to welcome you. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Charnwood Lodge while visiting family and were able to book in early so that we could enjoy our day. We booked for one night and were travelling with our two dogs who were warmly welcomed. Mel was really helpful from booking and throughout the stay. Everyone is really friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble and there is a great family feel. Charnwood Lodge has a real home from home feeling to it. It is a lovely setting, well furnished and tastefully decorated. We loved the light and bright breakfast room. Even though it is on a main road no sound of traffic can be heard. We will defiantly be staying again, when we are next visiting.

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms open straight into path rather than having to walk though house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaP1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Martha - please accept my deepest thanks for your lovely review! We dont see the point in late check in especially if people are visiting the Steam Railway as there is so much to see and do. Even if the room is not quite ready we like to offer the keys, so that the guest can park their car in the private car park and have no worries about checking in at a later time. I love running the guest house and enjoy ensuring that all our guests - furry ones included are looked after. Many thanks and i hope to welcome you and your dogs to the Lodge should you be in the area again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This lovely & comfortable guesthouse really saved us when we were left high and dry (or should that be low and wet!) after 24 hours constant rain at the Donington download festival. Rooms nice and clean and easily one of the nicest cooked breakfasts I've had. Staff were really friendly and accommodating.

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Loughborough area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan_Duffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Jonathan, We were glad to accomodate you. Lovely people. It was a shame about the weather, but at least you got the best of both worlds, comfort at the Lodge and a nice full belly for a hard day of partying and music and the Down Load. Many thanks for your review, it is always nice to get such positive comments :) Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holywell House
Holywell House
#4 of 21 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Lodge

Property: Charnwood Lodge
Address: 136 Leicester Road, Loughborough LE11 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charnwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels in Loughborough Charnwood Guest House is the perfect option. Our beautiful guest house is set in pleasant surroundings and benefits from a convenient yet peaceful location within walking distance of Loughborough town centre. Over the years the Lodge has been expanded and modernized to ensure that it that it maintains it reputation as one of the best "home from home feeling" hotels in Loughborough.This Loughborough accommodation comprises of eight comfortable ground floor rooms, one of which has been specifically designed with wider access to ensure that access for the less able is not compromised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Charnwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing