We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stranded in Loughbourough”
Review of Laughing Buddha

Laughing Buddha
Ranked #68 of 263 Restaurants in Loughborough
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stranded in Loughbourough”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found myself in Loughborough on the August Bank Holiday Sunday 2013 and despared of finding anywhere to have a decent meal. I was wrong1 The Laughing Buddha has and excellent choice of food at the right price -very tasty and excellent service. No complaints from a hungry traveller!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damgatedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average - that's about all!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Recommended by a friend - early evening special 8.50 a head mains including rice. Friendly reception. There appeared to only be one waitress who seemed to find looking after the small number present difficult. I had chicken in ginger and pineapple. I think the chicken was cooked in boiling water, would have been better fried. My friend had the chilli beef which I tried - not carefully prepared. We may have been better using the main menu which we probably shall if we try this place again. Our starter was a shared platter which was acceptable, the ribs were very good though. Wines from £12 a bottle - opted for a more expensive Chenin which was excellent. Very nice decor, very clean and, proper cloth napkins. Will try again but not the early bird.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxisales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had my graduation dinner here with my family in September and the place was very quiet. The food arrived quickly and the staff were friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank itslilyitslily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food and Customer service was terrible”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ordered Crispy beef, received tasteless sloppy beef that clearly was re-cooked in a microwave as there is no way the beef gets that sloppy after such a short period of time if was made fresh.

Rang up to ask them if they could do anything about it and the lady put the phone down on me. When I rang back a man answered and told me that's how it comes and there's nothing he can do about it, I asked if they could send the beef and sauce separately and they said no. A dead giveaway that it is microwaved. When I asked for a return and refund instead, they refused. Not happy at all, very rude and unprofessional. Feel very ripped off!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I love this place!
Food is sooooo good! So tasty!
Excellent value for money.
Good portions. Timely service.
They know how to look after customers!
So much variety!
I'm never disappointed.
Always wish I had more room left and want to order eveythin-this is what a good eatery should have u feelin! Never been let down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKARV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Buddha also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Laughing Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing