We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“student place”
Review of The White Horse & Noodle Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The White Horse & Noodle Bar
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“student place”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm not normally a fussy person. but I must say that I was disappointed by thru food I received from here. yes it's cheap and tasty but I personally found it bland. possibly went on a bad day
ok for a cheap pub crawl meal or something quick n cheap not a place fir a special occasion

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nath-of-loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    23
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Budget belly-lining asian food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are going on a pub crawl and want to line your stomach beforehand then this is the place for you. The food is very cheap and the service is quick. The kitchen staff are not aspiring to great culinary heights here and this is as close as you will get to fast food in Loughborough without going to McD's, KFC, Subway etc. That said you can have a good laugh here and meet new people as you are invariably sharing your dining position on a bench with other people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank couchmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Novelty noodle bar. Never disappointed!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ive been here many times. Always popular with the students. Bar area always clean.
Walk through to the noodle bar, sit at the communal bench tables.
The place lacks in atmosphere but makes up for it with speed of service and value for money!
This is somewhere to go for a quick cheap 'no frills' meal. MORE FUN than a takeaway. Nothing on the menu is more than about £4.70. Bargain!
Try the spare ribs with chilli & salt and a stir fried chicken noodle! Thats my favourite.
Only slight downside is that sometimes they cant quite get the starters ormains out at the same time! Its never a real problem. Part of the fun.
Staff seem to change a lot, difficulties with understanding English sometimes. Again, all adds to the experience. GO!! Dont forget to ask for chopsticks.
My last bill was a meal for 2 eith starters. LESS than £15!!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Food came in large portions and was hot and fresh and tasty!. Staff were professional and the place was great for our large party of nearly 20 people. But The restaurant is like a school dinning hall, cavernous and cold unless you eat in the summer!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good cheap meal.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I go regularly with my friends for lunch or evening meal. The seating is on long benches which makes it quite a noisey meal, but the food is great and very reasonably priced, probably to suit the students being a university town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorraineM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse & Noodle Bar also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
 
Burton on the Wolds, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing