We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home and fab breakfast.”
Review of The Sandcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sandcastle
Ranked #11 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home and fab breakfast.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel was nearly all we expected; there were just a couple of tiny niggles. The breakfasts were lovely and the room and hosts welcoming. The room had a sea view and parking was easy. Unfortunately, although I was aware the room we occupied had a separate and external bathroom, (not shared), I did not expect that it would not be on a level with our room. This was not a problem for me, but it was for my 84 year old mother who has both joint and breathing problems. Had this been made clear, I would have booked a different room. Perhaps this should be made clear in the details? Also, and this is just a small thing, we had an empty tissue box when we arrived and also no breakfast tea. Small things and apologised for, but attention to detail is key.

Room Tip: Check where the room is located and be aware there are lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
38
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked and paid in March. A few days before we arrived we received a reminder of our booking from The Sandcastle inferring that a "no-show" on our part would incur loss of our payment for the night. When we arrived on Sunday 28 April there was no one at home or available to answer the phone. We waited, went in to town to have dinner, returned, still no one home, enquired with neighbours if there was a problem - they knew of none - and waited. In all we waited for 3 hours (in a cold wind, there was no where to shelter, we were walking so had no car to sit in) before leaving and booking in elsewhere. Late that evening the owner of The Sandcastle phoned to say they were back and we could go around - he thought that we were booked in on the Monday! No apology! Needless to say we stayed where we were and told The Sandcastle owner to refund our payment which he did.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 41David_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I often visit Lowestoft with work, and have previously booked the Premier inn, however I will be sure to stay at The Sandcastle in future! I received a very warm welcome, and the breakfast was delicious. My room was spotless, spacious, homely, and had a lovely view across the sea (Room no. 2). It had a modern en-suite with a powerful shower. The owners clearly take great pride in their property, and I couldn't fault the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just had a really nice stay at the sandcastle in Lowestoft. The b+b is on the front with only a carpark and road between it and the seafront. Our room no 2 on the second floor had an excellent view from its large bay window .there were two chairs so you could relax there in the evening looking out to sea. A double bed and a single bed. A nice tea/coffee tray with a selection of drinks. A very nice shower room small but with every thing you needed, nice big bathroom towels. The breakfast is served at a large table in the basement, which was very nice and was well set out. The food was very nicely cooked. Just enough to keep you going till lunch. ( some fresh fruit would have been nice rather than just cereals but if we had asked they proberly would have been available.) the couple who owned the sandcastle were very nice, the only negative points would be it was a little bit noisy late at night but it was a bank holiday weekend, and if the parking spaces had gone outside b+b you needed to pay for carparking across the road. Over all had a great time would recommend.

Room Tip: Our room no 2 was really nice with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The B&B is very clean and the room has a nice touch with a well stocked hostess tray. The view of the sea is lovely and it is in a prime location in Lowestoft. The décor, very French with a hint of the Alps, is just lovely.

I booked this B&B after seeing the reviews but was disappointed with the stay from the moment we arrived. We emailed two days before to say we'd be arriving at 3pm which was confirmed by the owners. We then arrived at 2.50pm on the Saturday and waited until just before 5pm to finally be let in with not much of a welcome or apology. We were left feeling we were in the wrong and felt out of place for our stay. Our plan to visit Dunwich that afternoon had to be scrapped sadly.

While we were warned about the noise from the street, I feel we would have been better staying at the Winelodge or other B&B's along the street (and hearing the same noise) for possibly less and for a bigger room. We were told in advance about the shower being a private one outside the room, up a few steps, so I know that was our decision, but upon reflection, this is again why I feel the price was fairly high. I mentioned a vegetarian breakfast when booking and was offered scrambled eggs on toast which was a little disappointing as there was no offer of adding the other sides such as hash browns, mushrooms etc.

A lovely area but I would choose to stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Avoid the front if possible as the noise from the street (at the weekend) was noisy most of the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A beautifully refurbished, cosy and comfortable b and b on the the parade at Lowestoft. The owners clearly take great pride in their business and this is reflected in the welcome, comfort ,modern facilities and exceptional value for money . I travel world wide regularly and I was in Lowestoft on business and needed a good nights rest, the use of free Wi -Fi and a hearty breakfast all three of which were more than fulfilled. If you are considering a holiday with friends or family to see the beaches , broads and country side of East Anglia then this is the place for you. Many amenities are with in walking distance and some rooms have lovely sea views. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Top floor family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeleicester9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We cannot fault this lovely guest house. It was clean, warm and a gorgeous breakfast. The lady was very welcoming and had time to chat. Our bathroom was seperate( but this was stated when we booked) and was not a problem. The sea view from our bedroom window was just amazing. Would definately visit again.

Room Tip: If you want en-suite then do not book the twin room with seperate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marysa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
0.6 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#10 of 28 in Lowestoft
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#3 of 28 in Lowestoft
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#2 of 28 in Lowestoft
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcastle

Property: The Sandcastle
Address: 35 Marine Parade, Lowestoft NR33 0QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle offers their guests a world of comfort,care and AGA cuisine at this lovely seafront guest house. With beautifully appointed en-suite family rooms, overlooking the sea and south beach and offering all the latest facilities of the modern world from WI-FI to HD LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sandcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandcastle Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing