We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good - Great location - beware of nightclub on weekends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Winelodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowestoft
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winelodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic but good - Great location - beware of nightclub on weekends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice and simple, what you would need for a break or business in such a small beach town. Located minutes walk from cinema, restaurants, shops etc.

The beach is directly in front of the hotel.

On Friday and Saturday nights the noise from the nightclub across the street can be loud, so ask for a room round the back of the building if you stay during the weekend and don't plan to be out yourself.

Pub-style breakfast included which is okay. Very basic but good value for what it is - would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sosab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    30
    25
    69
See reviews for
11
74
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked the Winelodge Hotel for a last minute Saturday night stay.
Rooms are great value for what is advertised as a 3 star hotel - rooms have been renovated to a high spec for that rating and whilst compact, included all the basics incl. tv, toiletries, bar fridge in room.
Staff were fantastic - really helpful and friendly.
Great breakfast included in the price of the room and all the mornings papers were available to read over our meal.
Recommend for a great value short stay.

Room Tip: Beware that rooms do face the nightclub across the road, but considering it was a Saturday night, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Recently stayed here for a short break. £110 for two nights including a Saturday was good value. The rooms are clean and basic,there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the shower was very good, Although the mattress was quite thin the bed was comfortable enough. Breakfast choice was reasonable and there was plenty of it, the price only includes one drink though.Despite this we had more than one drink each on the Saturday morning and were not charged for them, obviously depends on the staff. The meals in the restaurant are cheap and basic but totally acceptable if you are not looking for anything special. Only downside to the stay was the noise from the nightclub across the road early hours of Sunday morning at kicking out time. I guess if you are not in one of the rooms overlooking the road this wouldn't be an issue

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are susceptible to noise from the nightclub across the road on weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldric313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the weekend, booked last minute. Was very good value for money, as the breakfast was included too! The rooms were not massive but not too small. Everything was neat and tidy. For a last minute night way we couldnt complain. The evening meal was ok, nothing magical but was nice. Would go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, at the front of the hotel wasnt too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night, had stayed when just opened a few years ago. Hotel rooms getting a bit tired, mattress hard and lumpy, shower ok but damaged. Shame as it is not a bad location. Had dinner below, mediocre meal. Breakfast ok butif you want tea and an orange juice they charge a pound extra, money isnt the issue its the nause.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebigfella52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

For 2 nights for couple B & B [Sat/Sun] just £99!! Good location but noisy traffic on road that runs past hotel. Some noise from people coming out Nightclub and Hotel opposite. But incredible good value for money. Only drawback is tiny wardrobe which had an uneccessary ironing board. Breakfast prob not best quality but edible. Staff excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked 4 nights at this hotel and checked out the following morning! 1st impressions count and the grubby cream leather sofa in 'reception' was not a good start, wondered what the room was going to be like.
Given room 3 which seemed ok , however, it had no double glazing and being on a noisy corner opposite a KFC drive thru wasn't great. Old sash windows with cracked glass ( taped over with cellotape!) and flaking, rotten frames.
The bed had a piece of MDF under the mattress, apparently because the bed base wouldn't stay together and wasn't even disguised with a valance. Not very comfortable. Lighting in the room and bathroom totally inadequate for doing make-up/shaving etc.
The sink in the bathroom had several hairline cracks around the basin, no sink waste grid ,
no shelf for toiletries and no towel rail. Shower screens not cleaned and no shower fittings i.e. soap dish/ shelf for shampoo etc. Room located next to storage room, constant banging of doors as staff went in/out.
Chairs in restaurant really grubby!! Not nice at all.
The only good thing about this place is the staff, very nice and helpful. deserve to work somewhere much better than this!
Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone else.
Management- Could do much better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIPHIL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#8 of 29 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winelodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winelodge Hotel

Property: Winelodge Hotel
Address: 58 Bridge Road, Lowestoft NR32 3LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Winelodge Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing