We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family break for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our three families had a brilliant weekend away, entertainment, pool, food, all very good value. Our only complaint was that the food bays closed far too early even when the staff could see there were many more people queuing for breakfast/dinner. They shut two bays and let people queue for over half an hour - ridiculous - and could have been avoided by leaving these food bays open, it really is not good enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

arrived at pontins at pakefield on Mon 18 Nov for 5 days. when we finally got the keys to the chalet we were very upset to find the rooms smelt damp ,more so when we unpacked the bedding bales we had paid for to find they did not resemble any type of bedding the single sheet must have been at least 15 ft long and the double duvet was of a silky material not at all like what was shown on their website when booking ( a case of pontins miss selling ) when we unfolded the double duvet it looked like someone had died and lost some of there body fluids with large brown stains and also blood stains covering parts of it.the bathroom was filthy all black mould around tiles scum around taps on tiles and the floor could have done with a good wash,the food was horrible as it was turkey and tinsel themed week i pity anyone who has paid to go there for Christmas day and had to pay a lot more then i paid as the Christmas dinner was not enjoyable both brussels and carrots rock hard yokshires wet and soggy overall the meals were poor .i and my family will certainly not be going back to pontins

Room Tip: do not go to pontins at pakefield if you are going do not buy a bedding bundle take your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rick2a37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Four night midweek break, all inclusive.
Took a club room as electricity is included; heating is electric, so on all the time in the cold weather. Plenty of hot food 3 times a day, good selection, but not 5 star, self service only. Plenty to so, swimming pool open also.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fossil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went for the weekend as it was my brother in law's birthday celebration and I have to say that it we had a very good time. First, we upgraded to the better chalets, but I wouldn't bother, they are like a goldfish bowl with the front being all glass and unless you have the curtain shut anyone walking past looks directly into you bedroom/kitchen. You also have further to walk from the carpark to you accommodation, not great, especially if it's raining and you take your own bedding.
The staff were always helpful, efficient cheerful and hard working. The quality of the food was outstanding, except for some of the soup (very watery) and some of the fried eggs at breakfast looked and tasted more like the joke plastic eggs.It was a turkey and tinsel weekend and the "Christmas day" meal was of an excellent quality and plenty of it. Last night was beef and that was also very very good. Yes I would stay there again, but maybe just a long weekend.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade., we were on the North side and the older rooms were more private and nearer the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davido0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We are at Pakefield now - arrived armed with cleaning products - chalet was spotless! Food is exactly what I was expecting for the money! If you want 5 star you have to pay for it. One small gripe lunch today - salad ran out and wasn't replaced - 3 types of pasta on offer but people used the same spoon to have a helping of each which made veggie choice non-veggie took a plate to salad bar to have cheese salad and was told I had to have a bowl but there was only tomato, cucumber and cous cous to have with the cheese. Not really a problem just made a cheese roll but server had a bad attutude which was not necessary! Been to Morrisons to stock up in case same happens tonight.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonberger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Really enjoyed this camp reminded me of the 70s thats because some of it still is ! but to be fair lots of upgrades going on and the only 70s part of it was the roller shutter doors in the canteen /restaurant,i loved the walk to the beach the path to this was floodlit so you could walk down in the dark and watch the moon bounce off the waves perfect summer feel,food was lovely lots of choice chalets warm beds dare i say it lumpy boing !and bath was for disable people but ! the shower was lovely ,crazy golf lots of fun and free ! like the tennis and other things overaul a great ideal weekend away .thankyou pontins and staff!

Room Tip: ask for a chalet with a proper bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leolion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I went to Pakefield with great trepidation after reading many disparaging reviews - mainly concerning the cleanliness of the place and food and I one point we thought of not going. As we were not expecting very much we quite pleasantly surprised with the state of our chalet. It was very basic and small (the bathroom was almost as big as the living area) but it was generally clean - there were areas that could have a bit more elbow grease applied to but on the whole it was OK. One gripe we had was that although check-in was 16.00 and you would assume that the chalets would be ready - when we got to the chalet it was not.

The food was good - there was always soup, salad starters, choice of meat or fish or vegetarian for main with choices of vegetables. Puddings were choice of cakes, fruit or ice cream. True it was not cordon bleu but we found it very good for the price that we had paid.,

The entertainment, both day & night was very good, and the entertainment team was excellent.

We would recommend it and would certainly think about going again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
11.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
9.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range: $64 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing