We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a midweek break recently and although we really had a good time i think we chose the week where the average age of the guests was around 70-80 years old. We did go last year for a weekend break and there was more guests our age which is mid 50's. Having said that we still had lovely food and the premier suite chalet was lovely and clean. We stayed in laburnham area which is quiet. I think next time i would choose a themed weekend perhaps soul or motown which would suit us better. I think we got a good deal though. Staff were friendly bar was a bit pricey but we have a few in the room first so its a cheaper night. Tesco store is just up the road so you can get supplies easily. Facilities are good, my husband did archery shooting and crossbow. We did swimming sauna etc...had the pool to ourselves. All in all a nice break.

Room Tip: Laburnham area is quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzieessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and booking for Gunton Hall, I am pleased to read you had such a lovely time with us. We do take all comments on board and they are shared with the team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Petrina

Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina, the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
There are newer reviews for Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went as a couple. Stayed in Historic room/suite.
Very comfortable with separate lounge, parking space
Food and entertainment very good.
All staff very friendly. We had no complaints with anything.
We did not use many facilities, instead used the place as a base to tour around the east coast.

Room Tip: worth paying a bit extra for the better rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petbar285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you had such a great stay with us and not only did you enjoy what we offer you were able to take advantage of the local area. We are so lucky to be so close to the beach and broads, neither is more than 5 miles away.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

King Regards,

Petrina Simmons, General Manager

Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Gunton Hall over a weekend starting 19-10-2012 Did not stay in a chalet we had an upstairs suite in the Lodge ,very clean warm and comfy. Pleanty of room large bathroom and separate shower room.Parts of dining room were quite cramped but managed to change table after first night.Two reasons for picking Gunton which is a 4 hour car journey from home.TheBarron Knights were the main entertainment on the Saterday and they were fantastic.Second reason Gunton boasts a fishing lake on sight and as my husband is a keen fisherman it was an ideal weekend but on arrival we where told the lake was closed as it was contaminated so that was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sewing1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We welcome all feedback good or bad, it helps us to see where are we are doing well and perhaps where improvements can be made. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your break with us. We try so hard as a team to make sure that our guests are welcomed and comfortable from the moment they arrive which includes the housekeeping team, kitchen team preparing the food and our fabulous entertainment. We do sometimes have to cancel an activity or close part of the location due to circumstances beyond our control for which we apologise. It is always our aim to keep the guests informed of what’s going on and we would only prevent a guest if we had good reason to do so. In this instance, unfortunately the lake contamination was beyond our control. We had an unexpected leak into the lake from a nearby site to us which meant the lake could not be used, but I can confirm it has now been rectified. I will take your feedback on board regarding your seating options and pass this on to the relevant team manager.

I do hope this has not deterred you from visiting Gunton Hall as we would love to welcome you back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to take a last minute break here and selected Gunton Hall as we had been before. I booked online 3 days before and received confirmation by email, but on arrival they were unable to find my booking even though I had a confirmation number. When we got to our chalet it was very clean and comfortable but we although we paid for a premier chalet the extras advertised weren't there, the shower was a trickle and the bathroom dated, In the restaurant we went to our allocated table only to find that it was already occupied and the occupants reluctant to move! eventually we were seated but the wine we pre-ordered did not arrive and then when it did it was the wrong one, and that was the first night! However after that the rest of the weekend was fine. The entertainment is as expected from Warners but that has never bothered us and the people we met there very friendly.

Being located close the the sea there are a number of seaside resorts close by, which are ideal for a visit.

We will be back at some time but only if we can get a very very good deal not too sure if paying full price is value for money




tip - there is a Tesco's a 10 minute stroll away which is useful

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beswickbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry to hear that you did not have such a good start to your break. We do have a check in procedure that should have all of our guests welcome packs ready to check in numerically, in this instance it seems that your welcome pack could have been placed in the wrong order which we sincerely apologise for along with the mix up with your table and wine. This really is not normal practice for Gunton Hall. Our aim is to make sure each guest is happy and that we exceed expectations. In regards to your shower and bath water pressure I do hope that the maintenance team came along and rectified it for you. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the remainder of your break with us and so much so that you will return, we do have offers available and one very good one that we have at the moment is our 50% off when paying in full.

We would love to see you soon so we can give you the true Warner welcome.

Regards

Petrina Simmons General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from three day break at Gunton Hall. Good weekend but food a little disappointing. Main entertainment on Saturday night very good. Plenty to do during the day. Reasonable swimming pool although could have been warmer. Some upgrade is required in areas in main block and also to chalets but more that adequate for the money we paid. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here last yearn November for a weekend break Friday to Monday
Meals good but long queues at feeding stations
Entertainment excellent
Our biggest gripe was our chalet next to playing field and lower end of site
The block was in poor state of repair and stank of mustiness
Obvious was full of damp and upon leaving 4 days later we had flu like symptoms and our clothes had mildew upon them
This despite leaving heat on full fan blower throughout 7/24
This spoilt our holidayand we will never return the cleaning staff aware but no management interest as this chalet was supposedly an
upgrade!!!!
The pricing is a joke by repetitive mail shots whereby we felt that our so called 50% reduction then became a scam as we then upgraded?

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaqueline400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We and two friends booked this break because Thursdays entertainment were The Firebirds, this is the third time we have seen this band and consider their show to be the best evenings entertainment you could wish for,thankyou so much,here's to the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gretsc678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
353 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
468 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
2.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing