We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have taken a January break and i must say it was lovely and amazing,We stayed in room 303..The reception was nice but the coast restaurant was the best..the waiters ADAM and LUKE was very professional, lovely to talk to and made you feel very much at home they made our day..we would come back.. very good indeed.... BEN the waiter was very kind and sweet as when we came to the hotel he was just in-front of us and held the door open for us...he is one of a kind..thank you Hotel Victoria for making our stay AMAZING.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 440 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and my boyfriend enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal at the hotel Victoria. We were served by friendly staff who brought us our drinks and meals quickly, and enjoyed a nice window seat. Overall we would definitely recommend this restaurant to anybody, and will be returning for more meals in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this was a new thing for us, to have lunch out on Christmas Day. The years keep piling up and this year no one wished to cook.

After searching around we decided on the Hotel Victoria. On arrival we were directed to the main function room. All the tables and chairs had been dressed in white, the room looked very festive with a sea view to top it off.

Our table unfortunately proved to be the first disappointment. Placed on the sprung dance floor, the meal did resemble one taken on a train. It was also placed directly in front of the stage with speakers being about 10 feet away. Not good for people with hearing problems - I should say at this point that we did leave it late with our booking and may have got one of the last tables.

On to the food. I had the French Onion soup to start, this I'd give 7/10 pleasant enough.

The main, I went for the traditional Turkey dinner. The vegetables were served separately and on the whole were nicely cooked. The Turkey however was a stack of processed slices. Maybe I was hoping for too much but I had expected fresh Turkey. The stuffing was a small slice without a lot of flavour. Therefore this gets a 6/10.

Then we all had Christmas pudding with brandy sauce. The only thing I can say about this is, small and bland. A disappointing 5/10.

There were a lot of good things, the location was lovely, the service was excellent, the staff all friendly and helpful. An easy 10/10.

In conclusion I was left feeling that a little bit more care and attention needed be made to the food. This may be down to price but at £65 per head I think it should have been better.



Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank TheRealLondonReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

we went for pre xmas menu very good value for money ents excellent nigel boy syer and lisa marie vaughan is a real asset to the hotel will definetly book next year coffee and mince pies at end of afternoon a nice touch merry xmas to all

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a late lunch here yesterday and were made very welcome.
The menu is lovely and very reasonably priced, staff attentive and a great view.
The restaurant was tastefully decorated for Christmas and so nice to have 'proper' napkins and tablecloths.
Thank you - we will be back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SuffolkBunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Didn't stay at the Victoria, but came for dinner one evening out of season. Food was excellent and good value, staff were pleasant friendly and efficient. Wine perhaps a little expensive, but not outlandishly so.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Mid week, out of season, quiet and lovely. The small number of customers in no way detracted from customer service, in fact I suggest the opposite to be true. We paid for a good room and got just what we wanted, third floor, a fabulous sea view that allowed us to watch the both the sun and moonrise over the sea. We were fortunate with the weather though if it had been colder I have no doubt that the heating would have been more than adequate. We turned the heating off and opened the windows!
We live in an old house and understand what is involved in keeping such a property. This is a Victorian sea front property and has the charm of ages. It is not pristine and in our eyes, lovelier for it. If you want a characterless sterile box, there are lots to chose from! For our overnight theatre break this was perfect. A fine hotel, lovely staff and a fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
373 reviews
9.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Victoria

Address: Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24 well appointed en-suite rooms provide digital television, free wi-fi access, telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press (on request), hairdryers and complimentary luxury toiletries. We also offer 24 hour room service to help ensure that your stay with us is truly relaxing. A lift accesses all floors and we have an accessibility rating 1 by the East of England Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Lowestoft
The Hotel Victoria Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing