We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy House Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent a two night stay here on Friday 9th and Saturday 10th August.
Our room was upstairs in the Farmhouse, very spacious,clean and well equipped.
The Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had the bonus of a bath and separate
shower cubicle. Again very clean and spacious. The room offered complimentary beverage
making, iron and board, trouser press, hairdryer, flat screen TV,well stocked refrigerator nice
quality furnishings plenty of hanging space and hangers.

We enjoyed a superb dinner both nights in the Beautiful Barn restaurant. The food and service were
excellent and very enjoyable Banter from Cliff a great asset to any establishment.
Breakfast was again excellent in every way. All the staff were very welcoming and accommodating in every department.

On our first evening in the restaurant the Chef came out and introduced himself as the new
owner of only three weeks. He has bought into this as a new venture. I assume he has already
made some changes and the "New Broom is Sweeping Clean". It certainly gave us a very enjoyable weekend for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and we look forward to returning in the future. We enjoyed the special break away with money towards dinner. Please do not change that. Wish you all the luck for the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    101
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
66
190
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Ivy House Country Hotel the weekend of 2/8/13 - 4/8/13 for a family members wedding reception. On arrival we were greeted by very pleasant staff and found our rooms to be clean and spacious couldn't fault them. In the morning the staff could not be more helpful and we were given an excellent breakfast which consists of a full English or continental. On the day of the wedding reception the staff were faultless and the food was excellent! The whole wedding was an amazing day we will never forget and would highly recommend this as a wedding venue. We would also express our grateful thanks to the duty Manager Will and his excellent team. We would definitely come back here. (3 girls from the Jacobs wedding)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam91084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Everything previously writen on this site is a fair measure of this hotel. We had a two night stay and we found the staff very helpful & freindly. The hotel was in a good location with well kept gardens. Our room was clean and of good size and the food we tried was well presented & of good quality. Overall a positive experience and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute and was not disappointed. Website does not give it justice. 10 minute walk along the banks of the broads to Oulton Broad.

Great setting very peaceful. The biggest rooms you will stay in a attentive staff made it a pleasure with a wonderful breakfast served in the barn with locally sourced ingredients.

A must

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank huddy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is a hidden gem, much better than the ones in Lowestoft. The gardens are lovely, it is a beautiful setting.

The room (no. 2) was large and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and good water pressure in the shower. The decor wasn't to my taste. But there were no faults. The extra pillows were needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Waugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely hotel in well maintained and extensive gardens. Very spacious rooms and excellent bathroom which included both a bath and separate shower. Most of the actual rooms are recent builds, however the restaurant is based in a converted barn, which still shows a lot of the original features. The menu is not extensive, but should cater for most tastes and the food ordered was excellent. Service was first class all round from reception to the restaurant and nothing was too much bother. Would second previous comments, that it could possibly be better with a bar area, for drinks after the meal. This is a little gem and would certainly recommend it. Stayed for two nights on the June break tariff. Pity more people were not taking advantage of this. I suppose its a sign of the times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spacious well presented rooms, both times I've stayed rooms I've have had large bathrooms i'm not sure if all rooms are the same as the hotel is actually an old building not a modern hotel build. Restaurant very nice and quiet with a good choice. No actual bar area to relax and have a drink the reception/lobby is the bar area, with the actual bar (tap/optics) in the restaurant.
The food is very nice but very pricey. Service is a little slow but the staff are very helpful and nice.
Restaurant price and lack of bar area stop me give 10/10.
Would I recommend it to a friend yes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsufc1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
22.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Property: Ivy House Country Hotel
Address: Ivy House Farm Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing