We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has the potential to be 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterside Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterside Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

In general you get what you pay for and as we didn't pay a great deal I've given it 4 stars overall. You cant book in until 4 o'clock and reception closes at 5, so it is a very small check-in window. The staff were very good in all aspects, but the accommodation could have been better, some renovation work is still going on around the site and the decor in our building was looking a little tired. We had problems with the hot water which although it was sorted out both times within a few hours it was still very inconvenient. The bar/ restaurant was fine, we didn't eat there but the food looked good, bar staff were very good. There is a well equipped shop on site and just opposite is a Chinese takeaway and an excellent pub that does takeaway and has a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
48
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a family anniversary celebration on this site with family members travelling and staying in a number of the on site lodges, bungalows and chalets. The party itself was held in a private function room upstairs above the main complex - that was very good and well laid out with its own bar and dance floor. It perfectly suited our needs and was clean and well decorated. The buffet food was really good and tasty and was clearly freshly prepared.

The site is right on a cliff top with step stair access to the beach. Whilst we didn't venture down it looked good from above. The site also has a large outdoor heated swimming pool which we understand will be covered for next season.

Now the big problem - the accommodation. It is potentially perfect for your holiday as it is well laid out with open grassed areas with meandering paths. The buildings themselves are fairly modern - many are clearly privately owned and are well looked after to a high standard - but ours was site owned! When you get inside that, IN OUR CASE, was the problem. Old settees with collapsed seats; dinning table chairs that are unstable and fall over at the slightest touch; the oldest TV I have seen for a long time with a minute screen and poor picture; no mirrors for the ladies; a small shower cubicle - oh did it need an upgrade and decoration! One extra point is that for a small fee you can take your dog with you to selected properties.

I would go back again but I would definitely look on Trip Advisor for a privately owned chalet or bungalow - even if it cost a little more

Room Tip: Privately owned would be more likely to be in good order. If you are not taking a dog, make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernierug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the park for a weeks family holiday and the staff could not be more helpful, on the journey to the park we received a phone call because the staff were getting to the point of the day where they had to go home, but nothing could have been simpler they instructed us on how to get our key which was in a secure key box outside reception and we went to our villa which was situated not to far away and I went and checked in properly the next morning.
They accommodated us and our two dogs in a comfortable three bed villa and when asked is there any attractions about which we could go too which allowed dogs in, the reception manager jumped onto the internet and found out all she could for us.
We looked at the pool which was closed for the winter and it looks superb and unfortunately the bar/ restaurant wouldn't allow our dogs in (not a waterside park decision, they love dogs but hand was forced by site residents) so we had to get takeaways in or find the local supermarket to enable us to cook in the villa which was fairly well equipped.
All in all we had a very peaceful, relaxing stay and are hoping to return again next year.

Room Tip: Book early, seems to be a very popular site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Waterside Park Corton Suffolk

We stayed at this very nice site for 2 weeks from 7th Sept.

We were met at reception by very nice staff who gave my wife and me a very warm welcome. It is always nice to start a holiday with such a friendly welcome.

Site
This site is made up of a mixture of holiday bungalows’ and “mini” houses.
The first thing that you notice is how clean and well maintained the site is.
Yes the site is undergoing renovation of its properties but this is being done in a safe way and causes no disruption to the holidaymakers.

There is a restaurant and bar, all at very reasonable prices … with a £5 Sunday Roast that will fill the hugest of appetites.

We don’t swim, but there is a very nice pool and snack bar available.
Kids play area
Cliff top walking area and access to the seafront walkway is via steps at the south end of the park.
On-site shop, Hair and Nails.
To be honest, everything you could need.

There is no parking outside your accommodation, so I would advise a trolley for your baggage if you are located away from the car park.

Accommodation
We hade booked one of the small house style homes with decking and garden furniture) at the front.
Downstairs: living room, kitchen and bathroom.
Upstairs: 3 bedrooms with a veranda for the main bedroom … complete with furniture.
The standard of the furniture was very good and the place was spotless and very well appointed.

I have to admit that some of the posts we had seen on here were a little off-putting, but we could not fault the place at all.

Outside the site
Corton has pubs serving food and a Chinese Takeaway so you do not have to travel far if you do not feel like cooking.

Lowestoft is 3 miles away (south) with Gorleston and Gt Yarmouth around 10 miles (North) all with nice beaches and plenty of attractions. The bus picks up outside the site around every 30min so forget the car and the expensive parking at Yarmouth!!!

There are many great places to visit further afield; Thrigby Hall, Africa Alive, The Sea Life Centre and Amazonia are all worth a visit.
Very good fishing at Gorleston jetty.

There is so much to do in this area that you do not need to travel miles looking for things to do.


All-in-All I have to say that the holiday was very good value for money and will putting this high on my places to re visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just returned for a long weekend at waterside park, corton, booking the accommodation was easy and simply i booked via email and everything was booked and confirmed within 15 minutes, defo book direct for best prices.

We set off mid morning because check in isn't till 4pm, but to our surprise a lovely friendly lady call us about 2pm letting us know our accommodation is ready if we were in the area (which was a really nice touch) we arrived to a well kept clean and tidy entrance so we parked the car and walked into reception.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist (jules) who checked us in and explained everything, even down to where to get discount vouchers of local attractions etc. We collected the keys and was directed towards our accommodation (which wasn't to far away). We walked in and were both very pleased with the accommodation It was clean well furnished, everything we needed.

The park was pretty quite, so the bar wasn't busy which was a real shame, but was nice to play abit of pool. They also have a out door swimming pool which will soon become a indoor pool lol we didn't really get time to go swimming but looked lovely in the sun. The second night we had a meal in the bar, the staff were all friendly and helpful. Service was quick and food was hot, only down side was the plates are wooden boards! Not really my cup of tea but we had a giggle about it haha

All in all from booking to checking out we had a great time, we will defo be back. Thank you to all the staff :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank linksme4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday at Waterside , we were made to feel very welcome by the lady receptionist on arrival ,We stayed in villa number 65 , which has recently been refurbished to a high standard , very homely and a lovely sea view .and spotlessly clean, We found the park peaceful , even though there were children there , The Waterside bar and grill , served excellent food , at a very good price ,well worth a visit .We love the fact that there are lots of attraction nearby , Southwold is beautiful and well worth a visit , also Walberswick , the maize maze at hemsby is great fun ., We will definetly return to corton , great value for money , and a lovely park

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed bungalow for a long weekend. The bungalows overlook the sea so the views are superb. Most have decked patio's too with outdoor furniture. The location is great, as it is lovely and quiet, yet so easy to reach Lowestoft, Yarmouth or the beautiful beaches of Gorleston-On-Sea. Staff are friendly and the reception lady very helpful. Nice pool for the children with lifeguards and small amusement area. The bar/restaurant is good value and open quite late. It may not be to everyone's liking, but it is clean, friendly and convenient. Great Sunday roast too for £5.00! Locally there are two pubs in walking distance serving good food and a Chinese take away across the road, so you can't grumble. I believe further improvements to the pool are also planned over the winter.
For the price, this is a great value little park. If you are expecting a huge haven style park, this is not for you. If you want a cheap friendly little park with all the facilities you really need, then this is perfect.
I read reviews of the park and some seem unfair. I personally never saw any damp or major problems and they are obviously working hard to improve the park and keep it nice. Due to the location and digital switch over, some of the TV's don't pick up all channels, but the site has free wifi, so if it bothers you that much, take an ipad/laptop. Not a big deal really.
Be realistic in what to expect for the money, but I can say from our experience, the bungalows were fantastic value. I can't comment on the villas, but they certainly looked quite nice from outside. If you can fit in a bungalow, get one purely for the views over the sea!

Room Tip: The Bungalows overlook the sea and are at the back of the park, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtyard, Laurel Farm
The Courtyard, Laurel Farm
#16 of 29 in Lowestoft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Broadlands
Broadlands
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Park

Property: Waterside Park
Address: The Street, Lowestoft, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterside Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing