We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild Things!”
Review of Africa Alive!

Africa Alive!
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the sights and sounds of Africa and discover lions, giraffes, rhinos, meerkats, hunting dogs and many more animals from the African continent. The spectacular centrepiece of Africa Alive!, our "Plains of Africa" paddock, is the perfect place to spot 5 species of African savannah animals, including our graceful giraffe and heavyweight rhinos. Enjoy a bird's eye view of our magnificent lions from "Lookout Lodge", and visit "Lemur Encounters", which gives you the chance to get incredibly close to our ring-tailed lemurs as you walk through their enclosure! Bird lovers can also enjoy spotting native species from our new "Wader's Lake Boardwalk". Discover some amazing facts about our animals during our exciting feeding talks and seasonal Bird of Prey displays. Climb aboard the free Safari Roadtrain for an entertaining journey around the Park. Look, learn and play in our fun-packed Discovery Centre and meet some of our smaller residents at the animal encounter sessions. The park offers a great outdoor adventure play area, as well as restaurants, free car parking, disabled facilities and a gift shop where you can find souvenirs and gifts for everyone - including yourself! Open daily at 9.30am all year, except Christmas Day and Boxing Day. For admission prices and closing times please check our website
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Wild Things!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely zoo, nice and clean, take a picnic, let the kids run wild, good play area, good educational section too. Collect stamps and get a badge at the end, all kids love a badge. Well looked after animals,not the biggest zoo,but still a good time out with family or friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    402
    81
    26
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LOWESTOFT UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a truly superb place to visit, it is wonderful to see so many healthy animals with plenty of space & so well cared for. Lots of activities throughout the year, we particularly like the African dancing. Love the train going round, you can get on & off as you wish which is GR8 for elderly visitors enabling them to see everything. We love it here & will be going back again & again, our Grandchildren love it too, which helps :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOWESTOFTSMUDGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited the Africa Alive park in mid September. We found it easy to get to fronm Great Yarmouth, about half an hours drive. There were not many people there probably due to children being back in school. I am glad we used Tesco vouchers as otherwise it would have been an expensive day. We were attracted by the advertisement of it being a safari. However, on arrival it is a basically a zoo. The large animals were in their enclosures and were not being allowed to roam on the safari plain in order to allow the grass to grow back. The staff did explain the reason for this, but we could have gone to any zoo to see animals in confined spaces. Having been to the West Midland Safari park which is cheaper and there are more animals to get up close too we did feel a bit disappointed. However, the animals they do have are beautiful and well cared for and the park is well maintained. A little confused why there are no elephants other than models made of cane. I thought African Elephants came from Africa!! The safari train was a good ride and was included in the admission. We probably wouldn't visit again but if you have young children then it is ideal and would keep them amused all day. As for two 50 somethings, then it is perhaps ok for half a day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank delilahStokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanhamZoo, Director or Operations at Africa Alive!, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry you felt Africa Alive! wasn't as you expected. In our advertisements, leaflets and website we try to give visitors a feel for what to expect and nowhere do we advertise that it is a drive through safari park. Clearly we have some work to do here if we are being interpreted as such.
Unfortunately, given that we are only a little over 80 acres, it is impossible for us to have every species normally found in Africa. This includes the African Elephant albeit some smaller zoos do have them at the cost of another species or open space.
We are extremely proud of our Plains of Africa where the Rhino, Giraffe, Zebra, Blesbok and Ostrich can, on most days, be found roaming together. That said, we do have to allow time for grass to repair itself and on wet days it is deemed as unsafe for some animals given the terrain. This is where, when the animals are out, visitors can enjoy a safari keep ride through the enclosure. It may well be this which confused our advertising.
This all said, thank you for your kind comments about the care of our animals. Our keeping staff are devoted to providing the very best in animal welfare and are really pleased when this is recognised.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bit pricey but lovely place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been here numerous times over the last 15 years or so and have seen a lot of changes for the better in terms of the animals and things to see and do, however the price is a little expensive in my opinion, especially if taking a family. Entry price is cheaper off peak.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good small zoo”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Recently visited again with the family. Had a season ticket last year, when we visited frequently, but they couldn't renew it when we visited last, and therefore has been a while since we last visited.
Daughter still loves it as much as before. Well looked after and nice interactive things to do.
Was a bit surprised by the price for an adult ticket (£17.60), but made up by the fact that little one can still go for free. Maybe should get season ticket again as good value. When we arrived, a few people were turned off by the price and returned to their car.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Droesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Africa Alive! also viewed

 

Been to Africa Alive!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing