We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean comfortable and so veryhelpful and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkhill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowestoft
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkhill
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“clean comfortable and so veryhelpful and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

i too visited the hotel prior to my sons wedding this last saturday. Yes the marquee looked very tired and the chairs yuk.
But on the day, what a transformation! I beleive it is standard to hire in chair covers, theirs were white with lovely red bows on. You dress the tables yourselves and our bride and her family did so well.Beautiful professionally compiled flower arrangements on each table. Red themed fancies, handmade name cards so pretty. Made it feel so personal. Fairy lights around the pillars surrounded by silk flowers.
There had been a wedding the day before too in there,but the staff were in at 6am to prepare for our bridal party.
We stayed the night which was a blessing as one could refresh yourself throughout the very hot humid glorious day.The room was very dated, avocado bathroom suite and carpet in the bathroom but we were only charged £60 including a lovely breakfast. The room was clean and spacious and bed comfortable. It is not promoted as five star but one cannot fault the owners or staff, they certainly are!
The wedding meal , sit down 3 courses, was hot and very tasty. All in all, we all had a lovely day and were very well looked afternoon. Thank you Parkhill.
It is a good idea to check out the hotel website as a true picture of how it can look for your big day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
21
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Recently checked the marquee and barn out as possible wedding venue for son and fiancée. The marquee smelled very damp and musty, the drapes looked very grubby with mildew evident. The chairs were old and badly worn and required (at extra cost) covers. There hadn't been a function in there for a few days and was untidy and grubby. The barn wasn't much better and while fine for charity coffee mornings etc, didn't present well for a wedding. Old paper plates were lying in puddles on the ground between the hotel entrance (which again smelled stale and carpet filthy) and the marquee. Needs a complete overhaul before it would be an acceptable place to hold what is a very expensive event.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here, so can't comment on the accommodation or service.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenrossallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

A lovely little hotel. We chose this hotel because it is dog friendly. First appearance the grounds and the house are stunning and is a beautiful wedding venue. The decor is 'old fashioned style' BUT it is in
keeping with the building and really does suit the hotel and gives it a wonderful homely feel. Our room opened up to the beautiful gardens which was great for our puppy and the room was spacious and clean. The food is amazing!!! Freshly prepared and huge portions. The owner is so freindly and accomodating we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back. I highly recommend this hotel with or without a puppy!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We would like thank Ruth and staff at Parkhill for a fantastic time we had at our daughters wedding,you made us all fell welcome and we all had agreat say in the hotel.Food was very good and you service was very good. thanks again Ruth. We will be back again for further functions. Thanks parkhill laura and chris biggs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 924laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just had a few days in the Parkhill. It was meant to be one day but we stayed on because it was so great. It’s a hotel of real character so it may not suit people who like a minimalist, sterile environment. But it honestly doesn’t get more relaxing and it’s astounding value for money (check out the price of a Premier Inn room and that doesn’t include breakfast). The people are lovely, the rooms are amazing, the food is out of this world and the grounds are stunningly beautiful. Even down to the vegetable patch and greenhouse where they grow beans and tomatoes that they use in the kitchen. The hotel is in walking distance of Pleasurewood Hills for those of you who have children, and there’s a secluded pebble and sand beach. We will definitely be going back to the Parkhill and I am SO glad that we stumbled across it.

Room Tip: OK, I don't really want to say this in case they put the price up but room 3 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Min61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here with work (someone else booked it) when you drive in, the grounds look great, upon opening the front door you are met with a musty smell and dirty looking carpets, walls and skirtings.

I was shown to my room, which had a padded fabric headboard, really old fashioned curtains (complete with terrible stain) with matching lampshades, carpet in the bathroom with a pink bath suite and a toilet brush holder covered with a wallpaper circa 19080's, all that was missing was the dolly toilet roll holder. The carpet looked really dirty round the edges, skirtings were filthy and the toilet seat all chipped, overall grubby looking.

This is more like a really old fashioned B&B, its really dated, really old fashioned and in serious need of a refurb

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dollyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Parkhill, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We are in the process of refurbishment but as you can appreciate these things take time. Regards General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

me and my husband who's in a wheelchair stayed over after attending a wedding in the grounds, when i booked up three months in advance i explained about my husband they said they had a ground floor room but the shower had a step up and no rails,, i said i could manage if i could have a plastic chair in it for him to sit on, well true to their word the chair had been put in which we were very impressed as they had taken note of our needs, and couldn't be more helpful the room was lovely and spacious and we had a very relaxed stay and the breakfast was very good too, would love to go back to stay again.

Room Tip: ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolesamberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Fritton Arms HOTEL
#1 of 1 in Fritton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhill

Property: Parkhill
Address: Parkhill, Lowestoft NR32 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parkhill Hotel Lowestoft
Parkhill Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing