We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We did an overnighter for a Saturday and like WAWL we arrived with a wedding being held and had the last space in the carpark. The hotel was also in mid-carvery service and with the price at only £5.50 per head the restaurant was doing a roaring trade too. Neither function interfered with our stay. Check-in painless, lift adjacent to the desk and the room close to - but not bothered by - the lift. The room had a splendid view of the sea and was clean and roomy enough, albeit the bathroom was a touch bijou. Perhaps a bit stark in the decor department - no pictures or similar on the walls - it made no difference to the comfortable beds with, for once, adequate pillows, or the bottled water, biscuits and fudge provided with the tea & coffee. I can only make pedantic faults; I couldn't work out which of the ultra-modern taps were which and there wasn't a great choice of brandy.
Breakfast service would have been enhanced if the waitress had explained it was a help-yourseves-to-coffee-tea-juice-and-toast service and to be frank, I much prefer a buffet to a served set breakfast, but as I say, pedantic criticisms only. Very good value for money when a B & B is the same cost and of course, with a hotel you have all the advantages of a 24 hour bar (that sells decent draught beer), room service, parking and all the other touches that B & B can't offer. We know where we're going next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Get one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 540 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is only a mid-week lunch review. The menu was quite varied, service ok. I ordered the salmon, which was somewhat overcooked , portion rather small, and the veg a bit stodgy. Get a table with a view over the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from 2 very nice days in Kirkley, Lowestoft. We had executive double, extremely comfortable, spacious, clean, warm. Sea view, sea was rough but we enjoyed the view in our nice warm room! Staff very friendly, bar well stocked, and excellent breakfast. Great value for money, we will be back!

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mljLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel has a licence to carry out wedding services and as there was one being held when I arrived parking in the designated Hotel car park across the road was limited and I ended up taking the last available space.

Check-in was very smooth, staff on duty were very pleasant, and the room was large, clean and sea-facing. For such a large room there didn't seem to be much furniture and what was there seemed was crammed into one end with nothing but a wall-mounted telly, a Corby trouser-press and solitary chair on the other side. Although it looked a bit sparse, it had everything that you'd need, and just could have done with being laid out a bit better.

The bar area was clean with a good selection and fast friendly service. Opted to eat out in the evening at a local Chinese restaurant, can't remember the name, but it is just up the road as you turn left out of the hotel and is highly recommended.

Had a fantastic night's sleep. Woke up early for breakfast, service was good, but the full English was very greasy so didn't really enjoy it.

Check-out was as smooth as check-in and left feeling that this was a very good hotel that fell just short of excellent - would definitely stay there again if I am ever in the area as it is in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First of all we had a room overlooking the sea,so l do not know about the other rooms.This room was one of the executive suite ones, at only a fiver more its a no brainer. A large room with a top quality on suit,with a sea view(bit grey but hey its march and its the North Sea) The staff were ALL very pleasant and only to pleased to help.The food was very good and the midday meal was so good we ate in.The bar stocked real beer and was kept well.We have been to lowestoft twice and found it has a good array of shops and some very good Museums .And of coarse there is the East Anglia Transport Museum nearby at Carlton Colville,which is best to visit on a special events day,l am not a big bus follower but l did find it fascinating On the Saturday night there was loud music playing and in fact they have special music weekends which we were told are brilliant so that's another thing you can do.(Only seems fair to generate income) All in all its not the south of France,but it will certainly do me.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea (l have read someone was complaining about the flood lights, they are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, nice welcome from reception, sea facing room very clean, warm and spacious, had dinner in the restaurant which was good, staff are smiling and attentive... would defo stay here again.

Room Tip: Value for money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reggie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Worst night in a hotel I have ever had!

Room 101, you can hear the lifts every movement, the flood lights on the front of the building shine in through curtains meaning its never dark. Nesting pigeons outside window coo-ing all night. I could go on but think you get the idea.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevoc1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
509 reviews
3.3 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Hotel Hatfield

Address: Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: $57 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western The Hotel Hatfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western The Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing