We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out-but hard on the feet!”
Review of Pleasurewood Hills

Pleasurewood Hills
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Lowestoft
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set within 50 acres of enclosed coastal parkland and just 10mins from the seaside town of Great Yarmouth, Pleasurewood Hills Family Theme Park has so much to do and explore, visitors can whizz around on the HYPER DRIVE dodgems NEW for 2015 the 11th new attraction in just 5 years! Experience a ride on the Marble Madness rollercoaster or jump onboard Wipeout, the tallest, fastest and most extreme roller coaster in the East of England! Get soaked on Timber Falls log flume, enjoy some family fun in the Kiddie Zone or simply relax and enjoy fantastic shows with The Sea Lions and our Playful Parrots. We also offers a wide selection of places to eat and drink which include Christines Tea Room, Flying Fish, Porky's Pantry and an alfresco style Terrace Cafe/Bar the Merry Mariner. Where possible we use locally sourced fresh and healthy ingredients for a delicious choice of food and drinks that provide customers with a great value nutritious meal. So, whether you're an adrenaline thrill ride seeker or looking for an exciting fun packed day out full of precious family memories, Pleasurewood Hills has it all, it's fab fun for everyone!!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
dorisando
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good day out-but hard on the feet!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Went here last August, was a fab day. Lots to do for all ages but found there was a lot of walking from one area to another for the larger white knuckle rides. Def take a buggy for the younger ones as it is spread out. We ate in the park and was not the greatest of meals, was very expensive for burger and chips, coke etc but unless you going to carry a picnic not much you can do. Shows were very good but again had to q for a while to watch them, although they do put 3 on at a time through the day. Would go back, prepared with better walking shoes. Good value for money when paying as a family but would try and get vouchers for next trip to compinsate having to pay high food bill inside the park.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dorisando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    453
    237
    119
    126
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Need a few quid if there is a few of you but overall its a good day out. I think those complaining about updates etc.. need to remember where they are. Its not a big city at all. Also I went in the height of summer and queues were minimal. Happily go again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“£18 and 5 rides not working!! NO discount”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

A group of 4 of us went to Pleasurewood Hills on Saturday, 3 adults and one 4 year old. The excitment from the 4 year old has been building for weeks. After arriving we were met with a board that explained 4 rides were not working, the new ride for 2012 and one of the main roller coasters along with another 2 rides. On buying tickets I asked "whats the rate reduction on the £18 entry price considering you have 4 rides, 2 main ones not working". Was informed there was NO discount. Had it been up to the 3 adults we would have left but try telling an excited 4 year old we can't go in because £18 is a rip off when 4 rides aren't working. Anyway, as suggested by the gate staff who also agreed it was bad not to have a discount i've got an email address to complain to. To top it off we waited for a go on the boat ride, where it goes through old pirate world, just as our turn came, the chain snapped and that was another ride down and off the list for the day, 5 rides in total now. Used to go 15 years ago as a child and really, little has changed. Its very tired in places and was very quiet for a lovely, Saturday. As a local the park must spend a fortune advertising the park and trying to attract visitors, maybe this money should be spent on maintance for once these visitors get to the park.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lottiehpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

so out of date these days, used to be good. Bring back the BBQ's

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fairly good,but pricey and very long waits for rides.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I went with my partner and her 2 teenage children. We got a family ticket which was quite expensive. This allowed unlimited entry on most of the rides (some you still had to pay for) it didn't feel like a proper theme park. More of a fairground attraction. The queues for rides were on par with Alton Towers and the staff weren't really friendly. Food was okish yet pricey. I guess it's a good place to go if you're all out of ideas!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasurewood Hills also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Pleasurewood Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing