We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Winelodge Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winelodge Suites
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I am a frequent business user of the suites and wouldn't dream of using anywhere else.
I stay in the executive suites which are perfect. Spacious warm living space with open plan kitchen with table to eat meals at, warm quiet bedroom with double bed and closet space and a bathroom with shower. The living space has TV and dvd player and the kitched is fully functional with microwave, cooker, tea and coffee facilities. The rooms are always spotless and highly maintained

The winelodge bar is just below and serves classic bar foods and drinks. Its ideally situated near local shops, petrol station and is a 2 minute walk from the train station to Norwich.
On arrival and during the stay the recepionist(s) and staff are always friendly and happy to help with a very approachable and professional attitude towards all guests.

I travel 300 miles from Newcastle every week and after a long drive and day at the office its a perfect location to relax. I would highly recommend the Winelodge suites to all including business users, families and couples.

Room Tip: If you can request an executive suite or the amazing Penthouse, it is well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    23
    21
    38
See reviews for
19
50
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I write this at 2.44 in the morning, having spent the last four hours trying to sleep. I may as well be in a tent on a high street . The nightclub and drunks have kept me awake since 11.00. As for the hotel, they cannot provide lightbulbs or locks that work. I was booked for two nights and paid in advance but have just booked elsewhere as this place is so bad. The room smells of rubbish and the shared bathroom has no plugs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelotottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

norwich
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at these apartments we had a 2 bedroom and my brother had a one bedroom. both were really lovely. They were very clean spacious and warm. We spoke to the receptionist who told us they used to be managed by a company in norwich and this caused alot of bad reviews so the winelodge has taken over all the apartments now. The receptionist was very helpful with giving us taxi numbers and information about a local cafe that done an all you can eat breakfast deal (which i must say was lovely and included in the price was the juice tea or coffee great value and lovely friendly staff) we can not fault these apartments and will definately visit again (might even upgrade to the penthouse suite!!) After reading the negative reviews we did take towels pillows jumpers etc but did not need them. We were supplied with clean towels coffee tea sugar etc all provided plus shower gel and shampoo they even supplied washing up liquid dishcloth and tea towel. In my brothers one bedroom apartment they even had a washing machine. All in all we were well impressed dont worry about the negative reviews that was the management company that failed their guests. Winelodge seem to have resolved all the issues and are doing a wonderful job of supplying good quality accomodation at very reasonable prices. We did have a small problem of what sounded like a car alarm buzzing all night but wasnt sure if this was outside the apartment or inside. It might be something to do with the railway track that runs along the back of the apartments but i will phone and speak to the staff about it as it was a little irritating. Book your room and have a very enjoyable comfortable stay we did.

Room Tip: we had 2 double beds in our two bedroom so if you need two singles in the second room you would need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolksmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After reading some reviews I was a little worried about what we would be letting ourselves in for. We arrived about an hour and half before check in time, so had a drink in the bar and relaxed for a while. Checked in at 3pm with friendly reception staff. We had booked an executive room. It was great. Separate living space where there was a sofa, tele, table and desk with tea and coffee making facilities. The bedroom was clean and tidy. Looked to me like this room had brand new carpet and fresh paint. The bathroom was spotless and a nice quality of toiletries too. We went around town for the night, enjoying the local pubs and the live music, was so good to see pubs that were full of people and everyone having a nice time. Got back to Winelodge about midnight and there were people outside enjoying themselves and waiting to get to nightclub. Nightclub is not our scene but it did not disturb us at all. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: 1101 was the room we were in. Cannot fault it for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Wood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Suites and more recently at the Seaview Apartments.

First the good points:

The apartments are of a good size and generally well equipped.
The Apartments offer great value for money
The Seaview overlooks the beach and the pier and no doubt would be a fantastic base in the summer

Now for the bad:

When the main reception for the Apartments is just under 300yards away don't say it's 100yards
The door handle to the living room was missing when we arrived leaving rough edges that caught clothes and a problem if the door was shut
These are probably the coldest Apartments I have ever stayed in
The Apartments were not very clean on close inspection
The dishwasher was half full of dirty crockery when we arrived

With a little care and attention and the right staff looking after the Apartments on changeovers these could be a fantastic budget place to stay.

My current advice would be to avoid staying here or understand the consequences as detailed above.

Come on Winelodge, get a grip

Room Tip: The apartments all seem to be a good size, they are simply not maintained and cleaned sufficiently b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanJGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived at the apartments on Friday 9th November with difficulty. The directions that were given were not clear and it seems that we were not the only people who have found this to be the case due to one of the reviews on the booking website. I feel that these need to be amended to ensure it is easier to find for people staying there in the future.

When we arrived at the apartments, the front two doors were wide open and un-secure. This seems risky, and made us feel unsettled about staying at the accommodation seeing as there was no real security and no manned reception to prevent people from sleeping in the corridors.

Some of the lights were out down the corridors when we were finding our room.

The room itself was in a bad condition. It did not have the furniture that was shown on the website. The floor had food on it in nearly all the rooms, the pillowcases had stains on them, and were in side out, meaning to us that they had not been changed between residents and had instead just been turned inside out. The sheets smelled, and had stains on them which seemed to be blood. The double bed itself was also in very bad condition, being concave on the left side making for a VERY uncomfortable nights sleep. The bathroom smelled of damp and the apartment itself seemed very dilapidated and unkempt. The television in the front room had no remote control.

On Saturday night at around 4.30 am we were woken by the fire alarms being set off. This was initiated by a group of twelve 14-16 year old's staying in one of your rooms, drinking alcohol, taking drugs, and getting into fights which resulted in them setting off the fire alarm. This was not a nice way to be woken up. And it asks the question, why were they in one of the rooms drinking under-age It doesn't suggest to me that the booking was done in a responsible way, and having no reception area means that there is no one around to over see who is staying in the accommodation and the purpose for renting the rooms.

My partner and I then had to ring the police and fire brigade due to lack of representation on your behalf. We were confronted by the group of under-age teenagers. This could have all been prevented if it was dealt with correctly in the first place. Again, to me this seems like irresponsible management.
The fire brigade had been called to your apartments twice in one week, unable to turn the alarms off, but only able to silence the alarm. They were also unable to get a member of staff to the apartments as the closest person was in Norwich.

I am ridiculously disappointed in the lack of service and professinalism shown at these apartments. Please ask yourself what would have happened if it was a real fire? How could anyone have ensured that the building was totally evacuated? You have a responsibility to the people staying in the accommodation to ensure their safety, and this service was not provided! Regardless of this, the standard of our stay was unsatisfactory also, we did not expect to be sleeping on soiled sheets in unsanitary accommodation. And again had no point of contact to rectify the situation.

I am also disappointed that it has taken over ten days to get a response, and has meant that I have had to follow up the complaint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clementine813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dont stay here, really awfull rooms, old plasters and fast food containers line the stairs, I opted for the expensive bathroom apartment which had damp towels which were a bit grubby, no hot water whatsoever, bed was ok but pillows were dirty and as thick as a rizla paper, next time ill save 56 bucks and sleep in my van - its cleaner !!!

Room Tip: go smewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
0.1 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingsleigh Guest House
Kingsleigh Guest House
#24 of 28 in Lowestoft
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winelodge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winelodge Suites

Property: Winelodge Suites
Address: 58 Bridge Road | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR32 3LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winelodge Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Winelodge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winelodge Suites Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing