We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winelodge Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Winelodge Suites
manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at the Apartments a couple of weeks ago due to business. Upon parking up in the Winelodge (very similar to a Weatherspoons) pub, I got the keys to find I was in the Penthouse Suite. I had booked this via Laterooms. The Apartment on first impressions was fab! Usually staying in hotel rooms, I wasn't quite sure what to do with all the space. It was pretty much open plan, decent TV in lounge area, huge equipped kitchen. On closer inspection, the floor / apartment could have done with a good hoovering (there was a cig butt on the floor in the kitchen for example, and some sort of green dye in one of the many sinks!). The bedroom was nicely furnished, as the rest of the apartment, however there were dodgy floorboards at the end of the bed, some sort of trapdoor under the carpet? I didn't stand on this bit as I was unsure why it slumped. Also the TV wasn't tuned in in the bedroom which was a shame. The bathroom / separate shower again was very well presented. The shower was pretty weak but no worse than a hotel room to be fair. As I am a lone traveller when on business, I would have preferred to have the key to what was a backdoor, just so I know no one could walk in (my own piece of mind). I suppose as well being on my own, it was a little strange and it was so quiet so any noises from other apartments sounded alot louder. However it would be a fantastic base for a family visit, and will most likely return with my family for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA-CATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    23
    21
    37
See reviews for
19
49
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

On pulling up at the suites, I was filled with a big sense of dead... Pub, grotty car park, tired shops and litter. Went to find reception, it's in the pub... No signs to show you where! However, when we opened the apartment, I was pleasently surprised. Huge apartment, big bedrooms, large bathroom... very nice indeed. However, when you look closely, its not very well maintained, chips out the wall, dents in the ceiling, dusty surfaces. It only has small double beds which i don't expect in an apartment of this size. All in all though, as a base for a lowestoft, yarmouth area, it's good! Very good value for money. The car park is an issue, its just not big enough. On out second night we spent a good 30 mins driving round (There is no parking on the road) waiting for someone to leave so we could park overnight. AND there is a train line at the back... which isn't too busy with trains, but noisy when they come!. Just FYI!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexSugarPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I had booked the Winelodge Hotel but got a call to say that there was no availability, so I was upgraded at no extra cost to the Suites. I booked this through Laterooms and paid £50 for the night which given the appartment, was a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay its now even better since they now do a full english breakfast. Will defo be going back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffollk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

this was an anniversay trip for us and i was tempted by the words "penthouse" and "sunken bath". the apartment was absolutely enormous and really beautifully decorated, well equipped, spotlessly clean, helpful staff, peaceful and luxurious.

I would only suggest -in keeping with the rest of the apartment - there really should be a super king sized bed instead of a regular double and patio furniture is needed on the balcony.

I will definately be putting this on my regular list when we need a "treat"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambabee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have attend a number of 'functions' at the Winelodge, and having read the most recent review on here, I feel I should add a more reasonable approach.

Whilst, I must admit, the room does not appear at first the most obvious choice for a venue for a party/celebration (due to decor/layout as opposed to size) it certainly lends itself to a very comfortable, relaxed evening. Sofa's make a welcome break from the usual benching/hard seats. I have also found the table/searing arrangements (the amount asked for by the organiser) more than adequate.

The bar is a tad too small for a busy night in my opinion ( which probably explains the lack of bars stools...), although for those who are in desperate need of immediate liquid refreshment, the main bar can be found down only a few steps. A change, as they say, is as good as a rest! Having said that, this is not overly noticeable due to the hard working bar staff, who also manage to be more than cheerful and a good laugh too!

Both Dj's I have encountered have been very approachable and friendly. In fact, at one function I attended last year the lady went home and collected all of her own gear, rushed back, set up and carried on when there was a technical fault with the rooms equipment. I am not saying this to make out the Winelodge has shoddy technology, just to support how good their entertainment staff are!!! And she smiled a lot. And laughed. And looked good. Ahem, well, anyway. The dance floor is small, although thankfully, after years of training, I am now competent in dancing on a wide range of surfaces (including carpets! And rugs...) and the music, I have to say, has not always been to my taste, but I guess that's what happens when a room full of individuals make an untold number of requests....

Food (buffet only) from my experience has been more than satisfactory, the 'facilities' have been clean and 'appropriately stocked' (if you know what I mean!), unless some of the party goers have made a mess there and overall a good time has been had by all.

I cannot say anything about the accommodation - I haven't had any experience of it.

I look forward to receiving my next invite to a function here, I know what will be in store - a comfortable, enjoyable evening (well, that may depend on who does the inviting.....).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperTed83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

well floors wasnt cleaned.....floor dipped in large patch in bedroom.....dust over all units.........sofas dipped as seen better days........no table n chairs to be able sit out on verranda......power shower your having a laugh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! more power came out off a dripping sink then that........and the bed well being in penthouse you,d off thought be something special lol well dirty old divan that had leg missing so was lop sidded and bed was so uncomfortable lumpy pillows so wasnt worth the money and if i had to give them money i would of been well you should off paid me!!!!! staff lol not helpful!!! can only pay with cards or 5 10 20 pound notes!!

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foreman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winelodge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winelodge Suites

Property: Winelodge Suites
Address: 58 Bridge Road | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR32 3LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winelodge Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Winelodge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winelodge Suites Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing