We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave our room to someone else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavecrest Guest House
Ranked #17 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had stayed at Wavecrest two years previously and were very impressed. It was clean and well furnished, the owner was friendly and the breakfast delicious and we had a lovely break. However this time around we were not so lucky. When we arrived there was no-one there and when we phoned the B&B it went to answerphone and gave us another number to ring for "Ricky", which we did, and when Ricky answered he said we had not been booked in to arrive that day and the room we had "booked" was to be let out to someone else the next night! He came round within 20 minutes, sorted out the problem by giving the next day's guest a different room so we could have our sea view room, and we were impressed at his quick and common-sense sorting of the problem. We unpacked and sat down for a while to watch the sea, only to see vans pulling up and men marking out the grass opposite with spray-paint and string. It turned out they were marking it out for a funfair which arrived within a few hours and set up camp right in front of the sea view. When I asked around it turned out the fair come every single year at that time. The owner must have known it would be there when we explained to her on the phone that we wanted that particular room because we wanted a sea view. We stayed for two nights and instead of the peace and quiet we had been looking forward to all year, we had a noisy fairground. Also, when we went out on the second day we left some cereal bars in the room which were missing when we got back after the room had been restocked (teabags, etc). The B&B was still clean and comfortable and the breakfast enjoyable, but sadly I wouldn't stay again. I expected a phone call to apologise for obviously forgetting to write down our booking and effectively giving our room to someone else - if it wasn't for Ricky's quick thinking we would have wasted £100 getting there on the train. There was no such phone call and thus, I can't recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: I recommend the sea view rooms. Mention if you have trouble getting around, as two rooms are up two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyMB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Wavecrest, having been to the Latitude Festival on the Saturday. It is situated right on the sea front, with parking outside. We had room 1 which was on the top floor, and can be either a king size or twin I think, it had good unrestricted sea view as well. The beds were comfy, the room clean, the on suite was modern, and the breakast lovely. What more do you need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 999Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Wavecrest is a comfortable stop-over. Although there is no resident's lounge, rooms are large and comfortable with good views over the sea. There at two armchairs and a coffee table in the bay window. There is a large wall mounted television with Freeview.I There is a nice modern en suite bathroom with a large - double sized - shower. The beds are comfortable although the pillows are the one downside of the room. They are flat, compressed and without support of any kind. They should be changed to match the level of the rest of the rooms. Breakfast is as good as you would hope for. A limited number of cereals but with fresh fruit salad, always a plus. A non-greasy cooked breakfast is on offer with tea or coffee and white bread toast. We weren't offered the choice of brown bread.

I'm quite happy to recommend Wavecrest to anyone looking for a short stay in Lowestoft. The lack of resident's lounge might be a pain if you stay longer but I suppose that depends on the size of your group and on how social you are.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Wavecrest guest house. Our room, which was overlooking the sea, was clean, modern and well furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent. The guest house is well placed for the town and surrounding areas and parking the car was no problem.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searcher111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

just had 3 nights at wavecrest in a single sea faceing room 4, i was abit iffy about not haveing a bathroom in room but it was just across the way and roomy it was to myself i would never share a bathroom. very clean an surprisingly private,lovely veiw from room watch sea people go by, room was clean and evrey thing u need abit noisey on sat night with youngones going by but it dyes down by12.12.30. breaky was nice as were the owners u get to come an go as u please which i like,all in all agood stay and a GOOD price i would stay here again...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Booked by our company for 2 nights whilst we were working locally. Excellent location with stunning views out to sea. Nice rooms with more than adequate space and facilities. Only problem is the beds are a bit too comfortable and we struggled to make early breakfast on our last morning before leaving. Oh one other thing tell Sue "don't forget the buscuits". A very nice Lady she is too and a great host. We will definitely recommend the Wavecrest to anyone and would hope to return one day to this fine establishment.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the front with a stunning sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This guest house is in a street of similar establishments just across from the seafront. The room was very nice and comfortable, and the proprietors were very friendly. The station is only 5 minutes away. The best pub in town is the Triangle just off the north end of the High Street, with a good selection of real ales, some from the adjacent Green Jack Brewery. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.4 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsleigh Guest House
Kingsleigh Guest House
#24 of 28 in Lowestoft
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Guest House

Address: 31 Marine Parade, Lowestoft NR33 0QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range: $68 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run guest house since 1987, highly recommended by our regular guests who return every year. We are situated on the seafront between Lowestoft's two piers, directly opposite the award winning south beach. Five bedrooms - 4 en suite, 1 private facilities. Three rooms have a superb sea view. Just 5 minutes walk from the railway and bus stations and the town center, we find this a great place to live as well as to holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wavecrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Guest House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing