We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Accommodation”
Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #4 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Comfortable, friendly accommodation. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. In the best part of Lowestoft. Short walk to the best beach. Take your own deckchairs. Easy pleasant walk to town centre. Choice of restaurants nearby limited

Room Tip: Chopin Suite has an excellent large shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragon207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 335 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. Always made to feel welcome by the owners. Comfortable beds delicious breakfast. It overlooks the beach uninterrupted views. Short walk from restaurants and Lowestoft town centre.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Pam152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay, amazing breakfast, lovely room over looking the sea, beautiful bathroom. Genuinely nice couple, Anne and Colin. we would stay here again.

Highly recommended, Carol and Norman from Lancashire.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the sea view, all are named by famous composers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norgal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my daughter had a wonderful few days here,the birth place of Benjamin Britten. Ann and Colin gave us a warm welcome and we felt at home right away. Our room was lovely and clean and the en suite was a good size. The full English breakfast was amazing, all cooked by Ann! She also makes her own preserves which taste fantastic. Colin waits on you at breakfast with his cheery face and funny wit. You certainly go out for the day feeling you won't need anymore to eat for some time. Very filling. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Britten House to anyone. We are hoping to go back again in the not to distant future. Thanks again to Ann and Colin for a lovely stay!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

It was really lovely to have you both to stay. Happy smiling people, like yourselves, makes our day. We hope to see you both again soon.
Kindest regards Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Shame we only stayed one evening. A lovely hotel.asked for a superior room .got front of hotel overlooking sea. With a four poster bed. And a spa bath. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were really helpful with things to do. Suggested I walk to Ness point. I did then on to the maritime museum. Had a nice meal in the harbour pub. Which thankfully only had the football on low key

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyshoesSurreyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

I am glad you had a lovely weekend. Our Maritime museum is run by volunteers and they are so passionate about our local history on the sea.
There are also two other museums in the park also.
Perhaps if you come again you can visit those and also the Lowestoft museum.
Kind regards Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our staff constantly stay in hotels/B&B, It is an absolute pleasure to be able to give positive feedback on an establishment. Britten House is very clean, very well maintained and presented, with a friendly and accommodating host, the breakfasts was excellent. We very highly recommend this establishment for the business or pleasure a definite 11/10! Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCBB700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for the 11/10. We do appreciate business travellers taking the time to leave a review for others, and we look forward to welcoming you and your staff again in the future.
Kind regards Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Made Lowestoft (211 miles from Dover) and stayed in this well appointed and friendly guest house where Benjamin Britten (the classical composer of "Young Person's Guide" and "Peter Grimes" fame) was born and grew up. We stayed in the Schubert room overlooking the sea and had an excellent breakfast the following morning. We will be back for the start of our Lowestoft to Ardemurchan trip in 2016.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the front of the house overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is surprising the number of cyclists who stay with us. Your visit to Lowestoft ticks two boxes, the first that we are the most Easterly point in England and Second that Benjamin Britten was born at Britten House, and was inspired by the beauty of the sunrises over the sea, to become a great composer. We look forward to seeing you again in 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
500 reviews
3.6 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
0.1 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#3 of 28 in Lowestoft
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range: $93 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing