We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we could wish for and more..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #2 of 29 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we could wish for and more..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay at Britten House which I booked as a present for a friend. Overall, we had a wonderful time and Anne and Colin couldn't have been more helpful. At first, I wasn't too keen on the décor as it felt quite dark and old fashioned (although, of course, it is in keeping with the age of the building). However, this was mainly confined to the reception area and, once we had checked in, I was more than happy with the bedrooms. My friend was in the Mozart suite which was huge with an amazing bath, bed and even a table and chairs in the bay window so she could sit and look out to sea with her morning cuppa. I was in the luxury single which lived up to it's title. The bed was much larger than a single and the shower was one of the best I have ever used in a hotel. The breakfast was superb with high quality ingredients and perfectly cooked. We would definitely stay at Britten House again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEWNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    35
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
175
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in October 2013 whilst in Lowestoft for work. I had the pleasure of staying in the Benjamin Britten room which was huge and well equipped, including a huge double bed. The room wasn't en suite but this didn't matter as it meant the bathroom was bigger than those in the rooms and was only just across the hall (getting there wasn't a problem thanks to a lovely bath robe provided).

The staff were very friendly and provided us with directions when needed and a great breakfast in the morning. They were also very helpful when I locked myself out of my room!

Would recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We took a chance on staying in this Bed and Breakfast on a recent visit to Lowestoft and were delighted with our experience. The historic house was clean and well presented. The room was spotless and inviting, bed was good, the breakfast was perfect. The folks who own this house are friendly and welcoming with lots of local knowledge which added to our interest in the area. We weren't too sure about the carpet in the bathroom but that is a minor thing in this lovely place right across from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinervaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just had a two night stay at Britten house suburb in every way, lovely friendly hosts ,fantastic breakfasts no wonder this is rated the best b&b in Lowestoft, certainly the best we have stayed in across the country, can't wait to go back thank you Anne & Colin will see you soon. Pam & Malcolm honour

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the Benjamin brittan suite, view of the sea was amazing, bed was comfortable but bathroom wasn't ensuite. Service was friendly and breakfast kept us going till dinner! Would have been a big 5 if bathroom was ensuite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank droxtharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I travel to Lowestoft quite often and this is my favourite B&B. The only time I do not stay there is when Britten House is fully booked.
What you can count on is great atmosphere, friendly welcome, lovely and clean room and fantastic breakfast.
House is just off the beach, so most of the rooms have a lovely view at the seafront, and if your windows face the other way, no worries, there is a garden to look at. Close to centre, train sttion, walkable distance to any place you need, so I recommend for business guests, hikers or bikers.

Room Tip: I love the top floor room facing the sea - good size, quiet and with amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second stay at Britten House and I hope we will have more. Colin and Ann could not be better hosts. The rooms are lovely and the food delicious. If you ae looking for a base to explore East Anglia or just to chill out locally look no further. Our only regret is we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#3 of 29 in Lowestoft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Property: Britten House
Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing