We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britten House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
View Hotel
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Parkhill(Lowestoft)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
296
36
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
36
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmozart suiteb bhomemade marmaladesea frontfiltered waterfull englishsea viewfriendly ownersmini fridgefour poster bedexcellent hostsbreakfast was excellentlittle touchescomfortable bedbreakfast roomcooked breakfastlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 339 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had an excellent stay at Britten House. The room we had was excellent, clean and nice view of the beach. The breakfast is so nice and nicely cooked. Ann and Colin are wonderful host. They made us so welcome and made us feel at home. We will surely stay at Britten House next time we go to Lowestoft. We will surely recommend Britten House to everyone. We would like to wish you all the very best and we are looking forward to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having looked at previous reviews prior to booking, my wife and I were pleased to see that the reviews were well earned. Great hospitality, room,breakfast and local knowledge to ensure your evenings were filled with equally good food. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 2 nights due to work but we plan on coming back again for a longer period.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayson_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Could not fault this hotel everything as it should be rooms were very comfortable lovely big shower room. Plenty of tea coffee biscuits you only have to ask if you want more of anything the best breakfast I have had away from home

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We travelled here at very short notice, together with our adult son. There was one small mistake, in that our room only had one cup on the first night, but as soon as this was mentioned, the apologies were forthcoming, and the necessary second one so hubby and I caould have a cuppa at the same time was provided. The owners and staff were helpful, friendly, and keen to do all they could to ensure everything was well done. Breakfasts were clean and fresh - no dirty plates, greasy food etc. Plenty of juice, milk, cereals and fruit available, and excellent cooked breakfast with choices - which they kept to (some places muddle orders) serving the entire group together, so all have a fresh, hot, freshly cooked meal together. Various teas were offered, or cafetiers of fresh hot coffee. Room and bathroom for ourselves and our son were spotless and perfectly well provided - including a fridge in each room - blessing for milk, and in recent hot weather for bottled wated which we bought for outside use. There were also fans in the rooms - again ideal in this weather, with decent facilities in terms of wi-fi, tv ( + channels, in case of bad weather, resting with cuppa late at nigiht etc). Plus, alothough card details were verified at the time of the booking, funds were not taken until the end of our stay - and this was done while ensuring everything had been ok with our stay. Various types of family groups - sinleton, cuples, small children, were seen at different breakfasts during our stay, and all were clearly content with all elements of hteir stay. An excellent place to stay whether as part of a seaside break, for business, or, as in our case, when needing somewhere to stay while looking for our new home. The rooms are named as suites bearing the names of composers, to echo the fact that Benjamin Britten had been born in that house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrnDnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Lowestoft for over 20 years, visiting and staying with family here on our annual visit from France. We now need to provide our own accommodation in order to visit our family and on our 2nd attempt, we have now found Britten House which gives us a really good base, ticking all our boxes - comfortable, well equipped (wifi, TV), spacious rooms, modern bathrooms, great breakfasts to start off the day with quality ingredients, cooked to order and served with good humour .. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeestop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews