We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Guest House - Baytree House is a jewell”
Review of Baytree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baytree House
Ranked #7 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This lovely old Victorian House has been brought back to life by the lovely owner and we had a great stay for one night in February. Despite the freezing cold weather - a Norfolk classic of snow, sleet, rain, fog and finally sun - we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed the visit. We were very impressed with the two rooms we were offered for ourselves and our two daughters. Excellent value, so refreshing not to feel 'ripped off' - if anything we wanted to pay more, so ended up buying three jars of amazing home-made jam and chutneys.

Great decor, comfortable beds, immaculate bathroom and a very well-stocked tea/coffee welcome tray - even hot chocolate for the girls room.

Easy to find, easy to park, a good nights sleep followed by a totally brilliant breakfast - all good - what more to say!

Would definitely stay again. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeopardy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Baytree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a lovely unexpected gem of a place. Read good reviews but was still pleasantly surprised. Gorgeous rooms, lovely staff, unbelievable value, great breakfast. And all for less than one of the so-called reasonably priced chain hotels. I'm so glad I'm here for another night. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Although slightly disappointed that she was not “merry” as another reviewer recounted, we got a warm greeting from the proprietress as we emerged out of a blustery Autumn night at 10 o’clock. It got our stay off to a good start, and Baytree House is as pleasant, tasteful and modern as the pictures promise. We were very comfortable in our airy ground floor room which has a large bay window onto the front garden.

We were both very satisfied with the breakfast which is served with large quantities of delicious freshly made toast. In common with all good British B&Bs, breakfasters become unwitting participants in a forum where the minutiae of each conversation are overhead by all in the echoing space, punctuated by polite chinking of tea-cups on saucers. The good news is that contrary to the website, full breakfast is now included in the room price. The only hitch is the appalling and galling presence of the Daily Mail, but then I suppose owt’s better that nowt – aw who am I kidding.

Baytree House remains top banana in Lowie – bravo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwxgcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights (12th and 13th Oct) in room 1 and had a wonderful stay. The owner was very welcoming and the whole place had a very homely feel to it. The room was large and clean, with a tv, Ipod dock and tea and coffee making facilities etc. The breakfast was awesome; full English (or veggie version), or scrambled eggs on toast. Also a range of cereals and pastries. Yes, the owner has dogs, but during our stay they remained in the private area of the building away from guests and we never heard a peep out of them. If I'm ever back in this area of Suffolk I'd certainly make a return visit to Baytree House.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteAlice83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were greeted by Liz on arrival who was very friendly and showed us to our 'luxury' rooms 8&9 on the top floor. Yeh right!
I was told on booking these were the only 2 rooms on this floor when in fact there were 4. No real issue but facts are facts. The brochure said 'all rooms have en-suite bath / shower rooms'. No. 8&9 had a tiny hand washing sink roughly plumbed in with unpainted MDF with pencil marks! No en suite in either. No disabled access - it says in the brochure wheel chair access - not to the 1st or second floors!, apart from room1, no lift in evidence and a step up into the garden.
Both rooms were 'dodgy!. The modern, distinctly un victorian new doors had holes in after a change in handles, but no one filled the holes. Room 9 has about 9 holes in the plasterboard in a failed attempt to attach the tv to the wall and failed. Again no attempt made to fill them. Both rooms had very poorly fitted laminate flooring which was unfinished. Room 8 was tiny, room 9 larger and had a 'nightclub' theme going on complete with diamante cup and table runner, leopard print fleece dressingown!. The beds were comfortable.
Very worryingly, the smoke detector was in bits outside the 2nd floor bedrooms and remained that way, so in total breach of fire regulations.
No sign of the 'secure car parking', the back garden was full of builders rubble a hot tub and old windows! There was a large building which looked like it could be the annex.
The shared bathroom had a new bath - rolltop, but in place of a previous bath there were large holes in the floorboards where water could easily flow! No attempt to neaten it up. The sink and toilet were different colours! Hand held shower surprisingly effective.
It was clean, and as previous reviews say the breakfast was great especially the fresh brioche rolls and hand made bread.
It looked like someone had made 1/2 an effort, the cakes in the hall were a lovely touch and you could buy various home made jams and preserves, but the basics hadn't been finished properly. 'award winning garden?' mmm yes if you like plastic fountain pipes!
Overall fine for 1 night. I got a glimpse of room 1 and it looked stunning so my suggestion is to spend a bit more and keep out of the attic rooms! It could be lovely once finished!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly may I thank Liz and the staff for making our second stay at baytree House brilliant. We have been here for 2 stays now with children aged 5 and 1 and now 6 and 2 and they were made to feel as welcome as possible and nothing was ever too much trouble. The food is AMAZING!!!! Yes this B&B is boutique like, but thats whats so lovely and its so homely and relaxing. Yes, the owner has dogs ( pugs who are utterly gorgeous) but these were never ever seen in the dining room and only came out the front in the evening into the lovely garden. There is also a new rabbit and 2 new guinea pigs which had the children so excited the whole time. Please remember this is a b&b and not a 5* top of the range hotel, but it is homely, inviting, warm and lovely. we are booked in again for 8 weeks time and cant wait.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefarmerswife2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just stayed at the Baytree and was really pleased after our last stay in Lowestoft . Large room , nice bathroom and very comfy bed . Everywhere was very clean and all three of the staff we met there were very friendly and helpful . There are also DVDs in the room , we didn't use them but I think they would be really handy , tea and coffee making facilities really good and there are also wine glasses and a cork screw which I found was a nice thought. Had to do this review as my last stay in Lowestoft at the Hatfield ( which i completely stand by) was so scathing I didn't want anyone to think I was a complete moaner . Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and nicely cooked. My one and only nit pick is I personally did not like the homemade bread and would have preferred the choice of ordinary toast but I bet lots of people loved it .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
353 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
417 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,075 reviews
1.8 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree House

Address: 30 Lyndhurst Road, Lowestoft NR32 4PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range: $76 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baytree House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Baytree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing