We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lymington
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Quality family time

I booked the trip over night Round the Isle experience for 3 generations of my family, including my... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2019
Connector589739
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Wonderful birthday celebration

Beautiful trip up Beaulieu River with lunch at the Master Builder for my husband's birthday. Our... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
Jeremy D
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chris and sue beaulieu river amazing hosts great company set sail isle of wight deck motor wheel caribbean crew yacht needles safety boats sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 26 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Surprise 60th birthday treat with family members. Chris and Sue provided a memorable day, nothing too much trouble and great service and company provided in an informal manner. Sailed up to Bucklers Hard, stop off for booked lunch and then back to Lymington. Party of 12 and room below and on deck not any problem. If I had time/money I would love to do some of their exotic packages, one in Caribbean would be great! Fabulous day.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderAdventure, Owner at The Salamander Sailing Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you James for your lovely review.

We enjoyed meeting so many of your family and friends, including the grandchildren, and introducing everyone to Salamander and the charms of the Beaulieu River for the day.

Congratulations are also due to your family and friends for successfully keeping your birthday celebration a secret for so long! It can't have been easy for them.

We look forward to welcoming you on board Salamander again whenever you are passing for a coffee, another trip or for that exotic package.

Best wishes from Chris, Sue and the Salamander crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

My wife bought me this sailing trip as a birthday gift and we took along friends and family
for a days sailing on the Solent and were absolutely delighted with the whole experience.

The crew ( and boat owners) Chris,Sue,Hilary and Jules made our day with first class
attention to safety and hospitality on their yacht and we couldn't fault the day sailing the Solent and absorbing the wonderful sights, we all hope to do it again soon!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank gulliver007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderAdventure, Owner at The Salamander Sailing Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased to hear you all enjoyed your sailing experience on board Salamander with us visiting the many charms of the Isle of Wight.

We enjoyed the company of your family and friends tremendously.

Congratulations to your wife and daughter for keeping the birthday treat a secret from you for so long !

We look forward to introducing you to some more wonderful sights in the Solent and around the Isle of Wight next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

A terrific and different day out in the hands of a seriously competent family crew. Skipper Christopher White knew all the best viewing locations in the Solent, for the 'ringside' sights of the 2006 America's Cup heats. Salamander, his round-the-world vessel, is as comfortable and stable as a cruise liner (part of our day was on fairly disturbed surfaces which she rode with aplomb.) Simple, tasty snacks were served all day by Sue and Jules with any drinks of choice, hot or cold - even 'proper' beer for one of our number who eschews lager - Alleluja!
A great idea for an up-market day (or longer) out for up to 10 people - apparently Salamander will sail you to any point you favour. Our next trip request will be for a 'round-the-island' sail.
Parking at the Berthon Marina is free and easy; Salamander's mooring is close by and readily found, for an 0800 cast-off.
We were impressed.

Date of experience: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank plateman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderAdventure, Owner at The Salamander Sailing Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2016

Thank you for your review plateman65. We enjoyed your company as much as seeing Sir Ben Ainslie go top of the America's Cup World Series leader board. We aim to please with our selection of drinks on board and look forward to showing you the Isle of Wight - "The Pearl of the Solent" - with a full Round the Island Sail when next you visit these parts. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back on board Salamander soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Spent a wonderful evening with Chris, sue and Diana on board salamander.
Boarded at 5pm and returned to lymington at 11pm. Food and drinks flowed, the sun shone and the sail was raised. Plenty of warm clothes and hot drinks on offer on the way back.
Would thoroughly recommend the hospitality offered by this lovely couple. Just the activity to add to your bucket list!!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank bibandbrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderAdventure, Owner at The Salamander Sailing Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you both on board to share such a beautiful Solent Sunset on the way to Cowes for the fireworks and a warm moonlit starry night on out return to Lymington, with shooting stars to guide us along the way as well !

We look forward to introducing you to another sail on board Salamander soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I went on a day trip to see the second day of the America's Cup World Series off Southsea. Sadly the wind was unfavourable so we could not sail but this luxurious motor sailer was perfectly happy just motoring.

There was a good supply of snacks and drinks throughout the day. The lunch was excellent - again served as a light meal/ hors d'ouvres for ease of eating on deck.

Chris anchored in an excellent position to watch the racing. Getting there early certainly paid off.

Throughout the day Sue and Chris looked after us wonderfully.

An excellent day.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Localityenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderAdventure, Owner at The Salamander Sailing Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Thanks for your review Localityenthusiast ! We are pleased you enjoyed the America's Cup and we agree getting there early paid off to be so close to the action. It was great to see Ben Ainslie go top of the leader board in front of his home crowd. We'll certainly try to arrange the wind a bit better for you next time so you can enjoy Salamander under full sail. We look to welcoming you on board again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews