We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and underrated!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leyland Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leyland Country House
Ranked #8 of 44 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic and underrated!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We had the barn and it was great, clean, modern but charming. The owners are lovely, the place is lovely, the surroundings are beautiful and the breakfast was great!!! Not a single thing to complain about.... We're staying here again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
What a star review. Please do come again! We look forward to welcoming you again to Leyland,
Liese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    43
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
155
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

A small B and B in Lymington. Good standard of accommodation with a lovely bathroom. Athoughthis isnt a Hotel you pay Hotel prices. In return you get good accommodation and a good breakfast.
What it does lack is the owners havent grasped that they are charging hotel prices and not always putting their customers first, The check in time is 5.00 and on the occassion we stayed we arrived at 5.00 on a cold wet evening only to find the property in darkness. Twenty minutes later the owner turned up and although I appreciate the reasons they gave for being out I did have to ask why they hadnt made alternative arrangements for someone to be there to greet us.
In winter the property is just too far out of Lymington to be able to walk to the town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Purple room a lovely room the only drawback it was directly below their sons bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review on Leyland Country House. We are always looking to improve our product so that our clients have the best time possible.

The night you arrived The New Forest was in the middle of the worst floods we have experienced for as long as anyone could remember. I was at the property until 4.45 pm and just popped out to pick up a client. The client was delayed due to the floods. I had left the front door unlocked so you could make yourself at home in the breakfast room if I got delayed, which I was not expecting. You said the door was open but you decided to wait in your car. We kept you waiting for exactly 13 minutes. What should have been a 5 minute pick up turned in to 25 minutes due to the adverse weather trying to assist another person!
I did apologise and tried very hard to make up for 13 minute wait. However nothing we did was acceptable. It is a shame but on occasions we just cannot please everyone no matter how hard we try. I am surprised given the weather you did not need a lift in Ben Ainsile boat!

We are priced very reasonably, you paid £68 per night for a double room, with an exceptional room with breakfast of Full English, smoked salmon, Omlettes, pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, fresh coffee, yoghurts and anything else you wished or wanted for as we do buy in special requests all the time. Here at Leyland Country House we offer full table service, everything is cooked from fresh and we use the best produce we can source. Our award winning Sway sausage is a National winner! You paid more in a chain pub for lunch with a bottle of wine!
We have only ever been a Bed and Breakfast. Many of our clients return again and again as they know we have very high standards and we try very hard to ensure we meet all your requests. I did reduce your bill by £20 which I really feel was unnecessary but out of good will and wishing for you to go 'away happy' we tried to redeem the 13 minute short coming!
Please do come again and as always you will find that unless it is an 'Act of God' their is always somebody here to greet and greet you and your guests.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've just recently returned from a long weekend in the new forest and had the pleasure of staying at Leyland country house. It is a very welcoming place with Liese and her team making us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The pink room that we stayed in was lovely and clean and was cleaned for us daily. The breakfast was also fantastic and made from naturally sourced ingredients. Leyland House is just a short walk away from the town centre and ideally located for walks in the lovely countryside. You can also use the swimming pool and sauna/steam room at the nearby McDonald hotel for a very small fee.
I would definitely recommend staying there and we'd definitely return. Rob & Karen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b_and_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi Ron and karen
Thank you for your delightful review, it was our pleasure to look after you and we are so pleased you had a lovely time
Liese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a lovely time at Leyland Country House when visiting Lymington for a friend's wedding. Leise and her family are very friendly and made us feel most welcome. The Purple Room is large and immaculate, beautifully designed I felt at house straight away. Breakfast was also excellent, made from local ingredients and we enjoyed chatting to Leise and the fellow guests. I definitely recommend this B&B for a relaxing stay in Lymington, much nicer than the Elmers Court Hotel down the road where the wedding was!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natty_noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Leyland Country House is a gem in the New Forest, the perfect B&B if you are looking for a classy, designer and comfortable B&B, where you can explore the beautiful New Forest regardless of the weather.
We arrived early, this is not a problem as we were able to put our bags in our room and were given our key, as well as given a map and shown where the main village shops of Lymington were.
Our party consisted of my wife, my four-year daughter and me. Yes this B&B does allow children and still retains its contemporary and designer feel. A perfect location for families wishing to visit Peppa Pig World, as we did.
Our room was the Purple Room; this had a large bathroom with a huge lovely shower, dressing gowns and slippers. The room was well decorated and well equipped with bottled water, coffee maker, magazines and even chocolates. Our bed was comfy and a fold out bed with a thick mattress was placed in the bay window for our daughter, which was perfect and still give us plenty of room.
The breakfast room is airy and homely, and with a fantastic choice of breakfast including fruit salad, yogurt, cereals, pancakes and full English, nothing is too much trouble for the owner of Leyland Country House.
Leyland Country House has been designed and decorated to a very high standard; it achieves a designer feel as well as homely, which is all down to the owner Liese and her family. The B&B does not only have rooms but also cottages for larger families. We will definitely be going back and hopefully have a longer stay and we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a fantastic week, great place to stay and explore the New Forest from. Our self catering cottage was clean and tidy and well equipped.
This is our second stay here and was as lovely as our first one, thankyou so much for another fantastic holiday, see you soon x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Leyland Country House is stylish and contemporary, comfortable and welcoming. We arrived after a day's sailing to a warm welcome from Liese and her family and the news that we had been upgraded to the Gold room which was bright and tastefully furnished with an extremely comfortable bed, pillows and duvet; it is however the little touches that turn an enjoyable stay into a 'must do again' like chocolates on the dresser, bath robes and slippers in the wardrobe and wonderful products in the bathroom not to mention the fabulous breakfast! We cannot recommend the Leyland Country House highly enough and are already looking forward to our next visit.
I am compelled to comment on the earlier review by ‘Disappointed’ who awarded a 1 or terrible rating despite a number of positives comments about the stay. This inaccurate rating unfairly skews the ratings for a hard working business and is potentially very damaging – I recommend you stay and make up your own mind – you will not be ‘Disappointed’!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leyland Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leyland Country House

Property: Leyland Country House
Address: Leyland Undershore, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leyland Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your host, Liese Cairnes, invites you to spend a truly sumptuous break in her highly contemporary and beautifully designed country bed and breakfast property in Lymington. Leyland's luxury bed and breakfast facilities afford its guests exceptional comfort and tranquility, whilst at the same time offering all the amenities of Lymington, which lies within easy walking distance of the B&B. Leyland offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with spacious en-suite or private bathrooms with luxury toiletries. Each of the individually designed bedrooms at Leyland have bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV/DVD, free Wi-Fi, and each room has a spacious en suite or private bathroom with luxury toiletries, comfortable bathrobes and slippers. Guests enjoy their freshly made full-English breakfasts in the newly renovated Breakfast Room overlooking the fields and trees beyond. All breakfasts are home-cooked and include handmade local sausages and organic barn eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leyland Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leyland Country House Hotel Lymington
Leyland Country House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing