We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great looking venue, poor service, food and attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayflower
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great looking venue, poor service, food and attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Have been coming here for years and never complained before even though the food has always been average. But having visited here today, I feel so angry and disgusted at both level of service we recieved and the way in which I was spoken to I feel I have no other choice! The food was terrible, cold, chewy slop! When I approached the Frenchman at the till to make a complaint he was arrogant and rude and dismissed me immediately refusing to even consider giving me a discount or refund.

Is it that as we are not of the yachting niche that we do not deserve the same treatment? Having looked at the previous comments on here I take solace in knowing we weren't the only people to be treated this way!

Sadly it seems that not enough people read these reviews as business still seems to be thriving at the Mayflower! I don't understand why.

We shall never return nor recommend this joke of a public house.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    27
    26
    18
See reviews for
61
96
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I love this venue. Great all year round and the live music on a Friday night is a lovely weekly event.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetolife298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed one night for a business trip to IOW. Wasn't made to feel at all welcome here. I think you need a yatch and talk with a plum in your mouth to be appreciated.
Generally looked un cared for with overflowing rubbish bins in the car park. The room was very dated and badly in need of new carpets and linen.
Breakfast was a very average affair with no fresh fruit offerred.
On the up side the steak I had in the evening was really, really good.
As they were charging £85 B+B I would have expected more, especially as they were clearly not busy. Very handy for the ferry, but then, so are alot of places.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

lovely setting but the food was not good very little choice
my husband had the sea bass and the sauce was to overpowering
expensive forwhat we had

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bashful111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here on 14/15th Sept '11. Booked 1 night initially and looked for a different place to stay for our 2nd night while we were bimbling around. Nothing else really matched up for the price in the town centre although the £85.00 per night was a little more than we had originally planned on spending. Did find a couple of other places but for only £5 cheaper so booked the second night here aswell to save the upheaval.
This place is in a good location by the Marina, 8 mins walk into the main hub (old town), has parking, lovely large rooms (about 6-7 I think) Seemed to be recently decorated and certainly no bad marks for service. The owners/managers are French but no croisants or pain aux chocolat at breakfast, we had a smashing full english brekky that was not only quality but nicely presented. Our 2nd evening we ate there and both had the same, (rump steak on sizzling skillet) which was cooked well, hot, plenty of other stuff and fries in a side bowl that were lovely and more than enough. We also asked for the stilton sauce and at £1.50 each thought we'd share a serving, the one bowl we had was enough for 3-4 people! (tasty but maybe a little thin).
Would prob stay again if in the area but it's not a cheap area to holiday as seems quite affluent and well to-do if you know what I mean. Lovely people though.

Room Tip: We only were shown two, both were fine, chose the cheaper room (other was 4-poster)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Nice looking place nice garden, ordered the food thinking it must be of good quality as the burgers were priced at £7.95 and a baguette peiced at £5.50 then things went down hill very quickly. My blt baguette was awful half stale bread cold stringy bacon with 1 slice of tomato and salad which was soaking wet all over plate soaking the bread. My wife and son had the burgers, very pink in middle slapped on bed of soaking wet salad again,very poor quality of food for those prices wished we had driven on to burger king! Did not complain just won't ever go again, Prezzo in high street twice the quality and twice the value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven9233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My partner and I confirmed two nights, a Saturday and Sunday night. The rate 85.00 per night for double with a full English Breakfast. We were in a double room overlooking the marina which was quite lovely. The value for money was good. The rooms were at first glance relatively clean and tidy. The only criticism I have for this part would be, that the bathroom which appeared fairly new, had significant mildew on the tile grout within the shower area. A little bleach and muscle would have taken care of that. Also, in and around the tub, were someone's (not ours) body hair. I needed to clean the tub area before using. The room provides a kettle and teapot with cups and saucers for making tea and coffee. I found both the kettle and teapot to be dirty and needed to be cleaned before we could use it and also the teapot was chipped and cracked at the spout. We found the staff to be attentive and curtious. The morning breakfast was very good and quite yummy. The location was very good as it was within walking distance to the marina and the town center full of shopping and eateries, if you fancied eating somewhere other than the hotel/pub. We did have one evening meal at the pub, our order was processed quickly and our meal was fine, good value for the money. I would recommend this property to others, and feel that the owners and staff do want to provide you with a lovely experience and will address any needs or concerns you may have and also to rectify them in a favorable way for all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikandDave2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.6 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower

Property: The Mayflower
Address: Kings Saltern Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the harbour of Lymington on the South Coast, The Mayflower is a stunning coastal inn which has superb dining and stylish rooms with seaside views. Our six bedrooms are beautifully finished, each with their own unique, comforting and contemporary twist. Sleep in the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen, bathe in beautiful Victorian roll-top baths and enjoy some down-time with a Nespresso while looking out over the Solent. Recently awarded a coveted AA Rosette, we pride ourselves in supporting all things British and all things local, so expect to dine on the finest ingredients that Hampshire and the beautiful South Coast have to offer. Our talented chefs have lovingly prepared a delicious menu, including beautiful seasonal dishes such as crab and lobster macaroni with spinach, morels and tarragon or Buffalo mozzarella, heirloom tomatoes, grilled pepper and basil bruschetta. With an extensive wine list, the best in class ales and a great selection of creative gin cocktails, we have something for everyone at The Mayflower. As a nation, we love to experience the outdoors with our food and drinks. Come summer time, our guests can enjoy our spacious garden, with a picture perfect coastal backdrop as far as the eye can see. The perfect location for al fresco dining. In the winter time, we have real log fires throughout the pub to keep you warm on the coldest of nights. We are conveniently located on the South Coast in Hampshire and are very near to the Isle of Wight and the New Forest - which are truly beautiful at any time of the year, and offer the best in sailing adventures, sightseeing and countryside pursuits. Whether it's a perfectly British Sunday lunch, a lazy afternoon in the garden with friends or a romantic getaway, make The Mayflower your destination of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mayflower Hotel Lymington
Mayflower Hotel Lymington
The Mayflower Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing