We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 5”
Review of The Monkey House

The Monkey House
Ranked #7 of 132 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Will and his team welcome you to The Monkey House, one of the last standing freehouses in the picturesque seaside town of Lymington. A family run pub and kitchen with rooms. In our cosy 18th century pub, enjoy delicious fresh food including traditional pub classics, seafood dishes and daily specials lovingly prepared by talented head chef Mark and his team. Pop down on a Sunday for our legendary roast - but be sure to book! Here at The Monkey House we take our drinks very seriously indeed. Proudly serving locally brewed real ales, ever changing keg and cask craft beers, and a meticulously selected wine and spirit list. Try a few tipples at the bar with brewer landlord Will, and his friendly team. We host talented live musicians from around the local area every Sunday evening, 8-10pm. Come and see off the week in style! We look forward to welcoming you to our family friendly pub, cheeky monkeys of all ages and dogs are welcome!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are visiting the New Forest as tourists and we were recommended this place by a friend...it did not disappoint...I had the monkfish wrapped in parma ham (one of the specials) and my wife had the fish curry. We both agreed, probably one of the best lunches we have ever had. Talented chef.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank beb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

expensive food just okay some of the food is brought in frozen instead of cooked from fresh ingredients.
staff are nice if you stay the night the road is extremely busy all night very noisy.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank jessica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We happened to be staying locally so called by to eat on the Saturday night but it was packed full. It looked lovely so we booked in for the next day. It didn’t disappoint. Lovely service and great food. Good atmosphere and, later on, some live music too. Starters were a standout for me, but all the food was good, ooh and the kids menu was impressive too. We would be regulars if we lived closer!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LondonRachM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

This is a real gem near the town of Lymington.
The room we had was clean/comfortable with a state of the art bathroom.
We ate here and the food was delicious and plentiful and looking at other plates coming out for other tables,seemingly all the meals looked fab.
Would massively recommend the fish sharing starter stacked with salmon and prawns

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

My boyfriend and I visited The Monkey House as we read the great reviews. The staff were very friendly and the food was amazing! Bit on the expensive side but definitely worth it for a great meal! The waitress also told us some bars to go to in Lymington.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MayaC1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monkey House also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Monkey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing