We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Trip!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Studio by the Sea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BomdiaMid...
Middx
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Trip!”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thank you Annabelle for making our stay at your idyllic studio so wonderful. The studio is situated just outside of Lymington and we took advantage of the little lane alongside the property that on foot, took you into town in just over 15 minutes. We looked forward to Annabelle's sumptuous breakfasts delivered to us each morning; freshly baked bread, pastries and local fruit and jams. The Studio has everything you could wish for a romantic break away. It's beautifully furnished and with extra touches including handmade soaps in the bathroom and water and milk in the fridge! It was the comfiest bed ever - never slept so well. We will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan L
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful studio in peaceful rural setting”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautifully presented studio cottage, with a large bedroom with very comfortable bed. There was ample space for luggage, and a table and chairs.The kitchenette was very well equipped, with a coffee machine, toaster and kettle; the fridge was stocked with milk and fruit. The Studio has been thoughtfully fitted out, and to a very high standard, with everything you would need but without any unnecessary clutter. Breakfast was delivered in a hamper - fresh fruit salad, juice and warm croissants in an insulated basket, which we enjoyed outside on the private terrace.
We were travelling to the Isle of Wight for a day trip, and this was an ideal location, being a few minutes drive from the ferry. There was a local pub with good food just a short walk from the property.
I really enjoyed the peaceful setting, it was an utterly relaxing break. Our hostess Annabelle was charming and helpful, she even baked us a loaf of bread for breakfast on the day we had an early start. We just stayed for 2 nights this time, but will definitely be back for a longer break. It is a very good location for both the Isle of Wight, and also for exploring the New Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The previous reviews have said it all.Everything about our two night stay was lovely.Annabelle was lovely,the studio was lovely, the superking bed was lovely and the breakfast was lovely! We had a great time and can't rate it highly enough. Would definitely stay again.Thank you Annabelle and Jon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, the pillows and the breakfast!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie E
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous, welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a last minute booking after reading previous wonderful reviews. Annabelle could not have been more welcoming even though we arrived well after normal time. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and had everything required - even a washing machine (we did not use as only staying 2 days). The bed was extremely comfortable, large towels provided, plenty of hot water and a good shower.
Annabelle's breakfast is already legendary judging by previous reviews and lived up to it's reputation. Warm pastries, toast, fresh fruits, Yeo Valley yogurts, locally made jam, butter, tea or coffee and all beautifully presented at a time to suit.
Lymington is interesting to visit. Dinner at the Waggon and Horses just down the hill was really good with wonderful service although menu is a bit limited.
Good wi-fi access at the Studio.
We can only endorse everything previously said - a lovely place to stay with a beautiful view and a wonderful host who is there if required but doesn't interfere and brings you a beautiful breakfast each day. Annabelle said "we're relaxed around here" and after a stay at the Studio you will be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Studio itself, Annabelle, breakfast, ease of driving into Lymington
Liked least: Turning across the bend when going in & out of property - other drivers take the bend too fast and you need to be extremely careful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron B
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely and comfortable place to spend a few days.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Would certainly consider staying at Studio by the Sea again. The Studio has been designed in good taste and is ideal for a comfortable break. The Studio is clean and we enjoyed sitting outside to eat the lovely breakfast whilst taking on the views of the Isle of Wight. Annabelle was extremely welcoming and was on had to offer advice on where to go etc if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“From a disabled perspective”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Not hard to find, but nearly missed the actual driveway as tucked off the main road. If you get to the pub "The Wallhampton Arms" then you should stop in the car park as "Studio by the sea" is literally a 3 minute walk. Your parking is in front of the double garage looking structure and is sign posted.

The main road is not paved so when venturing out by foot be careful not to get run over.

Upon arrival I phoned Annabelle and she was came out within a matter of minutes to hand us the key. We quickly settled in. Kitchen facilities as listed, they have a Tassimo coffee machine as well as a kettle, they do supply a variety of drink pods, but if usually have something specific you might like to take your own.

You can get a wheelchair through the door and there is plenty of turning space in the main room, you can get a wheelchair into the bathroom, but there is no turning space. Large shower but there are no grab rails. Annabelle did provided a rubber mat for the shower floor upon request.

The decking area was a nice inclusion and provided a peaceful environment with nice views. The bed was huge and very comfortable, there is a radiator which you can adjust for the more chilly nights.

We would have ideally like to be able to move the TV to a more comfortable viewing position, but we managed.

If you are a walker, I would recommend using Monument Road, which starts just between you and the pub and comes out at the bottom by the ferry terminal. For me it was a 45 minute walk, but I was taking it easy. Driving - it becomes less than a three minute drive.

There are a few take-aways that deliver that you can find on hungry house, but we did eat at the Wallhampton Arms as it is a carvery pub and the food was very nice. There is also the Wagon & Horses, which is more of a locals pub, but best to drive there as the roads aren't safe (no pavements).

Very enjoyable holiday, made to feel welcome but left in peace. Breakfast delivered every day included Toast, Croissants, Fruit, Yoghurt and coffee. Annabelle will need to be advised of what your bread requirements are (brown or white) as she makes it herself the night before.

If you like peace and quiet this is a good choice, we would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: no cooking facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerityCE
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic retreat, perfect host, even better than we could have wished for.”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the photos, the Studio by the Sea looked like the perfect place for a short break in the New Forest. In person, it was even better. Annabelle was a wonderful host who would go above and beyond for her guests. The Studio was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and in a fantastic location to wander around the New Forest, walk the streets of Lymington, or hop on a ferry to the Isle of Wight (which we did one evening for dinner).

Breakfast each morning was delicious, and we were lucky enough with the weather to eat outside and enjoy the view.

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, but we will definitely be back! Couldn't recommend more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing