We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, comfortable studio bedroom with great...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Studio by the Sea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom F
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic, comfortable studio bedroom with great breakfast!”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed with my girlfriend at the Studio by The Sea last weekend for a birthday weekend away and it really was excellent accommodation and service. The room itself is spacious, well laid out and very comfortable! Possibly the comfiest bed I have ever slept on and I will be in touch to find out where they got the mattress.

Fantastic little touches are everywhere, from the high quality and locally sourced soaps and bathroom products to the unlimited coffee and luxury tea bags and shortbreads that are in the kitchen.

Breakfast was exquisite, pastries, home-made bread, marmalades, jams and fruits and yoghurt all brought to your door in a hamper.

Annabelle was a great host, very welcoming and thoughtful but not intrusive in anyway. Easy walk to the town centre and marina, and close to good pub food.

Thoroughly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2014
Thanks very much and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. The mattress is John Lewis! Hope to see you both again soon. Best wishes Annabelle & Jon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFeakes
Stotfold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing...”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I can highly recommend Studio by the sea ​as a great place to stay. From the​ beautiful decor and amazingly comfortable bed, to the​ delicious​breakfast delivered to your door every morning, Studio by the Sea is on par with a 5 star hotel room - you​ really​could not ask for more​!​

Studio by the Sea has amazing views across the New Forest and is ​about a 15 minute walk to the Isle of wight ferry link​, ​which we took during our stay. ​We can also recommend a ​lovely pub ​called the Waggon & Horses, which is a short walk from the Studio, where we enjoyed an excellent meal with very attentive and friendly staff. ​

Annabelle and Jon made us feel very welcome​,​even before we arrived​! They took the trouble to check in​ with us​to ask if they could help with anything i.e. restaurants, spas, ferry​costs.​ ​During our stay we did a ​long walk on the Isle of White ​and ​had planned to order a takeaway ​to eat back at the Studio​ that evening​, unfortunately places​ in Lymington​do not deliver take out​s, so Annabelle kindly offered to drive us into Lymington later that evening to pick up some food​. It is things like this ​that for us ​really make Studio by the Sea so special​. Annabelle and Jon ​ really look after their guests.​ Thank you for having us and we will hopefully be back soon! Emma & Jess

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thanks Emma & Jess, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes Annabelle & Jon King.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catjsy
jersey, c.i.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect :)”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We travel regularly to Lymington but usually stay in a hotel in Southampton and commute. Found this place on Trip advisor and absolutely loved it! Annabelle is lovely, the studio is immaculate and done out exactly to our taste... The location is perfect for us and we absolutely loved the breakfast...Annabelle, your homemade bread and jam is to die for...thank you for making us feel so welcome....we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Shower was a bit dodgy!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel V
1 review
“Cosy, luxurious B&B in great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for a few nights and got great weather. Lovely B&B - separate to main building, very private, more of a studio flat and very friendly owner who laid on a great continental breakfast each day at a time of our choosing with home-squeezed OJ and fresh coffee, lovely. Recently refurbished so lovely décor and very comfy huge double bed and large modern shower (no bath though). We stayed in good weather and it is ideally situated for the IOW ferry / cycling / forest walks or sailing. All in all the best B&B we have tried (therefore the first trip advisor review I have ever done!)

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, big airy room and huge comfy bed!
Liked least: wireless was patchy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieK11...
1 review
“Lovely hospitality and very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Studio by the Sea for five nights. The studio was really comfortable and more than met our needs. The breakfasts, including homemade bread and jam and lots of fresh fruit, were excellent. We appreciated the flexibility the studio gave us - the small kitchenette was a great help. There was plenty of information provided about the local area and useful little extras such a torch and binoculars.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe C
Longhope, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the 'Studio by the Sea' during August and we couldn't have found a more idyllic B&B escape.

Firstly, Annabelle and her family could not be anymore welcoming. They provide you with local information and guidance, and are always on hand if the need arises, but they have created an atmosphere and set-up that allows you to have a private retreat.

The accommodation
The studio is separate to the main house, so although you get all the advantages of a B&B, you also benefit from being in a self contained unit. The aesthetic and decor of the place is beautiful, and caters for every need you might have, as well as offering extras such as local artisan soaps - all of which really sets this place above par. There is also an outdoor seating/dining area which has stunning views over the countryside, and towards the Isle of Wight.

The breakfast
Wow! Not only is this delivered at a time to suit you (up until 10am), but what is on offer is a delight. Everyday we were excited to receive our hamper and tray filled to the brim with fresh fruit, pastries, steaming coffee, freshly pressed OJ, and homemade bread (and many more delights). The icing on the cake was the lovely homemade jam, made from berries collected locally - my only regret being, that I was too shy to ask for the recipe.

Location
The location is perfect. In particular for me and my partner as we love both the countryside and being by the sea. We were able to access the New Forest easily with our bikes and to walk down to Lymington's centre. In addition, we were a stones throw from the Isle of Wight ferry, thus excursions (and meals if we had been more organised) over to island were simple. If you would like to travel further afield there are local taxis (kindly listed by Annnabelle in your welcome pack), or you are not far from the New Forest bus link. As a daily car commuter this was bliss for me, as the only time I had to sit in my car was when I arrived and departed, the latter being something neither us wanted to do.

Local recommendations
In our accommodation we found a welcome pack, which was extremely useful in making sure you got the most out of your stay. I would definitely recommend speaking to Annabelle regarding recommendations for restaurants - all of them were spot on. Please, please make sure you do this as soon as you book - I left some too late and they were booked up, and from looking a the menus I can see why. However, we were still very lucky to get reservations at a few and had some stunning meals.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely long review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon perhaps? Best wishes from the King Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorginaL...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were looking for our first break with our new daughter (14 weeks) and found Studio by the Sea. We love the New Forest and surrounding area and this was a great base. Just outside of Lymington, Studio by the Sea offers a really well put together accommodation...a lovely big bed, well decorated and some nice finishing touches. There is a nice place to sit outside with great views.
Annabelle was very welcoming and happy to give tips on getting around. She delivered a great breakfast which set our days up a treat!

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing