We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant.”
Review of Britannia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia House
Ranked #2 of 41 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed in 'The apartment' (see owner's website for details). Oh wow, what a treat. Everything was superb - the wonderful comfortable bed, the room(s) space, the decor, the cleanliness, the breakfast ... all of it. And Tobi really is the 'host with the most', a lovely man. This is probably the best "B and B" we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMPartialDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 338 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Found BH while checking out other hotels we normally stay at in the New Forest, I booked the 1 bed apartment as a birthday treat for my other half. Tobi organised me a bottle of Champagne for our arrival which I requested. Tobi is a great host and our stay was extremely comfortable. It is in an ideal location, 2 minutes walk from the harbour and Lymington river of which we took a boat trip on.

We'll certainly be back for another visit

Thanks Tobi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracknell_Taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights having booked online from Australia. On arrival Tobi was very welcoming and helpful. Our room (upstairs in the main house) was large, charmingly decorated with a large separate ensuite. Bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was superb, cooked by Tobi to order. If you like mushrooms, you will love Tobi's! Tobi took an interest in what we were doing without being intrusive and gave helpful advice on what to see and where to eat. We don't know if Britannia House is the best in Lymington because we haven't stayed anywhere else in this lovely town. But having stayed at Britannia House, we wouldn't bother trying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having visited twice last year we thought we would be on a safe bet to go back. We were not wrong. As before the place is clean, location is great, breakfast is freshly cooked in front of you and you can choose what you like. It has a real home from home feel about it, but with the luxury of not having to do anything for yourself. I especially like the eclectic mix of guest that you get to share breakfast with. We all eat together in the kitchen as Toby cooks so you get to meet people from all walks of life which is much more pleasing than some formal dining arrangement you might get elsewhere.
I am only disappointed I have to wait until next year to go again
Don't book this if you want minimalistic, charmless surroundings with no social interaction.
Do book this if you want interesting, charming, different.
Definitely book this if you are a lone traveller who wants to engage with others and feel comfortable so doing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the apartment which was well worth the extra. We were greeted by Tobi and he took our case to the room. The room was lovely even though the view was spoiled by the sea mist!. Breakfast was good.All in all our stay in a town we hadn't been to before was made perfect by the hotel. Very handy for the station and a quiet area despite a pub,shipyard and station nearby. Would stay again if we went to the area again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

When? One night, September 2013.
Why? A brief visit to the Scorpion RIBS factory (boat manufacturer).
Cost? Less than the published rate - a bargain in my view!
The room: clean, comfortable and spacious with a small en-suite shower/toilet.
In room facilities: fridge, tea/coffee, toiletries, free Wi-Fi, small TV.
The bed and bedding: clean and comfortable.
Breakfast: the food, excellent, served in a sociable environment.
Common areas: kitchen on the ground floor and a charming sitting room on the first floor.
Parking: adjoining the property.
Host: Tobi - very efficient and welcoming.

The décor of Britannia House (I stayed in the main house, not the overflow accommodation across the road) is , shall we say, 'non-standard' and will not therefore appeal to everyone. Likewise Tobi the host and owner, who for some may be regarded as slightly eccentric. However, if you are the type of person who prefers individuality and character the Britannia and Tobi are the perfect choice for short term accommodation in Lymington in my view and I will certainly return. Based on my one night stay I see no justification for negative reviews. Keep up the excellent work Tobi and enjoy your upcoming family holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent one night at this lovely B&B and will no doubt be back. The room and bathroom was very comfortable, clean, and spacious. Breakfast was freshly cooked and wholesome with a wide choice of options. The location is a great base to explore the town an harbour area. Staying here was an absolute pleasure !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,637 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leyland Country House
Leyland Country House
#6 of 41 in Lymington
259 reviews
0 mi away
The Bosun's Chair
The Bosun's Chair
#13 of 41 in Lymington
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia House

Address: Britannia House Station Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: $140 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic AA 4 Star Gold rated Britannia House offers some of the finest New Forest accommodation with a superb Lymington town centre location. Only 2 mins. walking distance to Lymington waterfront, Quay and High Street with numerous shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. All en-suite bedrooms are individually decorated to the highest standards and have the highest quality beds, mattresses, linen and fluffy towels. Prices are from £85 - £129 including a home cooked breakfast. The guest lounge on the first floor provides magnificent views over Lymington harbour and the Isle-of-Wight. There is on-site parking, free WiFi, and a friendly knowledgeable Host (Tobi) to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Britannia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia House Hotel Lymington
Britannia House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing