We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem !!!”
Review of Britannia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia House
Ranked #4 of 40 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a few days away in Lymington. We stayed at Britannia House which is nestled by the Marina area in the heart of the town but without being noisy. Its such a great location for all the restaurants and shops. Tobi looked after us brilliantly, caring for our every need. Our room had everything we could possibly require and more. We knew he used to work at The Chewton Glen nearby which is a beautiful 5 * hotel, so he brings with him the knowledge of what is required to make guests feel special. Thank you Tobi for our stay and all the best for 2013.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobi67, Manager at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Christine, I am so pleased to hear that you and your husband had a most enjoyable stay. I know it is difficult for you to get away from your business which like mine is a seven-day-a-week love affair. So, it is a great compliment to me that you chose to stay at Britannia House. Please come back soon "entertaining me" with your stories. All the best - your host in Lymington. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 338 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our second visit was just as good as the first. Lovely breakfast freshly cooked to order, really liked room, clean comfy and decorated with style. The large and comfy lounge was a perfect place to relax in. Perfect for a restful weekend away. Thanks Toby.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamb691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobi67, Manager at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

As relaxing and peaceful your stay was, Adam, as delightful it was for me to look after you again. Already looking forward to your third visit. Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I visited the Britannia House last month for our anniversary and it was the perfect getaway! The house is ideally located with off street parking near the train station and a 2 minute walk to both the Lymington High Street and Marina. Tobi was friendly, attentive to our every need, and made a great breakfast. The room was large with a king sized bed and very comfortable. The lounge was also very large with big picture windows looking out to the marina. I'm trying to think of anything I didn't like, but I can't recall any.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with king sized bed. The Britannia Room is on the second floor next to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've stayed at Tobi's guesthouse a few times now, and it's always the same. The rooms are superb, the hospitality is second to none, and the breakfast is always top class.
As long as Tobi has Britannia House, i will continue to stay there whenever I visit Lymington.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobi67, Owner at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

As long as I have guests like you, Dave, I will be at Britannia House until I am old and (maybe) wise... come back soon. Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked Britannia House for a family birthday celebration. We took the three rooms in the main building and we had full use of the lounge and kitchen so we could get together before going out for our meals on Friday and Saturday night. We all enjoyed the 'quirky' style of Britannia House and Tobi is a charming host who went out of his way to make the stay pleasurable.

Breakfast was massive and absolutely delicious. Tobi was more than happy to accommodate the scrambled egg, no egg, sunnyside down requirements of the party and it was all delivered to the table in a truly professional and friendly manner.

Would definitely recommend Britannia House, would have to agree with previous reviewer that the shower in Britannia en-suite was a bit feeble, but such a small criticism.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiEdenbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Northcotts, Country of Cornwall.The facilities and courtesy extended to us was first class. Brittania House is a very well situated for walks, long or short, access to the New Forest and surrounding towns and cities. Lymington itself has excellent eating establishments and pubs. the people are very friendly. Tobi was an excellent host and cooked a mean breakfast. We will definitely leave the Country of Cornwall again to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Britannia Room.No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found the Britannia King Size En-suite enchanting, together with the lounge and kitchen. The breakfasts were delicious and the host charming. We travelled by train and the station was so conveniently near. Our only criticism the shower was a bit feeble.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobi67, Owner at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Christine, A long last I manage to thank you for your short and wonderful praise. Looking forward to being your host hopefully some time again, may I assure you that the Britannia Bathroom has now been upgraded, including the shower. Yours Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,679 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#4 of 7 in Lymington
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
776 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Mill at Gordleton
0.2 mi away
The Angel & Blue Pig
The Angel & Blue Pig
#19 of 40 in Lymington
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia House

Address: Britannia House Station Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: $149 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic AA 4 Star Gold rated Britannia House offers some of the finest New Forest accommodation with a superb Lymington town centre location. Only 2 mins. walking distance to Lymington waterfront, Quay and High Street with numerous shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. All en-suite bedrooms are individually decorated to the highest standards and have the highest quality beds, mattresses, linen and fluffy towels. Prices are from £85 - £129 including a home cooked breakfast. The guest lounge on the first floor provides magnificent views over Lymington harbour and the Isle-of-Wight. There is on-site parking, free WiFi, and a friendly knowledgeable Host (Tobi) to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Britannia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia House Hotel Lymington
Britannia House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing