We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia House
Nearby Hotels
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
$161
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$250
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$296
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayflower(Lymington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
297
36
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
36
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost tobib bother gueststrain stationforest suitean excellent hostnew forestfirst floorcooks a great breakfastlarge kitchenthe main houseisle of wightwithin walking distancethe ground floortown centrebreakfast roomhigh street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 345 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our second visit was just as good as the first. Lovely breakfast freshly cooked to order, really liked room, clean comfy and decorated with style. The large and comfy lounge was a perfect place to relax in. Perfect for a restful weekend away. Thanks Toby.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamb691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobi67, Manager at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

As relaxing and peaceful your stay was, Adam, as delightful it was for me to look after you again. Already looking forward to your third visit. Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I visited the Britannia House last month for our anniversary and it was the perfect getaway! The house is ideally located with off street parking near the train station and a 2 minute walk to both the Lymington High Street and Marina. Tobi was friendly, attentive to our every need, and made a great breakfast. The room was large with a king sized bed and very comfortable. The lounge was also very large with big picture windows looking out to the marina. I'm trying to think of anything I didn't like, but I can't recall any.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with king sized bed. The Britannia Room is on the second floor next to the lounge and offers a private bath (with a large tub) and shower. The rest of the rooms are on the ground (or 1st) floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've stayed at Tobi's guesthouse a few times now, and it's always the same. The rooms are superb, the hospitality is second to none, and the breakfast is always top class.
As long as Tobi has Britannia House, i will continue to stay there whenever I visit Lymington.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobi67, Owner at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

As long as I have guests like you, Dave, I will be at Britannia House until I am old and (maybe) wise... come back soon. Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked Britannia House for a family birthday celebration. We took the three rooms in the main building and we had full use of the lounge and kitchen so we could get together before going out for our meals on Friday and Saturday night. We all enjoyed the 'quirky' style of Britannia House and Tobi is a charming host who went out of his way to make the stay pleasurable.

Breakfast was massive and absolutely delicious. Tobi was more than happy to accommodate the scrambled egg, no egg, sunnyside down requirements of the party and it was all delivered to the table in a truly professional and friendly manner.

Would definitely recommend Britannia House, would have to agree with previous reviewer that the shower in Britannia en-suite was a bit feeble, but such a small criticism.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiEdenbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Northcotts, Country of Cornwall.The facilities and courtesy extended to us was first class. Brittania House is a very well situated for walks, long or short, access to the New Forest and surrounding towns and cities. Lymington itself has excellent eating establishments and pubs. the people are very friendly. Tobi was an excellent host and cooked a mean breakfast. We will definitely leave the Country of Cornwall again to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Britannia Room.No problems.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews