We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky, unique and fabulous!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Albert Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
New Forest stream near Brockenhurst
New Forest resident
Lymington town quay.
Lymington River and marshes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn S
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky, unique and fabulous!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I have just enjoyed a few days break in Albert Cottage. What a find!
So peaceful and the accommodation is excellent. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Charlotte and Ben are delightful hosts ,,,
I hope to be back soon,, thanks again!

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveDK
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and tranquil”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

As grandparents looking after a one year old grandchild for a couple of nights, Albert Cottage met our needs almost perfectly. An excellent facility where we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfasts were particularly lovely. We had our own cot for the baby, and the late spring birdsong brightened the early mornings.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
956gab
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely quiet place to stay,”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Albert Cottage is a lovely quiet place to stay, the breakfast is good the room beautifully clean and warm. At this time of the year the garden is pretty and in the surrounding area there are alot of Azaleas and Rhodadendrons. We wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisha S
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay, friendly and welcoming owners, we will be back!”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Location is great, the owners of the cottage were so friendly and welcoming. We felt very at home, and the breakfast was just amazing every day. Sets you up for a nice long day in the New Forest.

The cottage is super clean, modern, a great size, comes with all the amenities you will need. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you once again and we would re-book in the future.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I stayed at Albert Cottage for a weekend, everything was great from start to finish. Booking online was so easy with a prompt response from Charlotte, the owner. All the reviews are spot on, the accommodation is ideal, freedom of a self catering apartment but with a delicious cooked breakfast delivered to the table. The cottage is spotlessly clean, lovely power shower with plenty of hot water, comfortable bed with great quality bedding, and peaceful surroundings for a perfect nights sleep. Ideal location for exploring the area, we will definetely return to Albert Cottage, thank you to Charlotte for being so friendly and welcoming, also for the delicious home made cookies.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob A
Fyfield, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and cosy”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great place to stay. Perfect balance of the benefits of a B&B crossed with the independence and freedom of self catering.
Charlotte is lovely. Attentive and friendly without being at all imposing. She strikes just the right balance of catering for your needs and letting you get on with your stay.
The breakfasts are outstanding. They literally arrived at 0900 on the dot steaming hot. Meaty sausages crispy bacon, sweet tomatoes fresh eggs, rustic bread and local honey. Perfectly cooked.
Charlotte obviously enjoys cooking as the brownies put out on our arrival were chocolate heaven.
The accommodation itself is quirky and cosy. It can get a little cold if the weather drops, but with a blanket and two heaters, quickly becomes cosy. LargeTV and fast internet mean you can watch netflix in the evening if you wanted to.
Bed is ver cosy. Literally didn't want to get out of it to have breakfast, but after a hot shower, glad I did.
Furnishings and fixings high quality and ver clean throughout. Relatively cheap to stay as well.
Overall an enjoyable and relaxed stay.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossydiva
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You won't find better!!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was our second stay at Albert Cottage, or simply "the garage" as we affectionately call it. It was just as good as the first time. Freshly baked heart shaped brownies for Valentines weekend were awaiting us when we arrived and the garage was just as we remembered. Cute, cosy and welcoming. The minute we settled on the sofa having a cup of tea and a delicious brownie, we asked ourselves why we had left it a whole year before returning.
The temperature can be easily controlled, the wifi is speedy, the bed is super comfy. We really cannot find fault with Albert Cottage.
The breakfast once again was superb!!! Local produce including honey and the most delicious homemade marmalade and berry conserve.
Charlotte is the perfect hostess. She remembered why we had been in the area for our last visit and I found that very thoughtful and exceptional. The whole family are warm and welcoming and we would like to thank them once again for their hospitality.
In short if you are looking for the perfect combination of privacy, comfort and luxury then look no further. You won't find better!

Date of stay: February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing