We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect chilled break”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia M
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect chilled break”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely few days spent on the yacht, we were blessed with good weather apart from one very wet day. The accommodation is lovely although very tight indeed but this added to the fun. Nick and Melissa were great and good communication from start to finish. The yacht club is great with an excellent shower block (it's easier than trying to use the one on the yacht). Lovely bar bistro, pricey but with great views and atmosphere. Altogether a great break.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.
Melissa an the Top-Notch team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect escape!”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the unique experience this getaway offers and felt we were made to feel very welcome with the friendly greeting. The boat was fantastic, beautifully presented and very comfortable with everything we needed for the weekend and more with the bubbly and hamper. We wanted nothing more than a quite relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we had even with the rain we thought it was fab! Thank you so very much and we hope to see you again in the near future! Allie & Adam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury feel.
Liked least: Nothing to not like!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review-Much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor G
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A taste of how the other half live!”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner & I had a fabulous 3 night weekend on Y-Knot in early November. The boat is georgeous & it felt like such a luxury to be on board. She's been fitted out and dressed beautifully and has everything you'll need for a short break away. It's a unique experience and a chance to get a little taste of how the other half live. Living/sleeping quarters are very comfortable but obviously compact - it is absolutely ideal for a couple in my opinion. The deck area is spacious and I can imagine is amazing in the summer months. As it was November the canopy was up for our stay but we opened up the back end when the sun shone. The rain was no drawback in our case - in fact we enjoyed a massive thunder storm with torrential rain battering down and we were snug as bugs inside. The galley/kitchen area is very compact as you would expect so I'd avoid attempting a Sunday roast but we managed quite easily with pizza, and cooked breakfasts. We ate out a fair bit anyway and there are a multitude of places to eat out in Lymington (under 10 minutes walk to The Mayflower and 15 minutes to The Crown - both great pubs with good food) including the marinas own Haven Restaurant and Bar.
We had a welcome bottle of bubbly & some Lindt chocolates (neither lasted very long!), and essentials like a pint of mild, cooking oil, tea/coffee are all provided.
We rate the weekend away on Y-Knot and Lymington in our top 3 weekends away ever (and we've had a few).
I've added photos to the Y-Knot FB page.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on board a boat and waking up to views of yachts/cruisers.
Liked least: Space is limited on a boat (and I like my space) so 3 nights was just about right for us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotnsweat...
Wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Different but fun with an exclisive upmarket feel”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Even though we decided to forgo our first night on the Y-Knot thanks to the last knockings of Hurricane Bertha, the rental company were kind enough in the circumstances to offer us an additional night on a future stay.
We were impressed on arrival to be shown everything we needed on the boat and had a chilled bubbly, chocolates, biscuits, crab nets for the kids etc.
Whilst we did not bother to remove any of the tonneaus due to the changeable weather, we were able to lift the fasteners and roll them up to create a big open space on the rear deck which was great for guests with evening drinks.
The foredeck or sun deck was covered with cushions to layout and sunbathe or read in the fairly long bursts of sunshine we did get. The kids again liked the access around the boat as well as the roof window up through our bedroom.
Everything on a boat is compact and bijou, like a floating caravan but there are little cubbie holes for nearly everything and children (and adults) will be mollified by the availability of wifi across the harbour.
Despite periodic rain, we really enjoyed the stay in Lymington Harbour. Familiar with the town and area, we knew places to eat but found many more, including the Haven restaurant in the harbour complex. We ate at the Ship Inn in town and at several other places including an Italian and a Prezzo's. All good.
Our kids loved staying on the boat. Their bedroom was under the rear deck and so lacked headroom but they did not care. Our bedroom was at the pointy end with enough offset to let the taller me have enough room.
The toilet was fine and had a shower but it was easier to use the shower block up by the security entrance from the car park. It was very well appointed and no echoes of ‘carry on camping’.
We had our bikes on the back of the boat so moving around the area was easy.
We went around but not in the large outside closed in seawater swimming area which had all different water-based activities going on. We got used to different noises in getting to sleep at night as well as the 8ft tidefall during the day and night and overall we had a great time, would recommend this to others and will definitely return.
No-one can be blamed for the weather and although it affected bits, it certainly did not spoil our holiday here before we moved on to another holiday park. However, I can see that this holiday would be improved by constant sunshine. Just a shame we missed some of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The different nature of a harbour holiday
Liked least: the weather!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TACake
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true experience!”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We didn't plan to book a weekend on a boat; we were looking for somewhere on the coast near Southampton and we found Y-Knot. What a great experience all round. From the pre-booking, the booking, the speed at which the owners responded to enquiries pre, during and post stay were fantastic. The set up for practical arrival arrangements were very clear and helpful too. The boat itself was great fun. A little bit of luxury beyond what I had expected even after reading the information before booking. The welcome package (we chose the fizz) was a nice touch and the chocolates were divine. A good-sized main bedroom and a spare double, a well-equipped kitchen (probably should say galley), seating area and the outside seating area was great too. We didn't cook a great deal on the boat but it's amazing what you can do with a two ring gas burner, oven and grill, sink and fridge (little ice box for your ice for your gin). We were unlucky with the weather so didn't make much use of the outside seating area but that didn't matter - the boat was very comfortable inside for a relaxing break (TVs too). The shower and toilet on board whilst compact was great (I'm fussy about these things) but my partner said that the shower/toilet block on the marina was great too. Everything on the boat was super clean too. There's a little shop within the marina complex for your essentials, free parking (if you've booked the boat) and the bar restaurant at the Marina has great reviews and seemed really busy (we had other plans but I regret not going). Lymington town was lovely to wander around too with lots of restaurants to try there. A great experience and glad that I'd booked this rather than a little cottage or hotel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of living on a boat for a couple of days!
Liked least: The rain! No-one to blame there!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Much appreciated comments! Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJLS
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury boat accommodation - without the waves!”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A 34foot Boat as your floating accommodation in Lymington Marina.
A novel idea with a very high level of quality and nice touches.
Nick was especially caring on check-in and to ensure we were warm and dry when the rain came.
I hope they do well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2014
Thank you for you review- As always much appreciated and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie T
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A 'safe' haven! So peaceful, just perfect.”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Absolutely perfect! Peaceful setting, excellent service/attention to detail. My compliments to Sarah who has dressed the boat throughout, Melissa, who does the hard work organising the bookings and the goodies you will find! And of course Nick for his customer relations. You make an absolutely brilliant team, Randy and I had a very peaceful few days, which is exactly what we wanted. Only moan is the fishing, we didn't catch any!, but who cares, we had fun. Thank you so much. Must also comment on your excellent safety signs! Being short I don't have a problem but I had a smile every time I looked at the signs
. Well done xxxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2014
Theirs nothing better than knowing our guests have had a wonderful time! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we really are thrilled you had such a lovely stay.
Hopefully see you again!
Melissa, Nick and Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing