We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastropub”

The Angel & Blue Pig
Ranked #33 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: $9 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We live in a lively and quintessentially British coastal town - it's the perfect home for The Angel & Blue Pig.Our name stands for what we believe in; tradition with a touch of intrigue. Until most recently the pub was called 'The Angel' - however since our refurbishment we have adopted the 'blue pig' to symbolise the changes we have made, which we hope enhance what we already had at The Angel.Our pub has been around (in one form or another) since the 13th Century offering accommodation for the weary traveller. Fast forward a few hundred years, our desire is similar; to offer a comfortable bed, homecooked food and a great range of drinks to all who visit us.Come and discover what we stand for, and enjoy a pint or two.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great gastropub”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal and service on a busy Friday evening with entertainment in the bar. Would definitely go back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach123P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
All off us here at The Angel and Blue pig would like to thank you for your feedback, we all strive to make our customers experience the very we possibly can. The Varity of food and the entertainment continue to improve!

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    175
    75
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were attracted into The Angel & Blue Pig by the log fire and a rest after a busy day of exploring the New Forest. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we stayed for dinner. We had a delicious meal and were very well looked after but the attentive staff. We were very impressed and would recommend the The Angel and Blue Pig for informal dining. I would love to return again in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Precipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A gastro pub with excellent food! Had the roast chicken and it was delicious soft and moist and served with proper chips not oven ones!! Nice atmosphere too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a nice restaurant with a cosy atmosphere. The staff were excellent, attentive and friendly. The food was great and the prices were excellent value for money. We can recommend the potato and puy lentil pie.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Saturday evening....”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have visited previously and found the drinks prices a bit steep. Walked in from home late afternoon along the sea wall and after protest and after...visiting The Ship for a pint, passing The Kings Head, which was full...ended up at The Angel and Blue Pig...look no further...wish we had bypassed the others!! Drinks prices sorted, food fab, surroundings excellent and wonderful staff...this is what Lymington needs, well done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squarerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel & Blue Pig also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Angel & Blue Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing