We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - and I usually think Wetherspoons is ok!”

The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #56 of 120 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family friendly pub and restaurant based in Lymington in the New Forest. Serving a wide range of meals including breakfasts, steaks, fish & chips with a full menu available from 8am until 11pm. We also have a lovely, dog friendly outside garden dining area.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go to the new Wetherspoons in Lymington with a friend for dinner, just to check out Lymingtons most controversial new addition. Now don't get me wrong - unlike many Lymington residents, I am not a Wetherspoons snob. I'm a student im Oxford and regularly go to the two Wetherspoons there - I've always been pleasantly surprised at the standard of the food given the price and therefore think quite well of Wetherspoons.

However, dinner at the the Six Bells was just an awful experience. The bar staff are pretty good, but the waiting staff are not great and pretty unfriendly, and whilst the decor has been nicely done, it was too loud and full of people drinking and shouting. The food was appalling - poorly presented, small portion and tasted disgusting. And it wasn't even that cheap - they've put their prices up, knowing they're in a well-off area, but you can eat much better for a similar price in Lymington.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank hopesprings12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Hopesprings,

It's nice to hear you are a frequent user of our pubs. Sorry to hear you are disappointed in your visit to us in Lymington. We have been working hard to train our staff and allow them to develop their customer service skills. On this occasion it sounds as if we didn't achieve the standards we set ourselves and I can only apologise for that.
KInd regards,

Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 422 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Its great to have a new pub in Lymington. Its cheap drink and cheap food you will always get what you pay for. At the moment i guess there is a massive hype on it being new and with all the press stuff about it , it was only going to be this way. Yeah the staff & management are young and some are a little slow its good to see local people being employed and they will get better in time BUT DON'T EXPECT TO BE SERVED QUICKLY. Weatherspoons policy is slow and steady i swear. The huge down fall on this place is there door staff and the so called challange 21. A huge number of underage drinkers and the short doorman with the crazy beard is jumped and rude. All i will say is try it and make up your own mind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for visiting us and for taking the time to give us some feedback. Apologies if you found the service slow at the bar, we have been getting extremely busy in the evenings. We are working at getting the staffing levels right for the trade.
Kind regards,
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A very busy first week since opening, and its been crowded on both occasions I've visited. The Bar and layout of the tills reminds me of an American fast food establishment. There's a wide range of beers. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, which is what you get when they have young Management in such places. This is very much a chain pub, and I think you will find better quality food within independent pubs in the town. I would have expected a better cut of beef than Silverside for the Sunday roast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and posting feedback. We have been busy since opening and I'm glad you liked the layout and decoration of the building.
While appreciating we are a Wetherspoon pub we strive to offer the customers of Lymington something individual and tailored to the town. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Seating limited,people ready to pounce for a seat,open kitchen which is good to see what's going on but the manager stood there over seeing everything,he was quite loud and when your trying to enjoy your lunch it was annoying,no one seemed to know what they had to do,even the manager.girl at bar was rude.food was overpriced,obviously because your in lymington! Chips greasy and small portion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank UkDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Apologies that our staff did not meet your expectaions. We welcome feedback, good and bad and will strive to be better next time. I have discussed the issues you have raised at our recent staff meeting and we endevour to learn from our mistakes.
Kind regards,
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cheap drinks, cheap food and watch out for the daily specials . Where else can you get ham egg and chips and a pint for 4 quid. Only negative so far is the chips never seem to be hot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Phillip P,

Thanks for the review, I'm pleased that you are happy with your visit to The Six Bells.

We are currently amending our cooking procedures which should eliminate the issues of chip temperatures.

Many thanks,

Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing