We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jewel in the New Forest”
other travelers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sue M
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jewel in the New Forest”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had 3 days at Defoe, a wonderfully warm welcome from Vanessa. Beautifully clean studio, fresh and neat. Yummy chocolate cake all ready on arrival, swiftly followed by a homemade loaf. Fridge stocked with fresh salmon, homemade jam and marmalade along with cream, milk and fresh juice. We were very spoilt, everything topped up daily. Lots of hot water, bed soft and so comfy. Vanessa and George very helpful with directions. Found lots of cycle tracks. Lovely village complete with 4 very friendly donkeys. Alfie and Gerald the dogs were sweet and playful. Only downside, we didn't book for longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you so much for your review and so glad you had a lovely stay with us. You certainly had lovely weather for your cycling trips. Looking forward to seeing you both next year. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan D
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the New Forest ”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We wanted something a little different from the usual places and boy did we find it.
A lovely b & b a couple of miles away from lymington and beaulieu.
It would have been a bit tricky to find if we hadn't been emailed a short video for the last quarter of a mile or so. Superb idea.
We could come and go as we pleased and Vanessa the owner was delightful.
Fantastic for a short break to unwind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Lovely to have met you both and so pleased that you had a few days to unwind here with us. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderful location, wonderful hosts, wonderful accommodation, wonderful breakfast. Good local pubs within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you and lovely to have met you both. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano r
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely stay in this sweet bed and breakfast. Vanessa couldn't have been more accommodating in making our stay comfortable, providing us with lots of homemade bread, shortbread, and cakes. We had a wonderful time. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your review and so pleased that you had a good stay with us. Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay s
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We would highly recommend Defoe b&b.
We had a very warm welcome from Vanessa who continued to make sure we had everything we needed during our stay and at the same time ensuring our privacy.The room is a generous size and very comfortable.Nice size bathroom and kichenette .Everything was spotlessly clean.The breakfast which is left in the fridge to have at your own convenience was of a very high quality,we specially enjoyed the smoked salmon and also the freshly baked bread and homemade cake.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the homemade bread and cakes. Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Defoe House for just one night over New Year but had a great time. There were 5 of us (2 adults and 3 children) which we knew was more than would usually stay but there was plenty of room for all of us. Vanessa was incredibly helpful, left us a well stocked fridge and the facilities of the accommodation are superb. It was very clean and catered for all of our needs. The walks on the forest nearby are great and Lymington is very close by. We really hope to visit again soon. Thank you...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your review. So lovely to have met you all and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially at such short notice. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser G
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable and cosy!”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

What a fantastic stay! The setting was lovely in a friendly little village and the guest room was perfect! The room was very tidy along with the kitchenette and bathroom and although the hosts were away that weekend, they really welcomed us with fresh fruit and breakfast supplies in the fridge. I definitely recommend Defoe House B&B and would love to stay again! Thanks for everything Vanessa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The room
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your review. So sorry that we weren't there to meet you, but delighted to hear that you had a great stay. Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing