We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out for a novice fisherman”
Review of Hermit Charters

Hermit Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owner/Skipper, Alan Brand and wife Carol have significant experience in the luxury end of the hospitality and catering industry, you are therefore guaranted a warm and friendly welcome. As our guest, we would like you to feel at home on YOUR boat for the day and enjoy your special occasion to the full which we will tailor to your specific requirements.A keen angler with over 30 years experience, your Skipper will be happy to share his knowledge and techniques of the sport and, with the assistance of modern fish finding technology, will hopefully find and catch some of the many local species, specialising in targeting Bass, Plaice, Black Bream and the infamous Needles Cod.Hermit 'Executive' Charters specialises in high quality motor cruising for the small party catering for all special occassions including; fishing trips, corporate entertaining, private parties, birthdays, anniversaries, stag/hen parties, Cowes Week entertaining plus much more. Also available for film work, other commercial work also considered. We welcome families with children, well behaved dogs also catered for, lifejackets provided!Hermit of Hythe is a beautiful Beneteau Antares 9.80 Flybridge Motor Cruiser equipped with many luxury fittings, for the keen angler she carries top quality Penn and Abu deep sea fishing gear whilst the saloon, flybridge and sundeck offers ample room for entertaining and relaxing
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A cold January morning does not sound like the best time to go fishing, being met at 7.30 by Alan with a hot pot of coffee soon warmed us up. The boat was not what I expected, it was much better! After a brief safety talk, we were on our way to the Needles at 20 knots.
Alan was the perfect host, we had an excellent full English Breakfast which would rival any hotel all whilst out at sea. The equipment, double squid bait was all included. We caught a few whiting as well which just added to a great day out. Excellent and would certainly book again. Michael.

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanbrand, Owner at Hermit Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Many thanks for the excellent feedback, glad you enjoyed my Full English Breakfast, I will be adding Black Pudding and Potato Scone for our next trip!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Two of us met by the skipper at 7 25 am in the middle of January at the Lymington Yacht Haven
may not sound very good unless you are a fisherman. Alan, we found was a cheerful fellow, (how can anyone be that cheerfull at that time of day ) not what we expected at all. In fact he was the most helpful skipper I have ever fished with. Nothing was too much trouble, with a bootomless coffee pot, a good breakfast, good quality fishing gear and a first class boat it was a thouroughly enjoyable day.
I for one would not hesitate to book again with Alan on his boat . Will.

Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanbrand, Owner at Hermit Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the trip, the early bird catches the Whiting!!! I am always cheerful at the prospect of going fishing, whatever the time of day, hope the fish and chips went down well :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Three of us, including my 15 year old son had a great day with Alan. His expert guidance helped us make the most of fishing from his excellent boat near the Needles, and the tackle he provided was first class
Being able to book the boat solely for our use was a big advantage, and great value for money compared with other bigger more expensive boats. I was particularly concerned about sea sickness, but Alan's advice was spot on, and I had my first sickness free trip
The cleanliness and quality finish of the boat added to the experience and we are looking forward to our next trip
Thanks Alan

Thank johnnysturrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanbrand, Owner at Hermit Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Many thanks for the excellent feedback, I am pleased that you valued the fact that Hermit can be booked for exclusive trips for small parties, this is our core business and I believe sets us apart from our competitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lymington Yacht Haven at 7:15 on a foggy January morning doesn't sound like the start of a fun-filled, highly enjoyable, day's fishing trip. But it was!
Met by owner/skipper Alan Brand with a cheery smile and a hot cuppa.
In no time we are cast off and cautiously making our way out to the Solent. Quite taxing on any day but especially so in the foggy darkness.
In the Solent the fog lifts a little and dawn breaks and we are soon off the Needles, anchored and ready to fish. All 4, relatively inexperienced, anglers are soon hauling in quality Whiting, the odd Dogfish, some Pouting and a baby Conger Eel.
After a break for our 'full English breakfast' provided by Alan in the luxurious saloon and with the tide flooding we turned our attention to those elusive Cod.
More Whiting came on board but, despite trying every tactic the Cod remained elusive.
Back to the Marina through some wonderful scenery and off home to try some Whiting for supper.
A most enjoyable day on a great boat with very friendly company and an excellent skipper.
Thanks again Alan.

Thank ernestwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanbrand, Owner at Hermit Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Ernest, it was a pleasure to have you back on board, sorry the Cod didn't play ball however we all had some nice Whiting for the pot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

just to say all of all of the equipment . ie rods . reels.end tackle and bait were all first class , alan is also a very friendly , helpful and knowledgeable skipper .to whom nothing was too much trouble or a problem. hope to go again soon

Thank 13peter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanbrand, Owner at Hermit Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Many thanks for the excelent feedback, we are pleased that you value the quality of our fishing tackle on board. I believe that this is an important part of the all-inclusive package that we offer our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermit Charters also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Hermit Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing