We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My daughter and I have just returned from two nights B&B at Elmers Court. We had fantastic weather and a really great time. Apart from a blip in service on Sunday morning at breakfast - tables were not cleared and laid up which entailed three different parties having to wait for some time and even then staff were not addressing the problem with any apparent urgency - it was a really enjoyable stay. Monday morning breakfast was a totally different experience so it seemed there had been a staffing issue on our first morning. All members of staff we encountered were extremely courteous and pleasant, check in and out was very efficient, and all in all everyone was extremely helpful. The outdoor pool was warm enough and very clean.
Each evening we took the two minute train ride from Lymington Pier, just a few minutes walk from the hotel, into Lymington itself which saved a 25/30 minute walk each way. One drawback was that the last train left the town at 22.07 but the Sails bar was still open and we were able to enjoy a late night drink there. We would recommend The Ship Inn on the Quay for food and drink and take out fish and chips from the High Street. The New Forest Open top bus tour was also well worth doing - £9 each. We stopped off in Beaulieu and walked from there to Bucklers Hard and back (allow a couple of hours) or there is the motor museum or Exbury Gardens, neither of which we had time to do. Tea at The Thatched Cottage in Brockenhurst was also very much appreciated. All in all a great weekend and a hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    471
    265
    140
    68
See reviews for
424
721
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent 5-night DBB stay at Macdonald’s Elmers Court. Our room, an ‘Executive Zip’, was clean, comfortable, and well appointed, with a useful fridge and sink area. The grounds are attractive, well maintained, and obviously enjoyed by guests of all ages. The food on offer in the Waterford restaurant was excellent, particularly for a hotel. The restaurant manager and her staff are pleasant without being intrusive and are well informed about their food and wine. We took breakfast in our room each day which was fine once we had discovered the secret of getting our order card reliably into the system; hand it in to reception. My wife received a manicure and massage in the spa finding the staff skilled and helpful. However, the treatment area is rather dismal with no natural light and is not easily accessible for clients with mobility difficulties, being located at the bottom of a substantial flight of stairs. Parking for hotel guests was just about adequate as a large number of spaces are reserved for other users of the site. We could only see two dedicated spaces for ‘blue badge’ drivers. Would the hotel manager consider converting his reserved parking space next to the main entrance into a blue badge space?
At checkout we identified that a charge of over one hundred pounds had been mistakenly added to our bill. The receptionist did apologise and corrected the error after we pointed it out. As in any hotel, remember what you sign for and check your bill.
We will stay at Elmers Court again and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We enjoyed a 3 day break at Elmers Court at the beginning of December 2008, a little late posting the review although I have had it saved on the pc a while! What reminded me is that we are considering a further stay! For the Dec stay we obtained an excellent rate via the hotels website of £49 per room per night, bed & breakfast.

We were a little confused at check in – arriving to check in at 2pm but were advised check in was 3pm. I accepted this and assumed I had misread the booking information but when I did in fact check my receipt the 2pm check in time was correct. It wasn’t a huge issue; we left our bags behind reception and drove into Lymington.

ROOM
As others have commented, the set up is a little strange in that you have a very old country home although most of the hotel rooms are in chalet looking accommodation away from the main building. The site also has timeshare and self catering accommodation. We expected to be allocated a chalet type rooms and had no issues with these. A little chintzy (for our taste) in design but of a good size, well furnished and with all the amenities needed. Others have mentioned rooms being cold, but we didn’t have a problem.

HOTEL FACILITES
The hotel has an excellent leisure complex – we didn’t use the pool or gym but did use the squash court twice in our 3 day stay. The floor on the court was a little ‘dead’ but as most hotels don’t have squash courts we were happy to accept anything!
We didn’t get the opportunity to walk around the grounds - a combination of being out most of the day and some rain of an evening, but in the better weather this would be recommended.

FOOD
Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the staff very attentive and friendly. There was a good buffet style option (cereals, fruits, breads, cheeses etc) with the ‘full English’ cooked to order. The breakfast is probably one of the best we have experienced in the UK.
We didn’t use the hotel restaurants – there is a formal a la carte restaurant and also ‘Sails’ which is a bar and restaurant (and also where breakfast is served). The restaurant was closed (or stopped servicing food at around 6.30 for 2 of our 3 nights).

LOCAL
We ate in Lymington – Prezzo (Italian - good food & excellent service), Rivaaz (Indian –very good food & service), Lal Quilla (ok food & service).
We walked to and from Lymington on all 3 nights we stayed – the walk was around 30 minutes or so each way. A torch is recommended for the last part of the walk (from the ferry terminal to the hotel) as there are no street lights. There is a train station just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel (at the ferry terminal) but we didn’t use as the first night we planned this trains were replaced by a bus due to engineering works. The bus / training stops at the bottom of Lymington High Street, so it’s still around 10 walk to get to the restaurants (Rivaaz) at the top of the high street.
We visited the Isle of Wight as foot passengers on the Wight Link Ferry (£10.50 each) – if you are planning to take the car, book the day in advance (booking on the day costs around £46 whereas booking the day before is only £32).
Although we visited in December and the weather was very cold in the day time it was dry so we managed a number of walks, including a 10 mile walk passing Bucklands Hard to Beaulieu. Another option may be to drive to Bucklands Hard and just walk to Bealieu and back (about 3-4 miles return).

Overall, for the price paid would be more than happy to stop here again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Thank you for your trip advisor comment, it is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback, and we are pleased that you are considering visiting us again.

We apologise about the confusion over check in times. We are aware that different websites may have given out the arrival time as being 2pm, we will check with our agents that the mistakes are rectified to ensure of no reoccurrence.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Although initially disappointed to be allocated one of the more modern, chalet-style rooms, the rest of the stay did not disappoint. The restaurant was elegant and the meal excellent - try the mussels, they were gorgeous! I do not remember what wine we had but it too was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would stay there again, though next time I would request a room located inside the main building of the hotel, as there was some noise from people passing by the chalets on the outside. (Also, if you arrive by train, make sure you contact the hotel in advance to arrange a taxi pick-up, as it is far enough from the station that walking with suitcases isn't recommended.)

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on the Trip Advisor website, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Our new menu in the Sails Brassiere which even has an Early Bird selection, and our New Table D’Hote & A La Carte Menus in the Waterford Fine Dinning Restaurant are all receiving some great reviews, and we are so pleased that you too enjoyed them.

Elmers Court Hotel bedrooms are situated in the courtyard area adjacent to the main Manor House.

The Lymington Pier station is situated about 200 yards from the hotel, and taxi can be booked directly or through the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford-on-avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Spacious room,spotlessly clean, friendly and effiicient staff, excellent facilities. Only used restaurant for breakfast which was very good and the poolside snacks were also nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyfammington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback on the Trip Advisor website. The poolside menu is certainly proving to be a very popular choice, served most days and offering a good range of top quality barbecue food, guests really seem to be enjoying it.

Our housekeeping staff pride themselves in the high level of service they offer in the bedrooms and we are so pleased that this has been noticed.

Once again I want to thank you for your positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a short stay at Elmers Court hotel where we had booked a couple of nights in a standard double room with breakfast. We were delighted with our experience.

Our standard ensuite room was clean and comfortable, providing an iron and ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, TV, 2 comfortable chairs and a desk and a very comfortable bed. We were also delighted to have a veranda outside our room which overlooked the garden and main building. We used our own camp chairs and enjoyed what was quite a sun-trap.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and overlook the estaury, with views across the river and boats moored at Lymington. We visited the leisure centre on site, which was excellent. The outdoor pool, which is heated, was not yet available for residents' use but looks amazing. The area is beautiful.

The staff were courteous and friendly and the breakfasts were excellent.

Our only negative comments would be that we were able to hear someone on the phone in the next room to ours so maybe the soundproofing between rooms could be better, but then the person seemed to be talking very loudly. Also, we were not very impressed with the menu at Sails restaurant (price and quality of the food served).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukeyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Thank you, for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to read when people see the good things we offer.

Sound proofing is always very difficult and everything that can be done is being done to improve this, as for the Sails menu, this is just about to be changed, and we think that the new menu far out shines the previous one.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed at Elmers Court for a weekend and was pleasantly surprised.

We arrived at about 7:30pm on the Friday and walked to the main reception, where the receptionist was polite and helpful. We went to our room and was surprised at how big it was, although do think the decor was rather dated. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless (We were in the newer block).

In terms of car parking, it was touch and go a couple of times as to whether we got a space as it was quite full on Friday night, so I would reccomend getting there at a decent time if you are driving.

We ate at 'Sails' and despite a nice waiter, the service was rather slow and I didn't get any kethcup, despite asking 2 different waiters! The meal wasn't amazing, but it was edible and tasted fine - however the mood went down hill when a live 'band' started. They weren't awful, however the singer was SO loud we couldn't hear ourselves talk and had to shout, even though were were less than 0.5 meters apart. It gave me a really bad headache so we left as soon as possible which was a shame as it was quite quiet and we would have liked to have stayed for a drink afterwards.

I had booked myself in at the Spa on Saturday morning and was very glad I did. I had a very nice Spa therapist and thought she performed the treatments very professionally. The only minor point was entering the Spa, as all 3 therapists were talking in reception and shut up as soon as I walked in and looked at me, it felt like I was back at school and all the 'cool' kids were just staring at me, so that was slightly daunting...

We went to the Otter Sanctuary and Beaulieu during the day, both were in easy driving distance of the hotel and the otter sanctuary was well worth a visit, a photographers dream.

Saturday night, we booked the Local Italian resturaunt (Piccolo Mondo in Lymington), but having arrived 5 mins early and got told to come back in 15 mins as they were far too busy, we decided to wander down the road and found a really nice Thai restaraunt (Brittania Thai) which was AMAZING. It was much bigger and the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite (unlike the bloke at the Italian restaraunt) so can reccomend it, the food was excellent.

We had a lovely time at Elmers Court and I would return, however wouldn't pay more than about £50-£60 a night. The bed was comfy, however it was slightly annoying having only 4 TV channels and the internet, as in most hotels, was a rip off - so I would suggest using your USB modem if you have work to do and want to access the internet unless you wish to pay a lot of money.

It was clean and it was peaceful - hardly any noise at all, so if you want a comfy room that's secure and peaceful, I would reccomend it. There were just one or two 'niggles' (e.g. the awful noise in the restaraunt on Friday and the slow service) which is why I wouldn't give it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Thank you, for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on Trip Advisor. The Elmers Court has spent a lot of time working to get things right so it’s great to hear that on the whole this has been achieved.

The ‘Sails’ live music is something we have been trying for a little while now, and we are aware that on occasions the volume has crept a bit high, this has now been dealt with.

I am glad that the Spa treatment was so good, and I am sorry if the staff did not come over as welcoming when you came in, I am sure that was not their intention.

The internet is operated by T-mobile and we host it, but unfortunately do not have any control of the pricing of it. The company is currently looking into the possibility of free internet access in the hotel bedrooms.
The TV we agree needs work and the planned re-fit of the rooms we hope will include new TV systems as well.

Once again I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
413 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,537 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing