We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding !!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Have just spent the weekend at the hotel and had a great time. The staff were very professional and v helpful - lovely touches - like carry glasses to table and asking by your name how your day has been - faultless . The food was out of this world - the best steak I have had . The rooms could do with a bit of TLC hence the four star rating - but only small improvements like the grout to be updated in the bathroom. This is a shame when the staff and food are out of this world. You should be very proud of your staff and congratulate them on the outstanding service. Spend some money on small improvements to your rooms and you will have a award winning hotel on your hands . Thank you and we will be back .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigvern2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review left on the Trip Advisor website. It is great for the team to read such positive comments regarding the food and quality of service as they work so hard at exceeding customer expectations and they would like to thank you in return.
I am sorry if your room was not up to our usual standards and I can assure you that we are constantly working at improving and maintaining our property including our bathrooms grouting and sealant. I also check bedrooms everyday to ensure that our House Keeping list is actioned by our maintenance team.
We really look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    472
    265
    140
    68
See reviews for
425
721
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Sam and the team looked after our party of 29 to a very high standard. The private function room was a perfect setting and all the staff very accommodating to our needs.
Our room was perfect, a very high standard of furnishings and nice extra touches.
The restaurant staff at lunch and breakfast were very attentive but I have to say the twins led to confusion for us ;-). Breakfast was good, with a variety of choices. (unlike 'Bramfaces' comments we could not fault it).

We would definitely recommend as a venue and will use the Sportsbar for lunch when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWoodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments left on the trip advisor website. I have forwarded your feedback to the team especially Natalie and Christine (the twins) which are both gems!!
Thank you for recommending our venue and we hope to see you back at the Resort very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Save yourself a lot of money and go to the travelodge, it will be better. Outdated decor, terrible breakfast (gruel for porridge and uncooked meat for mains, yogurt was safe though), dinner was double the price it should have been, two single beds attached together to make a double were uncomfy, thin walls so you hear your neighbours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bramface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback shared on trip advisor. I was so sorry to read your comments and learn of your disappointment with your stay.
I was also really surprised of your feedback as this week end the Resort was full and we did not get any guest dissatisfaction reported, if you were disappointed with so many aspect of your stay we would have been pleased to be informed of it and given an opportunity to rectify this situation for you.
I appreciate and take onboard your feedback however I have to disagree with the comparison to Travel Lodge. Although there are nothing wrong with the accommodation provided by the Travel Lodge group I do think we provide a very different product, our location is by the side of the Solent with 23 hectares of grounds, fully equipped leisure centre with fully equipped gym, 15 meters indoor heated pool with Steam room and Sauna as well as a Spa, 2 Restaurants and more facilities which are all advertised on our Website.
Again as we serve so many breakfasts and get so much positive feedback if you made us aware of your issues we would have rectified this immediately and take action to ensure of no further guest’s disappointment.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be delighted to discuss your comments further.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our overall experience was fantastic. We won an overnight stay at the hotel but even for free it exceeded our expectations.

The reception staff were very helpful friendly on arrival and throughout our visit. The room was exceptional, accommodating all our needs. It was clean and tidy, and the bed was huge. The staff had written us a welcome letter which was a nice personal touch. Amenities included, fresh fruit, bottle water, robes, tea and coffee facilities, shortbread and toiletries were very nice.

The leisure centre was very good, providing use of the gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room. We had treatments in the spa which was very centered to our needs. My only disappointment were no extra 'experience' rooms.

Our only way to describe the food was incredible. We had our dinner at the Waterford Restaurant. We had a 3 course meal which was perfect. The waiting staff were very friendly and polite. The bar had a good selection of drinks to chose from, at reasonable prices.

We had breakfast included in our prize at the Scottish Steak Club. The set price for breakfast was around £18 which we wouldn't pay for what was included. You had a choice of full English or porridge and a buffet with meats,cheeses and cereals

We booked afternoon tea for our second day at the hotel. This included sandwiches, cakes and freshly made scones whilst we overlooked the gardens. We were served by a very polite and friendly waiter called Colm.

Our stay was near enough perfect and we plan to return in the future, recommending this hotel to everyone looking to stay here.

Thanks very much Elmers Court for a lovely weekend! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyStudley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review posted on the trip advisor. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay. Thank you for reviewing all of our amenities especially our Scottish Steak Club and great afternoon teas served in our Manor House overlooking the Solent and Queen Mary lawns. I have shared your feedback with our entire team and they would like to thank you for your kind words especially Colm.
We all look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived expecting a relaxing environment but actually it was a leisure centre- chlorine smelling, hard chairs, the sauna and steam were okay but the jacuzzi was stone cold! We moved our massages forward an hour due to are disappointment. In fairness the massages were lovely - had they not been I could have complained. £100 down the drain really, could have just gone for massages and saved £40! Disappointing as it was a treat for my boyfriends birthday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J88jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback shared on trip advisor. Thank you for your great comments regading the quality of your massage on the day. I am sorry that we could not match you expectations on that day.
I was surprised that you did not comments on the great afternoon tea which was served to you at the value of £12.95 each with the leisure club day passes £15 each with treatments at a minimum of £40 each and 2 per person included this brings the value to your Spa afternoon to £215.90 all for the sum of £118 for 2 persons.
As a majority of guests on this website I would like to comment on the great facilities we provide including the pool which I agree is chlorinated as are the majority of Spa pools.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your feedback further and I would be delighted to listen to your concerns.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just back from this hotel, one of the best weekend breaks we've had in a long time, food was fantastic, one particular Irish waiter was great fun and could not do enough for us and my daughter who was 5 during the stay was made to feel special. We had a room on a lower level in one of the cottages with a large double bed and bunk beds, very clean and spacious. The breakfast was also excellent, with a large choice and freshly made cooked breakfast. The facilities are great, really nice inside swimming pool, with sauna and steam room , we also played table tennis, squash and pool, slightly too wet to try the tennis courts but we did use the small kids playground area, the grounds are lovely with an outside pool which must be great in the summer. We walked into Lymington during the stay which took roughly 25mins. At night we relaxed in both bar areas, the lounge area in the great house is nice and cosy with a big open fire, the other sports type bar shows Sky Sports and has board games available to play. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-Wrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such rewarding review placed on the trip advisor website. I have shared your feedback with our entire team especially Colm who is such a popular character with our guests.
It was great to read that you really enjoyed your dinning experience in our Waterford Fine dinning restaurant.
We really look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The wife and I have just had a great weekend stay at this hotel. The place was packed out, which is quite something given that it was a rather dreary winter weekend going on outside. However, the convenient location, the heritage character of the site, the modern facilities, the good value for money, attention to detail and friendliness of the staff all help explain the success of the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review placed on Trip advisor. It was great to read that on we were able to exceed your expectations. I have forwarded your feedback to the team and they thank you in return for such kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
417 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,539 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,590 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing