We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kettering
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Family Break”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in March, the weather was terrible but not much you can do about that, I'm sure it would be lovely in the summer! We got a deal through Hoseasons, which made it very good value for 3 of us for 4 nights. We had a lovely big apartment in the main house, 2 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen area, one bathroom and one en-suite. The staff were very accommodating and moved us from the first room they took us to, as it was on 2 levels with a staircase, which we didn't think was safe for our 2 year old.
We used the pool pretty much every day, didn't use the gym or any other facilities however. We went to the bar a couple of times, just for drinks, prices are the usual slilghtly on the high side you'd expect in a hotel.
It is a great base for exploring the New Forest. Southampton is not too far away either, great for shopping on a rainy day.
The only couple of negative comments I can think of are around the additional charge for electricity. We spent most of our stay turning things off, making sure we didn't turn too many lights on etc, as we were unsure how much we would be charged! In the end I think we paid about £15, so not too expensive at all! It would be good to get a rough guide of how much the electricity charge is, or maybe an update during your stay. Also our appartment was directly above the entrance and reception, there is a very big old heavy front door, which shook the apartment when slammed, especially annoying in the middle of the night! I did mention it to the reception staff when we left, they said they would look in to it so maybe it has been remedied by now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWestleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments left on trip advisor. I was pleased to read that you had a very good stay with us and found our team to be very accommodating. Thank you also for your constructive feedback, we do advertise the average weekly spend on energy for our time share and rental apartments on Saturdays check in and I will discuss this matter with our team to look at different ways of informing guests of the average consumption. Regarding the main manor house door we have made some small adjustment and we have not had further comments on the inconvenience caused.
I look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    481
    272
    148
    80
See reviews for
438
735
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Views across the Solent, rooms like private chalets, grounds to wander around with shady seats to read & while the day away. Two restaurants/bars one old world atmosphere steeped in tradition, other functional open plan. Good service, great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website. I was really please to read that you had a great stay at the Resort and I would like to thank you for choosing Elmers Court for your break.
We all look forward to your return, hopefully very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Double check what you are getting before you book. We knew we were not staying in the hotel shown in brochure but did not expect holiday CAMP style accommodation. We were given a very dark tired and not very clean ground floor room. Only one light bulb worked in the wall light fitting. The toilet seat was badly stained. The worse part was a connecting door to the next room only a few feet away from the bed. Very noisy people In the next room you can hear every word spoken. We asked to be moved but this was not possible so checked out resulting in a waste of money and a ruined three day breakup

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Resort. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the type of accommodation provided however description on website and all literature as well as part of our Reservation script is “accommodation is in his own courtyard, a minute walk away from the Manor House”. Pictures of the accommodation are also available on the website as well as other websites we work closely with such as Tripadvisor. I was surprised to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room as our cleanliness standards are always complimented on by our guests.
I can assure you that we are dedicated to our guest comfort and if you would liked to share your feedback in a more detailed manner please contact me directly.
I will then be able to action your feedback to ensure of no further guests disappointment.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel with my wife who I took for our 20th wedding anniversary. I wanted somewhere special and this hotel ticked all the boxes. The location is magnificent and the amenities at the hotel are first class, whether you are a couple or a family with young children the hotel is very accommodating and caters for everyone. We stayed in a Classic double room and it was lovely and airy and very clean and we loved the chalet style rooms as you could open the patio doors and enjoy the beautiful weather. The staff cannot do enough for you, all very polite and efficient in their jobs. The breakfast is to die for! It is made to order, best black pudding I have ever tasted!
The hotel is very quiet and tranquil, with its many facilities from swimming to a fully equipped Gym the hotel has something for everyone, even includes a children's playground, tennis courts and a golf course.
Book this hotel, I doubt you will be disappointed?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
A great thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. I was so pleased to read that we made your 20th anniversary such as special one. Thank you also for the great description of our Resort.I have personally fed your comments back to the team as this is such a great team morale booster especially in this busy season when they work so hard.
I sincerely hope to welcome you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just had our wedding at Elmers court 10 days ago & it was an amazing day in all respects. Excellent planning & organisation from the friendly & professional hotel staff in the run up and on the day itself. Particular thanks to Kirsty Bull our Wedding coordinator who helped the day to run smoothly and stress-free, allowing us to enjoy the day with family & friends. I stayed in the Bridal suite which was spacious, comfortable and feels special & private as its in a self-contained raised apartment unit.
The gardens are its best feature with a lovely fountain, veranda and sea-views. We were lucky enough with the sunny weather to have our ceremony & reception outdoors by the columns. Guests were commenting all day on how lovely the venue & gardens were. The Ballroom and music bar where the wedding meal and drinks were held are both impressive rooms with exclusive use for the wedding party- with high ceilings, grand fireplaces and lovely views to the gardens. I would definitely recommend Elmers Court for a wedding, a visit or a break in the New Forest. We were very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saragame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the review you placed on the trip advisor website. We feel very privilege that you had chosen Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel to celebrate such a special event. I have personally shared your feedback with the team especially Kirsty as this is such a great boost to team morale. On behalf of the team thank you again for choosing Elmers Court.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were a bit worried when we saw some of the reviews about self catering apartments but all I can say is that we were very impressed with our stay. You have the main house which is beautiful plus two storey buildings to the rear where the main guest rooms are. Rooms are accessed from outside and the first floor rooms are up timber steps and have small balcony areas out at front. I would go for a first floor room. We stayed in room 25a and room 1. Room 1 had a separate small room with bunk beds and flat screen tv for the kids - they loved it. Overall room standards - very good indeed - Room 1 is best of the two in our view. The hotel is very clean and well looked after. Great outdoor pool, indoor pool - open long hours which was great for our kids that always wanted to go swimming whenever they liked, good gym, tennis courts, outdoor drafts game, putting (grass could do with being a bit shorter), kids play area - away from the hotel etc etc. Great setting right next door to Lymington and the hotel faces down a long garden down to the water. You will not be disappointed here. Did not use the spa.

Room Tip: First floor rooms out of the main hotel in our view are best. Room one if you have children (no more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeee444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and how much you enjoyed our facilities and all the different options we have on offer for our guests.
We, hopefully will be welcoming you back very shortly.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Elmers Court Hotel in Lymington was just the perfect location, very quiet and relaxing. The staff were very friendly and most helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. The food was excellent maybe they could have varied the menu a bit more than they did.
The ferry terminal for The Isle of Wight was five minutes walk from the hotel it cost £13 each person as a foot passenger well worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybird2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guest’s expectations. I have shared your feedback with our Head Chef and I have asked him to try to diversify his Waterford menu on a more regular basis, he promised he will try without compromising on the freshness and consistency of the dishes, he also suggested that he would have been delighted to suggest alternative dishes if he had been made aware. Thank you again for such constructive comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,723 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,575 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
799 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing