We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Lymington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in Lymington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife on a late booking.
Nice hotel and grounds. Room good, breakfast very good.Staff excellent and very friendly.
Only one thing not happy about. When we checked out a £3 charged was made to the room bill as I was paying by credit card. Stayed in hotels all over the world and this was the first time I had been charged for using a Barclaycard credit card. Mentioned this to the receptionist who said she had stayed in many hotels and had been charged for using a credit card. No answer to that really.
Hotel group should scrap this charge as it is bad for their PR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter777888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and how much you enjoyed our facilities, food and service.
The team always works at exceeding our guests expectations and I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your short break.
Credit card charges are a common practice in our industry and are, unfortunately a passed on cost encountered by hotels and in our case it is not a lucrative charge however this does not apply to debit card charges and other method of payment.
We, hopefully will be welcoming you back very shortly.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    461
    251
    131
    63
See reviews for
408
700
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Thank you to all at Elmers Court for making our wedding such a memorable experience. Special mention for Kirsty Bull, Wedding Co-ordinator and Linda Love and her Restaurant team. We must also mention the Hampshire Registrars team for a really wonderful ceremony.

To be able to be married outside with our guests enjoying the fantastic weather on the lawns was a super bonus.

The venue and gardens allowed creativity to our wedding photographers.

All in all we would recommend Elmers Court unreservedly for a wedding and other ceremonies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the review you placed on the trip advisor website. We feel very privilege that you had chosen Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel to celebrate such a special event. I have personally shared your feedback with the team and they thank you in return for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, maybe of the celebration of your anniversary.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and cannot fault it.We had wanted somewhere close to Lymington Pier so we could get to and from the Isle Of Wight,and we had also wanted a bit of pampering.This was ideal,only a five minute door to door walk to the ferry terminal,and a wonderful spa complex which had really nice facilities.Breakfast was one of the best we've had in a hotel and our room was spacious and clean and lovely.Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and the grounds were beautiful.In all,a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your four night stay with us. We are very proud of our breakfast standards which are a benchmark in this industry. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have had a number of short breaks here over the years and I feel it has been well maintained. The chalet we stayed in had been refurbished. The rooms are large and comfortable. I particularly like the ones with a sink and a fridge. The food in the club has been improved and I was quite impressed. If you want a day trip to the Isle of Wight the hotel is in a perfect position, just 5 mins walk away from the ferry. Lymmington is a very pleasant town and well worth a visit. It's also a good base to visit the rest of the new forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you regularly enjoy your stay with us. We have worked very hard at improving the food standards across the Resort and we can witness the impact on this website as so much positive feedback has been posted. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I would be delighted to upgrade you to one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here with three friends we booked through spa breaks. If you book a mini facial or mini manicure/pedicure be aware! The manicure/pedicure is a file and paint and the facial isn't half hour. The small jacuzzi is part of the swimming pool and the hotel shouldn't really be described as having a spa. The evening meal in the waterford restaurant was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was a bit hit and miss some of the food had been cooked and kept warm for a while. Wouldn't return to the hotel for a spa package may return if I wanted to hop across to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor Website. Although I was please that overall you enjoyed your stay I was surprised to read your comments regarding your Spa treatment as we regularly get great feedback from other guests. The duration of the treatment is ½ hour allowing including an approximate 5minutes preparation.
The pool Spa is not A Jacuzzi and not advertised as such as it is part of the pool it has to be the same temperature as the pool. I would ask you to contact me personally and I would be delighted to offer you a preferential rate for a future stay in order to restore your faith in our establishment cleaning standards.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I found this place to be very beautiful and the staff extremely pleasant and friendly. We stayed for 3 nights with 2 kids and the rooms were nice, big and clean, i loved the fact they were not a typical hotel room but like seperate chalets away from the main house. We arrived a little earlier than the check in time of 3pm and was told our room was not quite ready but we could use the swimming pools and to come back at 3pm. We returned at 3pm to be told our room was still not ready, we eventually got in at 4pm but the reception manager was very apologetic and really lovely.
I would definatley recommend this hotel for families the only downside was the restaurant (steak house) which served breakfast as well, the staff again were lovely but very slow in serving anything, this morning we waited over 20 minutues for our tea and toast to arrive...
The pools were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrowns604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on the Trip advisor Website. We were delighted to read that despite the issues with your late check in and the delays experience at breakfast you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the Resort in general. Pleas accept my apologies for the delays you experienced in checking in, due to unforeseen staffing issues we were unable to get the rooms ready for 03:00pm checking time. I can assure that although we are extremely busy during the summer season this issue was totally uncharacteristic of our Resort standards of house keeping. I was also sorry to hear about your wait at Breakfast we have since recruited additional teram members and are back to maximum strength. I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary room upgrade on your next visit to the Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived a little earlier than the stated check-in time of 3pm and were told to come back in 30 minutes (2.45pm), although we could leave our bags behind Reception. We returned at about 3.45 and our room was still not ready and we did not get into our room until gone 4pm. When my daughter asked if we would receive anything by way of an apology we were later offered complimentary breakfast. We had already bought our ingredients for breakfast by this time so did not take this up and know that we would not have received an apology if my daughter had not pressed for one. The following day we returned from our day out and our room had not been serviced, it was 4.45!! I have never stayed in a hotel where rooms are still being serviced at 5pm.
I loved the grounds and the building and the staff were very friendly. We did not use the restaurant or bar so cannot comment on these. I do resent the way that so many hotels nowadays do not always include breakfast, it just smacks at a rip-off as 95% of people want to eat when they get up and are on a break.
Our room was £120 per night with no meals. This is not good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on the Trip advisor Website. We were delighted to read that despite the issues with your late check in you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the Resort in general. Pleas accept my apologies for the delays you experienced in checking in, due to unforeseen staffing issues we were unable to get the rooms ready for 03:00pm checking time and we had to delay servicing on the next day to get the arrival rooms ready on time as a priority. I can assure that although we are extremely busy during the summer season this issue was totally uncharacteristic of our Resort standards of house keeping. I am sorry if no member of the management team apologised at the time and I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary room upgrade on your next visit to the Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing