We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had a fabulous weekend at this beautiful hotel. We were a bit disappointed at first to discover that none of the rooms or suites are in the main hotel but situated in modern buildings within the grounds. We stayed in a suite with "kitchenette" the purpose of which was lost on us as there were no cooking facilities, crockery, cutlery or anything that one would expect to find in a kitchenette. We had no intention of self-catering though so it was not a problem for us. The room was comfortably furnished and spacious. The bathroom suite is fine except the bath needed replacing. The food in the dining room was excellent and the staff were very friendly without being over familiar. All in all an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are on two levels with fairly steep wooden steps leading to upper level. Not a problem for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website we were pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. We will feedback your comments regarding the bath and kitchenette to our executive team, in view of further refurbishment. We do hope that you will visit the New Forest and more importantly our establishment in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel although it was rather far out of town. If you intend visiting the Isle of Wight then it's perfectly located for the ferry. The bar prices and £5.99 charge for use of internet for 24 hours I felt were very high. The room could not be faulted, we stayed in one of the lodge type with a whole wall of glass looking out into the woodland setting, fabulous.

Room Tip: If staying in one of the lodges then a first floor one would probably be best as you could then leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for the feedback left on the trip advisor website, we were pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay in one of our resort apartments, internet access and free movie on demand in the apartments are at a price of £9.95 per apartment per week, which is only to cover the cost of this service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Just back from a great week at Elmer's Court which is in a great location to explore the New Forest or pop over to the Isle of White. We stayed in a time-share for 5 days and then had two days B&B in the hotel. The hotel rooms are like miniature Swedish chalets and are very comfortable in the typical Macdonalds style. The leisure facilities are excellent with a gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room. I booked in for a full body massage in the beauty salon which was quite a strong massage but I felt totally relaxed afterwards. What was really impressive was the customer service which was excellent from everyone on the resort - from waiting staff to hotel and leisure centre reception. Everyone seemed prepared to go the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We dined once in the Waterford restaurant but couldn't get in on another night because we hadn't booked and the food and service were excellent. Breakfast in the Sails brasserie was very impressive and the staff extremely helpful. A great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patbhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for your great comments placed on the Trip Advisor website we were delighted to read that you had such a great stay at the Resort and found it so practical to visit the New Forest and the Isle of Wight. We have passed your feedback to our team and they thank you in return for such kind words. These are a great reward for all the efforts they produced in order to deliver outstanding Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

my husband and I had a long weekend break here in early November. The accomodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. We ate at the sails restaurant and found the meals to be good value and well cooked. All the staff were polite and friendly and willing to help if required. A very enjoyable stay, all the facilities we tried were very good, especially the heated pool. We would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback left on the trip advisor website, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

me and my family eat lunch at the hotel the food and sevice was amazing we will be back. my son really enjoyed the swiming pool to he cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank GRAY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your great feedback left on the trip advisor website we look forward to your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the apartments in West COurt. Great spot with lovely views of the gardens and a stream.
Our apartment was well kitted out, clean and comfortable and really cosy. The only criticism would be the antiquated iron and unusable ironing board, but everything elas was excellent. We enjoyed the Sails restaurant/brasserie. The food was gorgeous and the staff were very couteous and friendly. I loved going to the spa and the prices were very reasonable. The site is really lovely and you can walk around the gardens and take in the lovely views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight. Elmers COurt isideally situated for a quiet, country break but also close by to many attractions and other interesting places to visit. We loved it and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the Sails brasserie to limit noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback on the trip advisor website. Comments like your go a long way to encourage our team to continuously deliver the high standard of customer service we are renowned for. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a long weekend away as a family (two adults, three children) in Elmers Court over half term. We squeezed in to a studio appartment close enough to Sails restaurant for our baby monitor to reach there once the children had gone to sleep. Staff were without exception really welcoming to our enthusiastic brood of little girls, even in the fine dining restaurant at night) and the facilities (indoor pool, playground and even the giant draughts) were exactly what we needed. Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu and the Saturday market in Lymington made great outings for the family. We would definitely return, but next time might try to seek out extra space in our accommodation by looking for an empty appartment in the timeshare part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biglog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website. From your description you stayed in one of our 2 Suites, although you could rent an apartment in a different part of the Resort we have also interconnecting bedrooms which may feel a lot more spacious for future visits. We look forward to your return visit, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
525 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: $102 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing