We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Mayflower(Lymington)
$191
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Passford House(Lymington)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,668)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveler rating
580
518
301
165
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
518
301
165
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterford restaurantspa breakmain buildingsteak clubleisure centrespa facilitiesthe scottish steak houseexecutive roomnew forestoutdoor poolbunk bedslymington piersauna and steam roombreakfast bartennis courtswedding venuegrounds are lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,478 - 1,483 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in the time share lodges. Very comfortably furnished with everything we needed. Lovely big and comfortable beds. In the Solent View apartments the views were magnificent. We could see the IOW. The hotel grounds were lovely. A handy 9 hole golf course over the road. Lymington is about 10 minutes walk.
The restaurant was very good.
The only downside was the indoor pool. It was in the basement with no windows. The changing rooms were quite wet the one time I used the pool. The gym was well equipped.

Room Tip: Solent View rooms have the best view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through the trip advisor website, we are pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was a great success, although we do have at certain time a high number of guests using the wet facilities which can result in the changing rooms floor being wet, we have passed on your constructive comments to remedy this issue. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We've stayed in McDonald Hotels before and always thought they were great. This time it looked great even though we were in one of the new rooms by the sails restuarant. Our first night we were kept awake by a wedding party in the next room. We complained to reception and it quietened down for a while but started up again. At breakfast the next morning the service was terrible. After 20 minutes of being ignored we complained and were told they were very busy as though they had not known there was a wedding party staying there. Service improved but the toast was cold!. 2nd and 3rd nights were fine. When we asked for compensation for the first night we were told us we could not have compensation because we had prepaid. Then they offered £4, then vouchers. Eventually we sued in county court and won! In other respects the old building is very nice but you don't get to see much of it. Also a lot of the site comprises time shares and most of the parking is allocated to that. I think they need to decide to be a hotel or a time share. Being both doesn't work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparehead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your comments left of the trip advisor website. Please accept my apologies for the less than satisfactory service you experienced for breakfast during on the 1st morning of your stay, I was delighted to read that this was rectify by our team and that standards were restored for the remain of your stay. I was sorry to read about the noise from wedding party guest, however this was totally behind our control and our night team addressed the situation on 2 occasions that night, to the satisfaction of our other guests. These were isolated incidents as you would have experienced from the remainder of your stay.
Although it would have been appreciated to be given an opportunity to restore your faith in our establishment, I hope that this will not deter you for using Macdonald Hotels in the future as they are all unique in their style and other hotels maybe more suited for your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Took our children, aged 9 and 11, away for a night. Great room with lovely big sofa bed for those two. We played pitch and put, not great quality but perfect for our standard of golf! Also played table tennis and swam. Ate in the fine dining restaurant which was very good, value better than the brasserie we thought. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Probably best in the courtyard rooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your great feedback left on the Trip Advisor Website, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed your comments back to our team, which thank you in return. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The staff at this hotel are exceptional. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly, helpful and incredibly efficient. Whenever we asked for anything it was there within minutes and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was excellent we had breakfast, lunch and dinner and were impressed by all. We had 4 short treatments in the spa which was very relaxing.

The only thing that could be improved upon is that the room was a little dates. It was however very clean and spacious. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website, It is always a great moral boost for our team to read comments such as yours. We hope to see you back at the Elmers Court Hotel & Resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here for three days in October and it was delightful. The rooms, chalet style, are spacious and the location and grounds beautiful. Both restaurants are excellent, and we enjoyed dining each evening in the traditional candlelit restaurant in the main house.
For work and leisure we stay in many hotels and often use the Macdonald chain as we know that the standard of food and service is better than most, but the standard of service at this hotel surpassed even our high expectations,- without exception all staff were excellent.
Superb area too; the New Forest, Bournemouth, Portsmouth and all places in between are an easy drive- but as the ferry port at Lymington is only five minutes away we spent an idyllic day touring the Isle of Wight. Highly recommended for an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which was spacious with a lounge area and small kitchenette-useful if you want to cater for the odd meal yourself
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews