We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thomas Tripp

Thomas Tripp
Ranked #35 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can't believe I've lived in Lymington so long and not really bothered with this place ! A great welcome, fantastic real ales, and a small menu which means that they do everything really well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    37
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pizzas were better than in most British 'Italian' restaurants!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

It's a lovely pub with friendly staff, not the busiest but we did go on a Sunday evening.

We both had pizza for dinner and they were scrumptious, very thin, large and plenty of toppjngs. Plus it's excellent value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz-Lymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“lovely friendly pub, try the nachos !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

popped in here saturday afternoon, sat in the cosy seats by the open fire.
lovely welcoming pub, thank you john, very nice atmosphere. as others have said chips are excellent as are the nachos to share, yummy!
will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab veggie burger...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This pub was recommended to my sister by work colleagues and it did not disappoint! We visited on an extremely quiet Tuesday evening so were expecting special treatment; we were not disappointed! We didn't want anything fancy & all opted for a burger; WOW! the veggie burger was absolutely delicious! A large mushroom with halloumi cheese & roasted peppers served in a sliced French stick? along with a generous helping of wedges with skins on & the most delicious coleslaw I've ever had! not the usual creamy slaw but red cabbage with sultanas amongst other things, mmmmmm!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Service, atmosphere, food .......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really lovely, friendly, small pub perfect for Sunday lunch with friends.

Great home made chips!

Tasty burgers - we had a vegetarian stack, burger with cheese, and a chicken and chirizo burger and one vegetarian wrap.

The toffee pudding and ice cream was delicious.

Friendly service.

Good value.

We'll be back :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Tripp also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Thomas Tripp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing