We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Excellent service from the staff throughout our stay and would recommend for personal stay or a business team day. The only small downside was finding the parking but given the location, it's not a significant issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyinruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

great location and a really warm welcome from the night duty manager (David I think?) when I arrived late...he was very helpful BUT from arrival in room it went a bit downhill. In a 'boutique' hotel you expect a nice room with a bit of a difference but I found mine really stuffy and a bit old fashioned. Nothing to complain about just not that great. Got quite a lot of noise from the street outside too so quite hard to sleep with the window open and no aircon so not much choice. Didn't have dinner but restaurant looked OK and it was well set out for breakfast in the morning where, once again, the service was great BUT the soft boiled eggs were hard boiled which was a let down. Parking awkward but that comes with the town centre location and you will have to pay to park. Staff great, room average, wifi not working so all in all a bit disappointed. Great location though and lots of nice restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms overlooking the main high street if you want a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel my wife and I were concerned as we had to park on the narrow High Street to off load our luggage, but the General Manager came out and took our luggage and drove with me to the small hotel car park. There are other long stay car parks nearby.
The hotel has been well appointed within the obvious constraints of the properties in this quaint town. The restaurant and conservatory are very pleasant although dinner was a little disappointing with the fish being undercooked, however breakfast was extremely good.
On leaving the hotel the owner accompanied me to guide me safely out of the car park - nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Certainly worth another visit when next in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thank you for a lovely short weekend break in April
the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Beautiful room, the evening meal we had was super.as was the breakfast
Best steak and chips we have had in a long time.
Also, the town was a pleasure to wander round and shop.
We will come back for a visit soon. Thank you.
Gail and Mick from Canterbury.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

When I tried to book this hotel online it was full. I called out of curiosity and spoke to the young lady who answered, she not found a room for me for 2 nights she told
Me there was a mid week offer on. 2 nights B&B and one night evening meal for £250.

So I booked it when we arrived we found the car parking for the hotel rather small but we were fortunate to get a space. I think the hotel should try to make a deal with local council and get a few more spaces as it will cost you if you can not park in there allocated area.

After we parked we checked in to be informed that our room had been altered and we were up stairs, it was not only changed but we were upgrade to a suite, this was fantastic really spacious really clean modern perfect as we had a 15month with us and loads of space to crawl around.

We had our evening meal early as the we had a little one but the choice and quality were great you have a budget of 27.50 per person so you can swoop and change from the 3 menus on offer.

Breakfast was the best part for me great choice and great service..

I will be returning to this hotel as we have been treated really well not mention the upgrade were have saved over £200 alone so thank you to all the staff and Jade for taking and asking our stay so enjoyable...

Stayed: May 2014
Thank John0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for the absolutely fantastic wedding weekend that you helped co-ordinate and organise in May 2014. It was fantastic - not only for location and food but mainly for the incredible staff that were involved. They all played a really important part in the day and all the guests commented on how kind and attentive everybody was...
always checking to see if there was anything more that they could do. It started with Reception - such a helpful lady. We had arrived hours earlier than expected but they took all our bags, put them somewhere safe and then made a special effort to get the room cleared quickly, although the previous guests had only just checked out!

Then, the Restaurant Manager, or lady responsible for the room that we were holding the reception in, made a point of finding us and letting us know when we could access this room to get it ready. (A day early) This really helped as it left one less thing for us to do on the day. She continued to be very attentive and she and her staff kept checking to see if there was anything more that was needed.

On the day, the whole thing went so smoothly - the food was excellent
and everything seemed to run like clockwork. You even managed to
organise the sunshine !!

Thank you once again for a truly memorable time - enjoyed by everybody.

I hope that you will pass on these comments to all the amazing staff
concerned.

A very big THANK YOU !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Stanwell House Hotel. We have tried to stay before but it was always fully booked but were lucky to get a room for our dates in May. The hotel is in a great location. We were in a garden room/suite, we had a small lounge area and a good size bedroom and bathroom. Despite the location there was no noise during the night. we had lunch at the hotel which was great and visited the small bar each evening. Its good to remember that the bar is not staffed but there is a small bell to ring and the staff come straight away. All in all our stay was very enjoyable and one that we would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
531 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: $131 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing