We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner only but highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dinner only but highly recommended”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

20 of us had dinner at Stanwell House is was a lovely experience. The food was very good indeed and the setting was lovely in a private dining room.

The staff were very helpful and efficient and all in all it was a great experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    383
    118
    49
    10
See reviews for
186
960
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff were amazingly caring,quietly efficient when my daughter was taken ill so suddenly. She collapsed and Victoria(the proprietor) guided us to a private alcove where we remained for 5 hours. staff were attentive but not intrusive. I cannot praise them highly enough for their demeanour throughout this time. Our afternoon tea was scrumptious and we have no hesitation returning to this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a treat long weekend away - our first with our new baby. We splashed out and booked one of the garden suites, allegedly the best rooms in the hotel. It wasn't cheap but the website looked really great so we thought it would be worth it. It was the smallest "suite" we have ever stayed in! I would say it was a small room, let alone a suite. This was disappointing and also not ideal with a travel cot. The decor was also not really the quality we expected for the price and also didn't seem half as nice as the photos on the website! The food was good in the restaurant. Overall I think this hotel is fine. It is an average hotel which looks above average on the website and is over-priced in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVScrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel and staff were fantastic, I could not fault them. We booked through red letter day for a 2 night stay, and added a further 2 nights. Unfortunately the last night was not booked in.
The restaurant was amazing, we would recommend the pea and ham soup, the fillet steak, or the mushroom tortellini.
Would recommend to anyone looking to visit the New Forrest.

The only black mark are that there was no full length mirror in the bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely hotel centrally positioned with very warm friendly staff. The rooms are beautifully decorated and full of character, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals in the restaurant were just as good. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, a rarity these days, we felt very well taken care of. We combined our stay with a day’s sailing with skippers Simon and Wendy (all organised via Stanwell House) who encourage you to be as hands on as you wish or alternatively just relax and enjoy the ride. The yacht didn’t disappoint, it looked just a good as the advertisement and we opted for the hamper lunch which was plentiful and delicious. I can honestly say we had brilliant time; I would definitely stay again with the sailing option. One point to add the free car park has a shortcut bringing you out opposite the hotel so you don’t have to walk back the way you drove in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPM190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Got off to a rocky start with this one, when the receptionist didn't seem to understand English.
I know my accent may be a bit strange from a few years of travelling, but I am English and we were only trying to communicate an issue finding the car park. Our problem, we went to the back of the Angel Pub, where there is an auto barrier. For the Stanwell car park go further in to the car park behind the Tesco Express, turn to the right and it has a walled and non barrier entrance. You then need to walk across the high street to the hotel and get a ticket to put in your car. If you are arriving on Saturday, you cannot enter the High Street with a car because of the all day Market.
Our room was cosy and contained a small double bed. The bathroom had good products, with a deep roll top bath, which my husband enjoyed and a shower.The room being situated at the front of the hotel experienced some understandable noise later as the Angel Pub got into the swing of things and then turned out. We were on the first floor, I didn't see a lift and there are stairs everywhere which could be a challenge.
We spent a very pleasant evening in the bar, with some good wine and very tasty bar snacks.
In the morning the cooked breakfast was of excellent quality and the coffee, which comes from a start up company based in Southampton,superb.
The hotel is excellently located for the marina, the Isle of Wight ferry and the high street.
Pricing was expensive at £180, but I wanted that particular Saturday night and I chose it after being irritated that Passford Farm ( not Passford House) hotel, no longer under Margaret & Derek's careful ownership, required a two night minimum stay.
We would return again because of its convenient location and quality food and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the High Street, at the back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelaholic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked Stanwell's for our wedding being a beautiful venue and local to us. Although we had eaten at Stanwells we'd never stayed there. We knew the food was amazing but sometimes the service could be a little on the slow side so we were a little apprehensive about the service on the day.

However we needn't of worried the dedicated staff on the day was amazing, from setting up to service as well as soothing any wedding jitters.

Everyone commented on the quality of the food and the relaxed atmosphere of the wedding.

The bridal suite was spacious and lovely. It was obviously designed well for its purpose as there was lots of mirrors so the bridal party could get ready and a balcony which was a great photo setting.

Couldn't of been happier with this venue for my wedding!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,026 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing