We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We meet every year with a group of friends and this year it was Lymington and a couple of nights at the Stanwell Hotel. Excellent location and staff. Meals were well served and of high quality. Finding the car park and space in it is a challenge but well managed by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJBRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

If it wasn't for tripadvisor - we probably wouldn't be staying at this hotel! it's fabulous!!! We stayed room 4 the garden room, as we had a little puppy - a miniature schnauzer holidaying with us. upon arrival - we were greeted warmly - told where the car park was - or someone could park it for us....and then the room! fabulous - dog biscuits and a blanket for our puppy and wonderfully warm! We didn't eat there that evening - but everyone was so friendly and welcoming it felt like a home from home! Breakfast was amazing too and even the puppy got a sausage for a treat!

Will definitely be returning and recommending!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayglopainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We're just home from a two-night stay in Lymington, staying in its premier hotel, the Stanwell House Hotel, with two friends. The other favourable Trip Advisor reviews are pretty much justified. The hotel stands majestically in the High Street, and was easy to find. We had two Garden Suites, and they were delightful: stylish, spacious, flat-screen televisions in both the living and bedrooms, and fantastic modern bathrooms with wonderful taps with the water quirkily coming out like a mini-waterfall!! We were provided with plentiful tea/coffee supplies, and lovely bath robes to lounge in. The beds were extremely comfortable, too.
The food was adventurous and very stylishly presented, although a little too 'pretentious' for my simple tastes...("tasting of lamb, smoked eel, aniseed", anyone?)...But the only gripe was with the lack of fresh fruit available. One of my party requested a simple fruit salad for dessert, rather than the ornate, rich choices on the menu. They were happy to oblige, but it was primarily tinned fruit, and this was borne out at both our breakfasts there: tinned peaches, pineapple and pears, which is inexplicable when we found a fantastic greengrocer, Moore's Fruit & Veg, literally 50 meters away, at which we filled our bags before returning home. We'd give our eye teeth for a shop like that in Guildford! (Oh, must point out the conspicuous lack of grapefruit, tinned or otherwise!!)
To sum up: Stanwell House is indeed the cosmoplitan, stylish boutique hotel it purports to be. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the parking wasn't a problem at all. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Found this hotel by luck, what a great place to stay it was fab, warm clean friendly and the staff were so helpful, Price was great too. Will definately be staying there again we had a garden room so quiet.

Room Tip: Get a garden room on ground level very quiet relaxing quietest hotel we have been in so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. On arrival we had a warm greeting from reception and felt very at home. The hotel was warm despite the snow outside and the room satisfactory with a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable although for me the duvet was too thick as the room was warm and very pleasant.

I recomend the inclusive dinner as the food was very good and the service first class. The breakfast menu was also very good.

Lymington is a pleasant town with local shops and a large street market on a Saturday.

We had a garden room number 14 which was very quiet and I can recomend this hotel for a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room go for a garden room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestburySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful suites with great modern bathrooms, lovely decor, atmospheric dining room, impeccable staff, delicious food, wonderful location. It was the perfect weekend away with friends. Will be returning again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What an absolute gem of a Hotel....
We weren't expecting too much to be honest, as we paid our standard price for a double room for the night with breakfast as a little break away, so arrived & was greeted at reception by Tiago the Portugese receptionist, who welcomed us & told us we had been upgraded... we thought no more of it & just said thank you !
He then showed us to our room, but instead took us to a 'suite'... Well you could have blown us away !!!!
We were upgraded from a basic double room to a luxurious suite, complete with seperate lounge, a queen size bed, bathroom & shower room that was larger than most 3rd bedrooms, with a beautiful outlook over the gardens.
The room(s), were very clean, & quiet at night, warm but not too warm, comfy bed, 6 pillows (yes 6 pillows !)...
Breakfast was delivered to our room, & was hot, delicious, coffee is gorgeous !....and plenty of it.
Now I am sure, not everyone gets an upgrade, & when we go back, we probably won't be as lucky, so I cannot comment on the other rooms, however, from what we experienced, we have to say, we were very impressed, & we hope that upon our return to a standard double room, that we won't be disappointed (am sure we won't).

Staff were so very helpful & friendly at all times.... It certainly is worth a vist and a stay if you are in the area or live nearby as we do..... What have you got to lose ?... And who knows, you may even get an upgrade to a posh suite and feel like a 'celebrity or royalty' for 24/48 hours !!!... It's an experience that's for sure !!!

When we go back this year, I shall of course write another Tripadvisor review on our stay here, and hopefully it will be just as good as this one.

Some people have a little moan about the parking across the road & size of the car park... Yes it is small and it is across the road, however, the Hotel do have 'valet parking', which leaves you free of the hassle of finding a parking space.... simples !!!

Room Tip: If you want a suite then Room (suite 16) is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HampshireJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
767 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
555 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
431 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: $132 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing