We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great weekend Break”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Found this hotel by luck, what a great place to stay it was fab, warm clean friendly and the staff were so helpful, Price was great too. Will definately be staying there again we had a garden room so quiet.

Room Tip: Get a garden room on ground level very quiet relaxing quietest hotel we have been in so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    385
    121
    49
    10
See reviews for
189
969
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. On arrival we had a warm greeting from reception and felt very at home. The hotel was warm despite the snow outside and the room satisfactory with a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable although for me the duvet was too thick as the room was warm and very pleasant.

I recomend the inclusive dinner as the food was very good and the service first class. The breakfast menu was also very good.

Lymington is a pleasant town with local shops and a large street market on a Saturday.

We had a garden room number 14 which was very quiet and I can recomend this hotel for a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room go for a garden room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestburySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful suites with great modern bathrooms, lovely decor, atmospheric dining room, impeccable staff, delicious food, wonderful location. It was the perfect weekend away with friends. Will be returning again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What an absolute gem of a Hotel....
We weren't expecting too much to be honest, as we paid our standard price for a double room for the night with breakfast as a little break away, so arrived & was greeted at reception by Tiago the Portugese receptionist, who welcomed us & told us we had been upgraded... we thought no more of it & just said thank you !
He then showed us to our room, but instead took us to a 'suite'... Well you could have blown us away !!!!
We were upgraded from a basic double room to a luxurious suite, complete with seperate lounge, a queen size bed, bathroom & shower room that was larger than most 3rd bedrooms, with a beautiful outlook over the gardens.
The room(s), were very clean, & quiet at night, warm but not too warm, comfy bed, 6 pillows (yes 6 pillows !)...
Breakfast was delivered to our room, & was hot, delicious, coffee is gorgeous !....and plenty of it.
Now I am sure, not everyone gets an upgrade, & when we go back, we probably won't be as lucky, so I cannot comment on the other rooms, however, from what we experienced, we have to say, we were very impressed, & we hope that upon our return to a standard double room, that we won't be disappointed (am sure we won't).

Staff were so very helpful & friendly at all times.... It certainly is worth a vist and a stay if you are in the area or live nearby as we do..... What have you got to lose ?... And who knows, you may even get an upgrade to a posh suite and feel like a 'celebrity or royalty' for 24/48 hours !!!... It's an experience that's for sure !!!

When we go back this year, I shall of course write another Tripadvisor review on our stay here, and hopefully it will be just as good as this one.

Some people have a little moan about the parking across the road & size of the car park... Yes it is small and it is across the road, however, the Hotel do have 'valet parking', which leaves you free of the hassle of finding a parking space.... simples !!!

Room Tip: If you want a suite then Room (suite 16) is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a beautiful hotel with good restaurant for a first anniversary surprise. I was recomended Stanwell house, and was not disappointed. From initial booking to checkout the service I received was impeccable, staff selected the best room, ordered flowers, and personalised menu choices, I cannot fault reception staff, waiters, bar staff. The room was perfect, and the 3 course meal very good value and standard. Breakfast was excellent value for money, and we even stayed on for lunch, which again was excellent. The only slight complaint was that the room was rather warm due to heated bathroom which temperature couldnt be altered. I would highly recomended this hotel to anyone, and would definitely stay here again, hopefully in the very near future.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had our wedding there and the staff before the wedding day were so helpful and gave off a vibe that they knew what they were doing.....which indeed they did! Our day, in our eyes, was perfect....and we must say that the biggest factor it being so was down to the professionalism of the staff. The chef cooked some amazing steaks for our wedding breakfast....the buffet was good.....and the bar service seemed excellent too.
We will definitely be going back to stanwell and cannot recommend this venue enough. Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Stanwell House Hotel several times before and each time we have come away with a memorable visit. What can we say different to the overwhelming reviews that the hotel continues to receive and thoroughly deserves? Simply the best! We love it! On New Year's Eve the food was outstanding, the service and hospitality was both professional and good humoured as befits the occasion. This hotel has everything location, comfortable rooms, choice of restaurants but above all the staff are it's biggest asset. From Management through to reception, restaurant and bar there are too many to mention by name. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it just gets better! Can't wait to return next month! JLS

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbgoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
439 reviews
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing